We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location,poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quest On The Terrace
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“great location,poor service”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

great location and clean enough. we were 3 women who wanted 3 separate beds but instead got 1 queen and 1 single. We asked reception for our queen to be remade as 2 singles. Receptionist argued it was 1 queen bed[incorrect] and then said room staff busy. We asked for single bedding to be put in our room and we would remake. Nothing appeared. Fresh towels left but dirty linen left on floor, beds and dishes left. Scaffolding/motorway view and noise/short of blankets for single arrangements. Over $700 for 2 nights as WOW was on but better service needed at that price

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    55
    67
    50
    46
See reviews for
74
77
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

No Air Con, Paid for breakfast didn't get it, tiny cramped room, USELESS and expensive. Staff were a joke, as I left they said Expedia hadn't paid them, YEAH RIGHT.

Had two nights here and hated the view of scaffolding. Expedia are still advertising that the room includes breakfast when they stopped 6 months ago but still charge for it.

Highly reccomend you stay (like we did in the end) across the road at Novotel

Room Tip: Novotell accross road cheaper and 100% better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

booked months ahead. four friends, all male, two rooms, booked king single beds according to the paperwork we received, arrived to find we had to share two double beds. we are rugby fans, real men who would not normally relish the idea of sharing a bed with our mates. management was un helpful and non responsive to our booking sheets which we had in hand. rooms are tiny and bathrooms not much bigger than a toilet.
be warned. stay somewhere else please. you will hate this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dingdongNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I did not book Quest on the Terrace as my partner arranged the booking but on reading previous reviews my heart sank before arrival. QT rooms are Self Contained Studio Apartments so they are on the small side with extra furniture that probably isn't needed. Arriving early into Wellington we were lucky to book in around 11.00am thanks to the young lady on reception who was very helpful. All staff during our 3 days on site were happy and obliging.

Our room that overlooked The Terrace and which had sea views was warm, clean and cosy. The bed which appeared small was in fact quiet large enough, firm without being hard and comfortable. The hotel is only minutes from Lambton Quay, public offices and local shopping. Despite the gloomy picture that I had built from reading some previous reviews I am happy to report that our experience was perfect and without a hitch.

Other things to recommend Quest on the Terrace to travelers is free wifi that was fast acting, the price and the dairy (general store) next door for those traveling needs ( drinks, Lillie's, snacks, etc). Great job QT!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The room was nothing like the photos. It was an odd shape, tiny and had rubbish heating (and no A/C. It overlooked a motorway with scaffolding outside. Very loud traffic noise - good luck sleeping. The bed was fabulous although one size smaller than we were supposed to get. Would only stay here again if everything else in town was booked out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendonfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed here for work after there were no availabilities at The Novotel. The room was clean but the rest of it was strange and horrible. The staff were unhelpful and the blonde girl on reception was quite rude. I stayed for two nights (tried to get out of staying the second night but couldn't because we'd still have to foot the bill) and left a do not service sign on the door but came back and the rubbish had been taken and the towels changed. Very unimpressed. Also a very odd layout - you have to lug your suitcase up a couple of stairs before making it to the very slow elevator. Next time I'd rather sleep at the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnsey556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The only complimentary thing I have to say about Quest on the Terrace is the location - it's very handy to the government building grounds, the harbour and Lambton Quay. Other than the handy location, every single thing about our stay at Quest on the Terrace was disappointing.

First and foremost, we booked our room through Wotif and our booking stated we would receive
"a free bottle of wine upon check-in to indulge your tastebuds". There was no bottle of wine upon check-in but we hoped maybe it was already in the room. It was not. When my husband went down to reception to ask about it, taking the copy of our Wotif booking print-out with him, he was met with denial of any such deal. After pushing the matter further, showing the reception staff and the Director that had been summoned our booking print-out which clearly promised a bottle of wine, my husband was told to return to our room and it would be "sorted out in 5 to 10 minutes". We took this to mean that they would be rushing out to the shop to purchase a bottle of wine, as there clearly was never a bottle of wine that had been included in our booking. 45 minutes later we were tired of sitting in our room and wanted to go out and just as we opened the door to go back to reception to tell them to sort it out while we went out, the "Director" was just coming to knock on our door to deliver our bottle of wine. He didn't say a single word as he handed the cheapest, nastiest bottle of Merlot to my husband and disappeared back into the lift!! Not only did he obviously spend 45 minutes running out to the shops to buy a bottle of wine, he gave us the cheapest bottle available ($7 - we know this as we had to buy a bottle of wine for the evening at the supermarket on account of neither of us being Merlot drinkers!) but there was not a word of apology. If he had to run out to buy a bottle specially, because the "deal" on Wotif was obviously a sham, why not ask us what type of wine we wanted!?!

The studio room we had did not look anything at all like the photos shown on either this website (provided by management) or the Quest website. Those photos show a bright, spacious studio. We opened the door to find a tiny, cramped triangle shaped room with barely enough space to walk around the furniture. There was a useless dining table and chairs taking up way more room than necessary, the bed protruded into the centre of the room on a weird angle due to the triangle shape of the room, there was a huge leather armchair right in front of the wardrobe so that you couldn't access the wardrobe at all and the tiny bathroom was up a weird couple of steps. The room was incredbily dark and we had to keep the lights on all the time, day or night, as it was on the internal side of the corner of the building, looking out onto the building next door with only a slither of a view to the Terrace visible. Certainly no lovely big windows with a door to a balcony as shown in management's photos. There was absolutely nowhere to put our bags without the need to step over or around them. The room was cluttered with unnecessary furniture - the dining table was of no use to us at all and the huge armchair completely blocked the wardrobe and one of us had to sit on the bed while the other sat in the armchair - what's the point??? I'm posting photos with this review to show the difference between the advertised room and the reality.

As well as the room being cramped and cluttered, there were 4 electrical appliances plugged into one very old-looking four-plug adapter that buzzed and emanated a very dodgy heat - surely a fire hazard. There were also switches in the bathroom marked 'heat' and 'fan' but there was no heat or fan facility in the bathroom at all and didn't do anything when the switches were turned on. The same in the kitchen where there was a switch for a waste disposal but no such waste disposal unit! Massive screws in the wall showed where the tv obviously used to be mounted to the wall and the front door had a dead-bolt type lock that didn't actually do anything - the door was locked from the outside but the dead-bolt on the inside was apparently just for show.

In terms of cleanliness, the bathroom had a faintly unpleasant smell to it, as though the floor could do with a good scrub, but other than that it appeared clean enough. The reception area was another matter, as the smell of re-heated Indian food seemed to permeate the reception and lifts every day we were there.

There is no parking area dedicated to the Quest when you first arrive (we sucked it up and shelled out for an hour in the nearby Clifton Terrace Tournament carpark when we first arrived) and when we asked about the overnight parking arrangements, as detailed in our Wotif booking, we got the feeling that the girl on reception couldn't be bothered to arrange it for us as she told us it would cost us extra and we could just park on the street along the Terrace for free until 8am. When we commented that we would prefer secure parking and didn't want the hassle of having to find a street park nearby and then have to move the car in the morning anyway, she reluctantly gave us instructions to the Tournament parking building that they charged us $20 a night for, which ended up only being secure between 9pm and 6am anyway and about 250m from the building as well!

Overall, the service we encountered was rude and the room was far from what is advertised on their website and I would never ever stay at Quest on Terrace again, nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Johnston
Quest on Johnston
#35 of 46 in Wellington
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest On The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest On The Terrace

Property: Quest On The Terrace
Address: 120 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest On The Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest On The Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On The Terrace Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing