We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wild Zebra Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
15
23
32
37
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
23
32
37
88
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Really great hostel! The staff at reception were very friendly and went out of their way to help us out. I would recommend this hostel to my friends. It is also in a perfect location close to lots of restaurants and fun shops.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jl1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This place gives backpackers a bad name. Such an awesome location, it really could have wonderful reviews. Not sure when the duvet covers get changed, but ours had stains all over it and smelt terrible. Carpet was filthy as there was something spilt but never ever cleaned up under the bed and the walls. Our room had not been cleaned when we got there which we went down stairs to let them know which was no problem at all and understand that this sometimes happens, but the toilet and shower were not cleaned just a new bottom sheet put on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZtraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A great place to stay. BUT don't book it through HOSTEL WORLD.They will show you a picture of the room you want and when you get there it is a lower qual room. I then had to pay an additional amount to get the room I thought I had booked. Attempts to e- mail them to sort it out proved they would not reply to e-mail. They also take the deposit as their commission. They also charged me the deposit on two of these lower qual rooms. A bad outfit. Stay away from Hostel World!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Friendly and helpful staff!

It doesn't matter how often you ask for anything....they are polite and very nice!
Nice little café and big kitchen area. Rooms and flors are quiet and clean.
And they even sent me my portable charger, which I forgot there, back!
Just friendly:D

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaviki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

positives:
Clean bathrooms
Central location

Negatives:
Reception staff not at all friendly or helpful
Rooms and bedding are old and tired and smell pretty damp and sweaty
Wifi patchy in rooms

Stayed in desperation for 2 nights as no hotels free. Booked ensuite room even though none were available when I arrived. Given refund but disappointed by service levels and although clean bathrooms only 1 or the 3 showers were in working order. Not a great stay but very central location

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank grahamhunter1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie N, Manager at Wild Zebra Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Hi, Our reception are very friendly and helpful to all our customers, from the previous feedbacks we have received. It is unfortunate that you have found them not friendly.
We are not a star hotel just a friendly budget backpackers. Our price is very reasonable compare to a motel or hotel. For a $26 per night bed we are giving clean sheets and environment. It is obviously you are desperate for a room and your expectations were too high. From your written feedback we read you have received refund and yet give negative feedback. Not many budget backpackers refund money for any situations, we care for our guest and that shows by refunding the money. We have personally checked all the showers and found none have been broken down. Good positive feedback will be helpful, to build better service. This feedback was not helpful to us in anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews