We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect room for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here on a work trip down New Zealand. Room was compact but smart, had everything we needed. The decor was modern - and the bed spread resembled a kiwi which was a nice touch, had some fun with that! The spa/gym was a relaxing addition and there were robes/slippers in the wardrobe for us to use. The only negative was the long walk to the more up-beat part of the city where the bars/restaurants were. Staff were so helpful and stored our luggage/ordered us a taxi when we checked-out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review and favorable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was our second stay at the Bolton and we will be back. We have stayed in suites both times and find that they have everything you need. A recent addition of iPad minis in the rooms is a neat feature for the techie minded amongst us.

We stayed in a 15th floor room overlooking the historic Bolton Street cemetery and parks which lead up to the botanic gardens. A nice easy walk up there and on to Zealandia. The hotel is very handy to the central city. We tried the restaurant this time. While the food was excellent, and the service competent, there is something missing...lacking atmosphere/soul?. It was a mid week and not very busy. Perhaps the vibes are better on a weekend.

Vey quiet air con units which is always a plus.

Very helpful reception and concierge staff and the most brollies we have ever seen for guest use!

Room Tip: Go for the view over the parks at the back. The motorway in between seems to stop between 7 pm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatchNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I was pleased you liked the mini iPads in the rooms, we receive many good comments about these. Thank you also for your comments regarding the excellent food on a quiet night in our restaurant.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here off an on for around 2 weeks, the staff were lovely and really helpful, the room was beautiful and clean. Parking nearby is really expensive, coffee is good, breakfast forgettable, esp. the breakfast staff who were too busy chatting to serve and forgot my coffee twice.
iPad in your room. The a rooms are tiny, unfortunately that's what I was in, not easy to relax in for that length of time, talking about the wardrobe is a polite way of saying a place to hang a coat.
Nice hotel, and probably one of the best in Wellington, but not amazing, esp. After the number of mistakes that my colleague had happen during his stay. It just seemed to miss the mark, sorry.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish_HLGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments. The room you stayed in is our smallest room, offering good facilities and bathroom with large 1m x 1m shower. The room was designed for the busy business traveller staying for a short period. I agree the room at 26m2 is on the small side and was not designed for guests staying for long periods of time. Having said that many guests who like to be out and about, are happy with this smaller room style.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were in Wellington last weekend for WOW (World of Wearable Arts) and stayed in the Bolton Hotel. It was a great place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, whenever we needed a taxi the concierge had one there for us quickly. The rooms were spotlessly clean and had all that we required. We needed a tin opener and one was quickly delivered to us. The only thing that they forgot was to top up the tea bags etc when they serviced the rooms but that was remedied quickly. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen, it even had a dishwasher. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GulfHarbourBadgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments. I was pleased you enjoyed the facilities offered in one of our two bedroom suites. These suites are very popular for events like WOW. These suites offer 2 bathrooms and they are also popular for business guests traveling together.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Travelling on business to Wellington. Booked the premier suite. Rooms are a very good size with a separate bedroom, full size dining table and full kitchen with 2 hob burner, small oven plus a microwave and dishwasher.
Staff friendly and helpful. Easy walk to cbd by going thru the terrace buildings.
Quality of rooms far superior to other big name hotels in Wellington. Could not recommend more .
Also try the restaurant they have a very good chef and again better quality dinner than some of the well known restaurants in Wellington.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suziesmum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your excellent review and recommendation of our hotel. I was pleased you enjoyed the facilities offered in one of our Premier Suites and our restaurant dinner service.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night here, but would have loved to stay for longer (back again next year). It is a fabulously luxurious accommodation with enormous beds, spacious living areas and lots of small touches that really make it - like a welcoming bottle of wine, a night light in the bathroom and lots of free wifi. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for you reveiew, I was pleased you enjoed your stay with us.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location and wonderful staff! I've stayed in many 5 star properties: my Bolton suite was spacious and my high standards were more than met. I stayed for 3 nights and from check-in to check-out had not one complaint; in fact I have only praise for the attentive, friendly staff who embodied a positive 'not a problem' attitude. A highlight was the amazing room service breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumofbknq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast service. Our staff work so hard on breakfast service and it is nice for this to be recognised. Thank you for your review.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: £102 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the perfect choice whilst visiting Wellington. We’re independent, so unlike a chain we can really look after you, with personalised extras that you may not find in other hotels. We’re located in the best part of the city, close to cafes, shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Wellington’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing