We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience”
Review of Pickle Eating House and Bar - CLOSED

Pickle Eating House and Bar
Cuisines: European, Australian, British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

From the moment you step in the door you ko its going to be different, preserving jars hang from the ceiling, Brush stick/Broom up the walls.

The portinions vs price are good value for money, but what will gt you is the presentation.. its funky, its quirky but adds that bit of flair that makes this place stand out from the rest.

Quality was a bit down on my last visit .-so (Chef..! if you read this, just watch the overcooking) That aside i still enjoyed the overall dinner and atmosphere.


You dont just come here for dinner, you come here to be intrigued and mystified.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvio-van-Tol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic night out here. Had a 'dinner party' with 4. The head chef discussed our preferences with us and designed a menu specifically for us. From start to finish the meal flowed seamlessly. Unusual combinations of flavors that left our palettes desiring more and wondering what surprises would be next. The chef served us frequently and the personal touch this restaurant offers restored our faith in good service. All the staff are knowledgeable and passionate. Thoroughly enjoyable experience. Kudos!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherryn385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor at best”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I went to Pickle for a friends birthday and was highly disappointed. She booked here of all places because she had heard amazing things about it but was embarrassed we had such a bad experience and wished she had chosen a better venue.

We had already ordered fries for the table which were actually good (probably the best part about the meal). We ordered our mains and most of us opted for the steak-this was a huge mistake; The steak that was presented to us was not only average presentation wise but I could have seriously made a better meal at home for half the price, the steak tasted like it was cheap and nasty and the salad was plain iceburg lettuce with afew capsicums and tomatoes thrown on with what looked like dressing out of a bottle. Most of us ate less than half our meals as it tasted so bland.

The staff also seemed very inattentive, like it was a chore to be at work. No to mention when afew of us girls had to sneak past the kitchen to the bathroom we were rudely oggled at by the chefs which made us very uncomfortable.

We would have had dessert here had the main not been so disappointing. I do not recommend this place at all and won't be coming back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CSmith90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Creative and good, but not great.”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

As a start, I wish I had gone for the "dinner party". The food here is good and the menu has some quite creative items. Lamb neck was very good and surprisingly light. Chicken was great. Skirt steak was mediocre. Frustrating to see another eatery go the way of small plate / large plate dining, whereby you have to construct your meal across sectors of the menu (this place is not really tapas). Service was great. Very friendly. Portion of fries was very small. Good value, quality and selection of drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Back for more......”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

So good, we had to come back. A group of six, we were greeted,seated and asked if we were interested in a dinner party? Chef comes out, chats, finds out your likes and dislikes and then goes and sets to sending out the best they have and then some. Chef tries out new stuff, gets the feedback and continues to innovate. Two price ranges to choose from per head. We went for the more expensive option of $45 per head. Not disappointed. If you are still hungry jut let them know and more is sent out.
Loved it. We were all wowed. Great innovation and really social.

Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pickle Eating House and Bar also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing