We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Atrium Wellington
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Loved its proximity to central Wellington, room very nice facing The Terrace, reception very helpful. Great to have parking underneath (at extra cost) Surprisingly quiet
Didn't think bed very comfortable, could do with a firmer mattress
Although we didn't use the kitchen much thought all the facilities, ie cook top, oven, dishwasher and washing machine very good

Room Tip: I think rooms facing to outside ie rather than atrium are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GayeR35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi, thanks for your positive feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with Quest Atrium. We certainly have a great location, especially with the handy shortcut through to Lambton Quay! We look forward to hosting you again when you are next in Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    76
    74
    49
    22
See reviews for
70
87
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Not only were the rooms dated but there was a pair of mens dirty underwear left in the room from a previous guests, left just in sight by the heater. I didn't have all the kitchen equipment required and twice my patio doors were left open and unlocked. The best thing about staying here were the friendly staff on reception, other than that, a let down to the Quest brand. I will not be recommending this Quest to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank SJWMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi, I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, but glad that our location and helpful staff were able to mitigate that somewhat. The sequence of events regarding the underwear is a mystery, but unacceptable, and I have spoken to our housekeeping team. Our 1 bed apartments are usually considered spacious rather than small, and the room you had was refurbished last year, so I apologise if you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Arrived on Monday night and had no TV
Tuesday Not leaned and still not TV
Signing out on Thursday and reception was late coming to work by 20 minutes so arrived at work late accordingly

No Restaurant attached - would have needed to go out to get meals

All in all not happy with this accomodation

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi, I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us. Unfortunately there was a building wide cabling issue which meant there wasn't proper TV reception in the building for Freeview, although SKY was unaffected. This took a couple of days to get a technician in to trace and resolve the problem. On your checkout day Reception was opened by our Manager who lives in the building and was in the office by 7. It's possible he was called away briefly to assist another guest. Atrium Towers does not have an on site restaurant, but we do have chargeback options for a range of dining options close by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I Stayed at Quest Atrium last couple of days on business, great customer service, was met and greeted in a highly professional manner by Chelsea (apologies for the spelling, if wrong) and the house manager Aaron..!! All by the book.

I could see the place has undergone an extensive refurb, the rooms look fantastic with new Furniture, carpet, LCD and bed. The 1-bedrooms I stayed in even had a sofa bed, great if you have an unexpected visitor.

To top it all, free Wi-Fi for the first night Great..!!

I highly recommend this place and thank the staff and management for their excellent customer service.

Rest assured I will definitely be returning and will be recommending the place to others

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuestonHobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are nearing the end of our refurbishment program now, and our guests are enjoying our upgraded rooms, and access to some free internet! We look forward to hosting you again on future business trips to Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed two nights. Location good, room was fine and clean, but room service left our dishes in the dish washer.
The room was subject to very load noise from other guest in the Atrium; this acted like a sound shell. It was then that we realised what the ear plugs were for.
The ad said free Wifi. It was but had a limit of 500 mb. Had to go down to reception to get pass word etc. 2nd night had to go down to reception to get a second pass word. Next morning Wifi would not work and and I was expected to go down to reception to get a 3rd password.
Parking problems. The parking is round the back under the hotel. It is a mission to get there. Reception drew a map for me which involved a u turn in to oncoming traffic on the busy Terrace road. I felt most uncomfortable doing this and it is probably illegal.
What really hurt is that when I got to the hotel's parking area, I realised it was right next to the Wilson car park which had a cheaper weekend rate and was much more accessible; did not involve dangerous manoeuvres to get there. The hotel parking was very poor value.
Checking out 8:30 Sunday morning, reception was closed. Ambiguous instructions on the procedure. Left keys in key drop box. Unsatisfactory as we had no way of confirming our check out.
Will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Hi, thanks for your feedback. I'll go through each point.... The dishwasher is not part of our daily room service - it's not always easy to tell if the dishes are clean or dirty. We are aware that the Atrium does cause acoustic problems in our Studio apartments, we are working with the building Body Corporate to see what remediation is possible. The Atrium is a very aesthetically pleasing aspect but it does have it's downside. There is always a staff member available / on call, so we do ask that if guests have problems with noisy neighbours they advise us so that we can deal with the problem at the time.
Wifi - we obviously have to limit the amount of wifi that we can give for free. You should have been given a voucher on checkin with your password info, I apologise if that did not happen. After your feedback we have refined things with our ISP so that in future we are able to give guests staying multiple nights all their vouchers on arrival, if that is part of their room deal. Guests are also welcome to phone reception to buy more internet, (our charges are about the cheapest you will find in a hotel), it's not always necessary to come to reception in person.
Parking is underneath our building, and our access is around the back. The U-turn you mention is not illegal other than between 7.30 - 9am, which is not a time that we are checking in guests. We offer secure underground parking with lift access direct to the apartments. We cannot compete on price with the parking multi-nationals, but the nearest Wilson parks are about 150m meters away across a busy road, or further away in a different block.
Guests who wish to check out early are welcome to leave their keys in their rooms or in the dropbox provided, we will check our in room literature to see if the advice can be made more clear. Keys are not necessary to depart the car park.

I hope this addresses some of your concerns, thank you for your positive comments on our handy location and the cleanliness of our rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment - two couples. The apartment was really small with only one bathroom. Second bedroom had no wardrobe and no mirror and was really tiny. Bedrooms didn't have walls that went right to the ceiling so was really noisy if TV was on in living room. Overall we weren't impressed and wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie_G242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hi, thanks for the feedback. Our 2 bedroom apartments do vary slightly in size, and in the smaller apartments some of the second bedrooms can be compact, but they do all have wardrobes! However, the living area in all our apartments is very spacious, and most of our guests enjoy having a large area in which to socialise with their families or companions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Location: not bad as it is only walking distance to the city shopping centers, bars and restaurants, close to bus stops as well.
Value for Money: Affordable

We went to Wellington for a short stay and booked a studio at Quest on Atrium. Everything was acceptable except for the garden. I was disappointed that the garden shown in the picture is not an open area, but it is covered one. Tricky eh? Also Quest on Atrium is a non-smoking building, so for smokers this is not the place to stay.

For affordable accomodation stay at Quest on Atrium in Wellington but I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autumn_cloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hi, thanks for the feedback. I think probably most hotel rooms in NZ wouldn't allow smoking these days, and our studio apartments are classed as internal rooms, so we can't allow smoking on the balconies. However, all our 1 and 2 bedroom apartments have large external decks, and smokers are welcome to smoke outside on their own decks, where we also provide ashtrays for convenience. We do enable guests to upgrade their bookings on arrival if they wish to, if we have availability, for those to whom easy smoking access is important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
0.6 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Atrium Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Atrium Wellington

Property: Quest Atrium Wellington
Address: 154 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Atrium Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Atrium serviced apartments are situated at 154 The Terrace, one of Wellington's best Central City locations. The apartments are within easy access of Lambton Quay, Parliament, boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants, and theaters. Wellington's waterfront is within walking distance, as is Te Papa Museum, Victoria University, Westpac Stadium and the Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Atrium Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Atrium Wellington Hotel Wellington
Quest Atrium Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing