We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest On The Terrace
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My family and I stayed a night in the Quest apartments and were disappointed with the quality of the room. We paid for a one -bedroom apartment, and although the room looked okay we soon found that the bedroom window was broken and stuck open. We let reception know and they changed the room and upgraded us to another one-bedroom. The second room also had a broken window (this time in the lounge), the dishwasher was broken, there were no spare blankets and no sheets provided for the portacot we'd requested for our daughter. The blinds were also impossible to shut properly so workers in office buildings close by could, if they wanted to, see straight into the room. I wouldn't book there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Chose the Quest on Terrace because it slept three and saved us renting two rooms with Grandma travelling with us. Group grew to four with daughter deciding to come too. Location was awesome, easy walk to Lambton Quay and beautiful run along the waterfront. Building was not very disabled friendly ( Mum has early stage MS) with stairs in foyer, hallways and rooms. Rooms adequate but a little tired. Main bedroom smelt like perhaps had been smoked in recently. Second bedroom little more than a cupboard but was adequate. Trundler bed for daughter for another $30 per night. Good living areas and kitchen well set up should you want to cook. Cleaning/servicing hit and miss. Needed to chase up towels/toilet paper/dishwasher tablets. Parking a nightmare. About twelve spaces all up. Allocated spaces often taken by other guests and examples of same space being allocated to two rooms. Real skill required to get in and out of parking spaces, chunks out of walls and railings indicates how many people found this too much. Pitied the poor woman driving the Hyundai van making a fifty point turn to exit. Motorway very close if traffic noise bothers you. If it was just my wife and I would probably look elsewhere but for 3 or 4 people good value for money. Still loving our nations capital.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank VicnJen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at these apartments for the fact they were convenient in location. Although the first major reason for choosing the accommodation was because of the size of our family. We specifically rang the establishment to determine whether the accommodation would suit our family needs in terms of space needs (we have 1 year old twins still in portacots and a 4 year old). We were assured it would be suitable. Upon arrival we were quite pleased at the location of the establishment, but upon entering the flat we were disappointed to see that not only were the rooms tiny (double beds squeezed into the rooms with a very narrow isle on one side of the bed) and steps from the sleeping quarters to the lounge area. This certainly did not fit in with what was discussed over the telephone. Also, although the accommodation was neat and well equipped, it didn't appear very clean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammjamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you need to be in central Wellington this hotel is an oldie but a goodie. Sited mid Terrace you'll be handy to government, Lambton Quay, public transport, and restaurants galore. There are more modern hotels nearby but this one is affordable, the sheets are crisp, the shower is hot, and the service is friendly. Ideal for tourists and business travellers who want to be right in the thick of things.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a room with no steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurieandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights and had to sleep with jumpers on both nights. Condensation had caused mould in the rooms and some fixtures and fittings were missing. Definitely couldn't have stayed any longer. There was a constant draught due to old windows. Not great value for money but location is good. But the buffet dinner in the James Cook hotel across the road is excellent value for money and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritishBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Either I got very lucky or there has been a major change at Quest on the terrace compared to other reviews. My room was large, spotlessly clean (and kept clean), furnishings were very comfortable yet attractive and new, and the convenience of the downtown location plus having a kitchenette, washer/dryer saved me a lot of time and money. I also enjoyed stepping out on the balcony for my morning coffee. The only thing I did not enjoy was that directly across the street, big, diesel trucks started up around 0430, so I learned not to sleep with windows open and rather use the AC. No staff are available to help carry suitcases, and the floor of my room had three levels, so I would not recommend this place for elderly or disabled people.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible and front facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KareninFiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My experience was similar to recent reviews...all in all a poor choice. We had a 2 bedroom apartment - it was in need of a good clean, the daily service was poor, the fixtures and fittings in need of maintenance; the bedrooms small, the 2nd without any ventilation; the noise from the Expressway was loud and disconcerting even in the evening; the windows were filthy and covered with scaffolding. So all in all not great value for money. The promotional photos and description did not deliver; disappointing as Quest Properties are generally very good.

Room Tip: City side apartments are probably quieter, and definitely inspect the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,926 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
881 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 47 in Wellington
2,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest On The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest On The Terrace

Address: 120 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: £67 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest On The Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quest On The Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On The Terrace Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing