We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice as expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bolton Hotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice as expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is a good hotel and I had a pleasant stay.

I was greeted by friendly staff at reception. My room was spacious enough, as it had kitchen facilities, so probably a bit more area than a standard room - probably as I was a work traveller on this instance. It had a nice queen or king bed coupled with nice fittings.

If you are wanting close-by evening excitement, then this is not walking distance to Courtenay Place. Nested in the CBD and very close to government buildings and parliament, this area was mainly built up during the early 1970's, so the area can lack some character.

Its a sad indictment of Wellington hotels if this is "one or thee best in the captial". It met all expectations of what a 4 star hotel should provide.

Free wifi was a nice surprise for kiwi hotels.

As most people have raved on before me - Very Good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    402
    124
    30
    7
See reviews for
195
661
63
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have stayed in Wellington countless times and my husband and I are actually a little disappointed that it has taken us so long to stay here! Bolton is by far the best hotel that we've stayed in in Wellington... maybe even New Zealand! The staff were lovely and attentive and the room had a great view of Wellington. I would recommend that everyone try the new Thai restaurant that has opened on the Terrace. Oh and the hike up the street to the Botanical Gardens was a killer but definitely burnt off my dinner and was SO worth it :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R-Beccstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here twice in the last year on business, most recenty in January. This hotel has very modern rooms with all you could ask for, even some kitchen facilities. Decor is modern but still warm. Comfortable beds and quality TV and other mod cons. Bathrooms are modern and very clean. I had break fast here once but they were renovating and so space and service was limited, but it looked like the renovation will soon be finished if not already. Reception area is small but staff are efficient and helpful. The Lobby has a small coffee shop (also with free wifi) that does very good coffee and some cakes. Wifi is available in the rooms but the signal seemed a bit weak. In terms of location it is in a quieter street but an easy walk to the main shopping and business area and about 10 mins walk to the harbourside. Lots of cafes nearby if you don't want to eat at the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed in a Premier Suite. Apartment style with full kitchen and seperate bedroom. Very clean and well looked after. Kitchen was spotless (although we didn't cook), we used the washer/dryer and this worked well (detergent provided). Nice bath with seperate shower and lots of good quality bath products (replenished daily). Comfortable bed, 2 x TV's. Rooms are nice, but corridors are a bit depressing in brown hues and low lighting. Restaurant was being refurbished during our stay, so breakfast was in an smaller anti-room. Breakfast service was excellent and staff were really polite and helpful. Full breakfast is a bit pricey, but the standard is excellent. Staff were very polite. Taxis are readily available from the hotel and offer an excellent service.
Arrived on a holiday so the CBD was like a ghost-town, but during normal weekdays there are restaurants close by (although they tend to close early as they are geared to office workers).
Finding the lifts down to the main shopping street can be a challenge (the one in the Novotel, at the back of the restaurant, is probably the most convenient although it requires a Novotel key to access after normal shopping hours). Otherwise probably best to walk around in front of the parliament building.
Wellington is a charming city, well worth a visit with a nice shopping centre and some of the most freindly people I have ever encountered.

Room Tip: Premier suite is well worth the small upgrade in cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank courtsbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very good - fantastic room, very helpful and responsive service. Central location but perhaps more at the 'business' than 'tourist' part of town, many of the other hotels are closer to bars, restaurants etc but I guess thats only an issue if you need something closer to the action.

Only bad thing I can find to say is that I wasn't a big fan of the breakfast - not bad, just not to my taste!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Got the Presidential Suite.

Pros:

- Great location
- Amazing views
- Impeccable service
- Complimentary internet access
- Excellent beds
- The suite was stunning

Contras:

- Quite disappointing breakfast, food choice was very limited and not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychoactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Had a two-bedroom suite for six nights around the Wellington sevens time at the start of February. Really do not think it is a five-star but probably a reasonable four-star property. Reception and consumers staff were really good and the location was ideal for access to shopping, restaurants and the waterfront and the Westpac Stadium (15 min walk). Suite was a little on the smallish side but adequate with two bedrooms with king-size beds (one room has an ensuite and there was a spare bathroom and toilet for use by the other bedroom). Cleaning staff were good and efficient and we really could not complain about anything.
A good nights sleep with no real noise problems except for a size 5 earthquake at six o'clock one morning. At this stage, I don't think the Bolton can guarantee against earthquakes.
good coffee at the little coffee shop near reception. Tried the restaurant on our first night after arriving late from a flight from Australia-reviewed separately. It is only new needs a little bit of time to settle down before we would consider trying it again. Probably the only thing that let the hotel down a little bit

Would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GVPAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Property: Bolton Hotel Wellington
Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing