We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Bay

Days Bay
Ranked #42 of 229 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Days Bay is so nice that it should be kept as a secret. Wonderful beach for kids to play and adults to enjoy the view of the capital far far away. Ferry ride is availabe to the CBD if suddenly you need to have a little adventure. Great bushwalks on the hills. Nice gallery, amazing Chocolate Days Cafe and lots of nice people. Go there with your family or just alone with your iPad loaded with good books. As an anecdote: I wrote most parts of my master thesis there on the shadow of the trees or at the Chocolate Days Cafe. I got an A- from which the minus was results of those days I had to write elswhere ;-) Days Bay is for all but most importantly it is for those who enjoy beauty of life without hassle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jussiluukkonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    48
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Take a ferry ride on the harbour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

On such a brilliant sunny winters day - with all the cafe's full and busy we jumped aboard the Day's Bay ferry service. Great value for money and something that every local should do. Many locals haven't done this trip so we found out later. Pleasant, a great way to spend a lazy hour and to see some of Wellington that you normally don't get to see. Should be listed alongside the Cable Car as a must do when in the "world's coolest little city."

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Flane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a lovely afternoon in days bay, well worth the ferry crossing from wellington harbour. A couple of places to eat out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sukieo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Save it for summer/sunny day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went in early June and the boat trip was fun for the little people and we could have planned our trip better but we essentially caught the boat over, grabbed a coffee and then headed back. The boat trip is lovely on a good day and next time I think we will actually have a meal or go for a swim (in summer!). There are a few cafes along the waterfront which have nice views across the water to Wellington especially on a sunny day. Walking along to Eastbourne is also an option which I believe is a 10-15 minute walk.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fifi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grab One Ferry Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We purchased a Grab One ferry deal and too the ferry across. Not too much to see on the other side just a couple of artie shops, so we walked and looked and the houses built into the cliff. we actually got bored and rather than wait for the ferry back took the bus which took us though parts of Wellington not seen before and quite enjoyable,.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Days Bay also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Days Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing