We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunchtime surprise (you can take out or eat in)”
Review of Pandan Asian Cuisine - CLOSED

Pandan Asian Cuisine
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
229 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Lunchtime surprise (you can take out or eat in)”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Went with colleagues from work who raved about this place so much that we took a trip out and filled their tiny restaurant one lunchtime during the week. We booked tables and booked our food ahead as there around 20 of us and were told that this would speed things up.

They do a cross between Indian and Malaysian food including goat dishes which I understand is something of a speciality and these came recommended prior to visiting and also on the day from colleagues sitting close by who had it. Some of the dishes have bones and they don't serve chicken breast so check that if that's important to you

It was so good that I ordered more stuff to bring home knowing my partner would love it too (he's a great Indian fan!)

Highly recommended for the lunchtime special which was $10 for curry, rice, bread - super bargain!

Give it a whirl; well worth the journey out P.S. Don't dress up it's very casual and nothing fancy; but the food's great and service is friendly!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minkamonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't change a thing”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Picked up a variety of takeaway curries tonight for 11 people, 7 of which had never tried them before. Pandan now has 7 new loyal customers.

Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What they say is true!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I accidentally read about this place and the reviews just made me want to try the place myself. We got there by 12 noon and the place was already busy but not packed. They have 8 tables and 3 were taken. 30 mins after, 6 tables were taken. The food is really good. The sizes of the serving is also good. Great Value for money, and our food came in less than 15 mins from when we ordered it. And the server was really friendly. I am going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneandSoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just down the road!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I am a Tawa local, and have lived here for 4 years. I had not tried Pandan until last week. Well, make me a regular! The food was amazing. We had Lamb Rendang, Seafood Mamak Mee Goreng, Seafood Mee Hoon Goreng (which my 3 & 5 year old boys devoured), Roti and Peanut Sauce. It was all simply delicious. Everyone I have met who have eaten here has raved about it. I feel like I have wasted four years having not eaten here!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wellingtondweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Having read so many great reviews about this restaurant, I was curious to try it. So today we ordered to takeaway. I have to agree with the positive reviews.The food was fantastic. It is an unassuming little place and you would walk/drive right pass it if you didn't know about it. Looking forward to trying some more of their menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Finz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pandan Asian Cuisine also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing