We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Atrium Wellington
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The usual hotels I stay in were full, so we found a room in the Atrium on the Terrace. The receptionist was friendly enough and provided me with a key to 5N.

You walk through a slightly dingy hall to the lifts and up to the rooms. The rooms are set in a square around a central atrium - hence the name. Unfortunately, the atrium is small and allows noise to travel around the building. The rooms on the inside of the building have a balconies on to the atrium. As it was hot day a number of guests had their windows open and I was greeted by a cacophony of noise. My room thankfully was facing out to the motorway.

To be fair to the owners they do say that the rooms are not noise insulated and that everyone should attempt to keep the noise down.

On the plus side I imagine that the rooms are well priced for an apartment in the city. Unfortunately, I did not need the facilities provided by an apartment...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

These apartments are in a nifty position close to Lambton Quay and the cablecar, a short walk from the waterfront and the central attractions in Wellington. Having good security, the apartment was also neat, clean and modern, including good cooking facilities and the convenience of an internal washing machine/dryer (a big plus when travelling and staying mostly in hotels). A limited amount of free wi-fi was available in the apartment, not bad in a country where, as in Australia, complimentary wi-fi in hotels is not yet very common. Some other reviewers complain about noise; I heard no road noise in my apartment but some noise from the central atrium, where sound echoes and the glass window/doors opening onto the atrium did little to insulate the apartment from sound. The management warns rowdy guests to keep the noise down and I found the degree of noise depends on whether any loud groups are staying there at the time. I liked the apartment and would not be deterred from staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazzy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The location for visiting local sights is good but the apartment is so close to the freeway we could not sleep due to the noise. Also the bedrooms are very small and the 2nd has no windows so we had to keep the windows open in the lounge area for air so couldn't lock out the noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy2949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed in the 2BR room which was quite small, also backed onto the main highway so quite loud with external lights. Parking was quite expensive at $20 per night and I would not want to be parking a large car there.

Was accused of damaging a toaster we didn't even know we had and even after putting a very good case forward they still procedded to charge me for it.

My suggestion is if you stay at this hotel check out all the appliances when you arrive.

Location is walking distance to city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4350Travel4Work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks for your feedback. Our parking charges are about the going rate for Wellington CBD accommodation providers, and if we can we check with the guest on their car size before allocating spaces, as I agree some spaces can be quite tight which is why we ask. Our housekeepers check all aspects of a room when cleaning and preparing for new arrivals, and any damages and breakages are replaced so that the next guest is not impacted, so I am otherwise mystified as to what occurred on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Found the room size quite small considering the price and the noise levels although not too bad we're more noticeable than other hotels we stayed in this trip. Chap on the front desk was a little miserable when we booked in. As I say in the title, it was ok!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hi,

thanks for your feedback. We do have a range of units available and even in the smallest unit there are kitchen and laundry facilities. We try and price competitively for the facilities that we offer compared to other CBD providers, I'm sorry that you were disappointed in this instance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for the sevens and whilst I know that rack rates are charged and this is the busiest weekend in Wellington,still felt for what we got, we paid way too much. We paid $420 for a two bedroom apartment with one rollaway bed. The twin room was adequate but the double room was tiny, the bed looked like it was bought from the warehouse, no innerspring mattress just a foam one and the bathroom was the size of a toilet. The paint was peeling off the bathroom roof and the soap refill on the wall of shower was empty. Housekeeping came round to service at 9am each day and woke us up and we then had to wait till they counted the dirty towels until we could get clean towels. There was scaffolding being taken down at 8am on Saturday morning right outside our room so super noisy. When we called the duty manager at 11pm on first night as one of our party had the key we wee told by the call centre it wasn't possible to get in so then had to make another two calls to get a duty manager to come down and unlock the door even though it says someone is on duty 24hours.It certainly wasn't worth the $1260 we had to pay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank propsgirlnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

hi thanks for your feedback. I have checked back and you stayed in one of our last rooms yet to be refurbished unfortunately, so I apologise for the less than ideal condition of the room. However, I am pleased to be able to advise you that the bed you refer to has been replaced already. Rates do increase over the 7s weekends, not only is it a very busy time, but there are considerable extra staffing and other costs that a party weekend incurs. I note your comments about the duty manager and have reviewed our logs for the night and when advised that the call centre would call the duty manager you stated that you would see if your friends could let you in. When you discovered they were out you called again, and the duty manager let you in within a couple of minutes of your second call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed in 3 bedroom apartment on 9 the floor.Apartments are quite modern.Main bedroom large with ensuite .Balcony off bedroom.Second and third bedrooms are small and airless.Apartments are not air conditioned so you rely on leaving balcony doors open for air and even front door for through ventilation. We were there in summer .I don't think it would be an issue in winter.Ensuite has shower over a bath and main bathroom has just a shower. There is a combination washing machine/dryer. Kitchen modern with adequate utensils.They are service d daily so they remove rubush replace towels etc.Internet free 500 mb for 24 hours.Then $5 a day for 500mb or $10 for 1 g for a week.Walking distance to main shopping street and waterfront. So abundance of eating choices.10 minute walk to very good supermarket. Tip .Cut walking time by going through Grand Chancellor hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one at front as our back one had a lot of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

hi. Thanks for your lovely feedback, and comprehensive review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.9 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#19 of 47 in Wellington
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#30 of 47 in Wellington
545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest on Thorndon
Quest on Thorndon
#7 of 54 in Wellington
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Atrium Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Atrium Wellington

Address: 154 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: £70 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Atrium Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Atrium serviced apartments are situated at 154 The Terrace, one of Wellington's best Central City locations. The apartments are within easy access of Lambton Quay, Parliament, boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants, and theaters. Wellington's waterfront is within walking distance, as is Te Papa Museum, Victoria University, Westpac Stadium and the Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Atrium Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Atrium Wellington Hotel Wellington
Quest Atrium Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing