We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience from two stays here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great experience from two stays here”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Myself and my girlfriend have stayed here twice, the first time in September and then October 2013. Both times the staff were helpful but the first time was our favourite time as our room was the same kind of room (suite) but it was much larger and better laid out. The queen size bed is super comfy, we were able to borrow a few DVDs from the reception desk for free, the swimming pool is nice for a few moments (tad too cold) and the hot tub is lovely. You get top service here but of course you are paying good money. We were backpacking for months around New Zealand so stayed here as a treat to get our of hotels for a break and it was magic. We could have stayed. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
It was pleasing to read your review and comments, very much appreciated and thank you.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    417
    126
    31
    7
See reviews for
203
684
67
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Bolton Hotel used to be my default choice in Wellington. I have made a glowing review of the Bolton on TripAdvisor a year or so ago. A recent stay (a couple of weeks ago) has made me rethink its default status. I think the hotel is at a crossroads. It has reigned supreme on TripAdvisor for some time but it is time for the hotel to look at some of its shortcomings. Firstly, the maintenance of its rooms. My family checked into a two bedroom suite and had one folding bedroom cabinet door fall on us when we opened it. The television cabinet in the living room was hanging off one of its two hinges. Blown lights in the toilets were not replaced. Rooms were not made up at the end of one of the days. It needs to be mentioned that these were problems were rectified when we highlighted them to the hotel. Secondly, service standards. We utilised the hotel valet service to park our rental car for a couple of days (the self park option on weekdays is more expensive than the $30 a day hotel valet). On one of the days, our car was erroneously handed to another guest who promptly drove it away. A frantic search for our missing car ensued and the hotel head concierge Ingmar Becker promised to have the car found (which he did) while he arranged to taxi for us to head to lunch and back. We were inconvenienced for not having the freedom of using our rental vehicle, the time wasted waiting for the taxi and for us to head back to the hotel to retrieve our car. I thought the icing on the cake was the fact that we were still charged for the valet service! I didn't want to make a scene on check out regarding the valet charges as I was on vacation and have wasted enough vacation time dealing with this. I think the hotel needs to rethink its manner on how to sort out a bad situation. I still think that the Bolton is a good place to stay in Wellington and, hopefully, this is not the start where it slips into mediocrity from its high lofty perch. The signs are not great but it certainly is a salvageable situation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review and comments, very much appreciated. Management have taken on board the comments made. We have addressed the matter of the wrong rental car. Clearly this should not have happened.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My partner and I had stayed in a guest studio for 4 nights and we were happy we chose a boutique-style hotel vs. a larger establishment (not that there are many in Wellington to choose). Prior to writing this review, I looked at the hotel's website and want to commend the hotel. In my opinion, unlike other hotels, distort the amenities and grade of the facilities a potential guest may receive (i.e W Hotel NYC on Lex), Bolton is incredibly upfront and honest with the product for which you pay. Something I was going to warn reviewers about has actually already been remedied. When my partner and I made our booking for a guest studio, we were not advised of the extremely small amount (almost none) of wardrobe space. Much to Bolton's credit, the room description now aptly notes the small storage space. When a hotel, in an upfront manner, points out a feature (or lack thereof) which may cause potential guests to look elsewhere, I see that as an invaluable asset: honesty and integrity in advertising. So, Bolton Hotel: Thank you!

The staff were always helpful and quite pleasant, especially the (somewhat) older gentleman, who had waited on us for breakfast. After the 1st morning, the waitstaff had already taken note of particulars (i.e. how we preferred our eggs cooked, coffee & tea w milk, sugar , etc.). I've stayed at few places in the world where the staff make that level of effort. The front desk was extremely helpful in directing us to various places of interest in addition to the iPad in every room with maps/directions around the city, and there were plenty of complimentary umbrellas for guests to borrow for the day at each entrance. The room service menu was quite appetizing, but there was 1 night when our order was wrong (let that go -- not too much of a biggy), and the delivery was exceptionally slow 1 or 2 nights. Other than that, we were happy things and found the room rate to be reasonable for the facilities and services.

The hotel is an easy walk to all of the CBD, and if you're in Wellington to go to Parliament, Bolton Hotel is the place to hang your hat.

While my partner is from NZ, I am not and this was my first time to the country. Bolton definitely provided a great first visit and what my partner and I agree is an authentic feel for Wellington and New Zealand. That said, I would happily stay at Bolton Hotel upon my return.

Room Tip: Stay in a classic studio or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekkingtheglobe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review and many favourable comments, very much appreciated thank you.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We checked in after a long drive from Rotorua. We had reserved a studio room for NZ$189 and were talked into taking a large one bedroom for NZ$219. I never saw the studio but was told that it was very small. The large one bedroom was huge. It was very clean and while we only stayed one night, it was a very pleasant experience.
The only negative is the NZ$30 valet charge. It probably would have been better to park in a parking lot next to the hotel.
We did not eat at the hotel so I can't advise about the restaurant. The service was excellent. Easy check-in and check-out. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked with everything.
I would recommend this hotel for indiviuals, couples or families. You will have a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytripper39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. There are parking options to the Bolton valet parking. Street parking is $4.00 per hour, it is free overnight and weekends. During the day, weekends included, it is 2 hours maximum and this is policed with fines applying. The parking building opposite the hotel charges $3 per half hour, with $3 per entry on weekends. The hotel parking is $30 per day and being fully enclosed keeps our guest cars safe.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

It is a smaller hotel with a lot of charm. It is close to the water, parliament and most tourist sights. The rooms had everything that we needed and were very clean. The staff was very helpful in giving us ideas for restaurants and off the beaten path walks. W bought some food at the local market so day-time snacks. We would stay here again easily.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelswithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Wellington does not have a wide choice of hotels of international brands. I decided to go with this boutique hotel, which is a pretty nice, smallish property. Our corner room on the 7th floor, a premier studio, was quite nice, with ample space and amenities, which included a small kitchenette area. Two bucket chairs for sitting was a welcome feature. FYI, no tub in the bathroom; just a good shower. The HVAC system was too drafty, so we had to leave it off much of the time. Our biggest problem with this hotel was its restaurant. Dinner on our first evening was terrible...I mean, get[-me-out-of-here terrible. The food was poorly prepared and the service was also not of good quality. We dined on the 2nd night at Chameleon in the Intercontinental Hotel, and had a superior experience. The breakfast was also not very good, because of inconsistencies in food quality and a limited a la carte menu. Basically, the kitchen chef did not know how to cook. One day the scrambled eggs were nicely cooked; the next day they were seriously slimy. The bacon was steamed (!); the hash browns were either crispy, as one would like, or sticky, soggy; the cooked tomatoes were so overdone so as to be difficult to transfer to a plate. The cheeses were nice; especially notable was the port wine cheddar. They had properly made crepes at the buffet with a nice berry sauce. Excellent espresso, too. We had an amazingly efficient waiter at breakfast. Anyway, the food was the weakest link. Note: The restaurant was uncomfortably drafty at most of the tables.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor facing the inland hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuisinator007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review, very much appreciated. We have taken on board your comments.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

After a long trip from the U.S. East Coast, we arrived in Wellington and were very pleased at the location and service at the Bolton, a smallish hotel away from the waterfront bustle but close to Parliament, the Botanical Gardens and shopping areas. Could get provisions from a market at the railway station and cook ourselves but also had access to several nice restaurants, including Chow. Price was reasonable in a capitol city. The folks at the front desk were most helpful with ideas and directions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Property: Bolton Hotel Wellington
Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing