We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Christchurch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

My partner and i stayed here while we were on a road trip around New Zealand, I found the rooms to be very clean and had a really nice hotel feel with wooden shutters on the window etc and a tidy little ensuite. For the price i was expecting a backpacker type room but it was value for money and lived up to hotel standards. The bar and restaraunt down stairs was a good way to start our night out on the town as it was located just around the corner from the busy night life scene of wellington. I will definetely stay here again if pass back through wellington.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suntravellers111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    292
    124
    41
    26
See reviews for
64
142
212
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, tryed a few different sized rooms for a long term stay and all were great, nice bathrooms and great for individuals, has everything you need.
Friendly and lovely staff who went out of thier way to help.
was a comfortable cosy place to stay i would highly recomend it!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamszoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

We loved this hotel--great location, great staff and beautiful building, right in centre of Wellington. The prices were great and we had extra discounts because we are BBH card holderand.. Accommodation variety for all, with Dorms rooms available or Hotel rooms. We stayed in the Dorm room which where very clean and had great shower!! We loved the Backpackers special where the bistro provides cheap meals and breakfast starting at only $2. (Great start to the day) after returning from our day out we come back to a great social bar and the All Blacks game on a big screen.. We loved it and would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becks0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

I have my own business and travel regularly to Wellington. I wish I had come accross this little gem earlier!!! Great value if you are on a budget, super friendly staff and a real family "Kiwiana" feel. Sometimes the big chains and pricey Hotels aren't the best!

Cheers

Jerry

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry69Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

I stayed in a six bed share for three nights. It was decent and clean. The kitchen/TV room is a bit small. Location is good. All in all not super, but certainly not bad. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelledalot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

needed a place to stay for one night before getting a plane to auckland then thailand stayed in a single room with shared bathroom faclities the bathrooms are tiled with a number of showers and toilets but otherwise clean ,the sleeping area is basic with a heater built in on the wall a single bed tea and coffee and a small table, tv also has sky available which was a great way to kill a few hours, located just around the corner from courtney place easy to get to local resturants if u want to eat out burger king close by also j and m fastfoods busstop to airport reading cinema molly malones splash club all there in walking distance if so inclined bar attached to hotel as well good accomodation and cheap would recommend

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonasluck1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Stayed in a 4-bed dorm for 4 nights. Bunkbeds, but comfy ones. High ceilings, heaters and quiet enough to have windows open made the air better than the avarage hostel room! Big bathroom with 8 showers and 6 toilets was good, but the combined kitchen-TV-room could have been bigger, and not always the best combination. The location on the corner of Cambridge Tce and Courtenay Place is superb, the prices and food in the pub is good and you are in the middle of everything but still very quiet. If the place was cleaner it would be five stars.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.6 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Hotel

Property: The Cambridge Hotel
Address: 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cambridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful heritage building.Immensely popular for our value accommodation and our central location in the heart of the city. From traditional rooms upstairs, to state of the art backpacker facilities.Come, join us in the bar for a free kiwi BBQ every Wednesday,or our fab menus with breaky starting from only $3 for eggs on toast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing