We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Greytown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My wife and I spent a night in this hotel for her birthday - Grandad was at home babysitting the kids! We had a very relaxing time which we enjoyed thoroughly.

We we lucky enough to be upgraded on arrival and the room (a Premium Suite I think) was excellent - very spaceous, spotless and well equipped. The bed was huge and you couldn't hear the motorway outside.

We made good use of the pool, spa and fitness facilities - everything was in excellent condition.

The hotel staff were all very good too - both calls we made to housekeeping were responded to very quickly, and on checkout a porter offered to look after our bags while we visited the city without us even having to ask.

Obviously this is a premium hotel and at full price you'd expect it to be excellent (which it was). For what we paid it was superb.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alihaslett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    417
    126
    31
    7
See reviews for
203
684
67
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2012

What a fabulous all-round experience!
From first telephone contact, arrival and check-in, presentation of room, room service and beyond - this hotel exceeded all my expectations and delivered 6 star quality and service for 3 star price.
Don't be fooled by the modest exterior and lobby - this is truly one of Wellington's best kept secrets!
We will definitely be making the Bolton Hotel our Wellington hotel of choice every time we visit.

Room Tip: Go for the Premium Studio or Premium Suite - newer, fresher and fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This hotel looks nothing from the outside, but inside it's luxurious with contemporary decor, incredibly comfortable beds and bright bubbly service. The menu in the restaurant is not overly creative, but the food is fresh, well cooked and well presented. The fitness room is a little cramped, but there is good variety and they work! Spa, sauna and pool are super clean.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LornaMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed at the Bolton Hotel for two nights on a girls weekend.

We booked the Bolton Suite which was the perfect size for the five of us. The staff were kind enough to split both king beds into singles prior to our arrival (this always seems to be an issue at other hotels).

We arrived late on a Friday night and the staff checked us in quickly. As soon as we arrived into our room, we phoned down for some extra linen. Within 5 minutes it had arrived. Very efficient. It was raining on the Saturday and the staff gave us all an umbrella. They also gave us some great tips about where to eat in Wellington.

The room itself was great. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms - everything was really clean. I would stay at this hotel again purely for the service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerby1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Excellent staff. Helpful, knowledgable. Room spotless. Food was beautifully prepared & presented.
Excellent pool & gym facilities for those of us who need our daily fix.
I'd had 2 nights at The Amora as it was opposite Te Papa where I'd a Conference, so pleased I shifted for my last 2 nights which were for sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevieve154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We booked the Winter Warmer Package and enjoyed the breakfast and dinner. The food was superb. Compliments to the chef!! Service was excellent and always with a smile. Room suited us (2) and was extremely clean. Enjoyed the pool and spa! Shops are close by and it was only 10 mins walk to the Waterfront and nightlife too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We booked the "winter warmer" package and when we checked in we were told that for an extra $x we could "upgrade" to a larger room - apparently the room that comes with the package is only a small one. We decided to stay with the "small" room and I'm glad we did. It was plenty roomy enough for my wife and myself. If that is their definition of small, I would love to see their "big" rooms. It was only a single room with queen bed and ensuite, but it was by no means "pokey". It was perfectly clean and tidy, secure and comfortable.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. We dined in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and loved every minute of it. I was a little unsure about the ambience at dinner as there wasn't any background music playing. It was very quiet and everyone keep their conversations down to a low volume - possibly for privacy and possibly out of respect for the patrons around them. But that in itself created a tranquil setting - one not often experienced. The food - excellent.

The location - also excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean-BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Property: Bolton Hotel Wellington
Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing