We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We went to Wellington to catch up with family and tried the Bolton for a change.

Located at the north end of the CBD, it's a bit far fron the restaurant district around Courtney Place but it would be great if in town on business - especially if that involved government entities.

The place is modern and the rooms very quiet and comfortable. The package we were on included breakfast - a buffet rather better than many hotel offerings.

Parking, like most hotels, is expensive but they have a cool car stacker. Extracting your car is relatively quick.

Try the antipasti platter with a nice red in the mezzanine bar

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BellsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your review and lovely comments. I was pleased you enjoyed our restaurant and bar service.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We could not fault it. A week was not long enough.
The room was great with a kitchen area. Bed lovely.
The service was good and the high-ish prices to be expected when things are this good.
Will go again if we are ever up to the huge flight duration!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller3333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

I enjoyed reading your review and I was pleased you enjoyed our facilities and service.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent only one night here in the middle of a long road trip. The room was perfect. Well laid out and welcoming. Loved having a kitchen and the shower is to die for! Only problem was we had only one night here! It's well located and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your review and I was pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The Bolton Hotel is an excellent hotel for the traveller. Particularly our One and Two bedroom suites which have fully equipped kitchens including washer/dryer.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Appreciated the Valet service as there wasn't really anywhere you could park. Arrived to roadwork out the front of the hotel which made it a little hectic trying to figure out which way was in and out. After the stress of finally getting here, checking in was easy they were attentive yet not to in your face and answered all my questions with 'yes, not a problem at all' The only downer and it was a slight one was that our room was right next to the elevator it beeped and banged a bit at night so i didn't have that good a sleep. But loved the view of the hills and graveyard lol amazing seeing that amongst the hussell n bussell and being right there by the Beehive was cool too. Easy transfer to the Ferry from here also. Not busy this time of the year so had the Spa all to myself lovely!

Room Tip: The higher the better we were on the 14th floor. Amazing view from up here. We over looked the Grave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

I very much appreciated reading your review and I was pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree the views to the west side of the property over Bolton Memorial Park, Kelburn and the Botanical Gardens are excellent.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Engaging service. Well maintained and appointed Premier Suite and very comfortable. First impression of one bedroom suite was a bit underwhelming but narrowed this down to the lounge room furniture being a bit staid. Nothing else can be faulted apart from small wardrobe space. Breakfast buffet good especially when included in room rate. Again the service can't be faulted. Tried room service once for a lamb burger.
Although the burger was well made and tasty it's ridiculously overpriced. $28 + $5 delivery for the worlds smallest lamb burger and a handful of potatoes. More than half the price of the larger chef's menu at Matterhorn! A bit of a walk from anything,especially on the weekend when the business end of town is closed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your review I was pleased you enjoyed the room and our breakfast service.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for a long weekend. Didn't use the restaurant.

The hotel was pretty quiet which was goods news for using the pool, sauna and spa.

The room well decorated with good furnishings and pillow menu was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your review and comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Room was great, Essentially a 1 bed apartment, living room, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. Close enough to the city to walk. Would stay there again, need to put in some more words to get to 200 characters

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank dp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

I appreciated your review and favourable comments. Thank you.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,718 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,939 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: £98 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the perfect choice whilst visiting Wellington. We’re independent, so unlike a chain we can really look after you, with personalised extras that you may not find in other hotels. We’re located in the best part of the city, close to cafes, shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Wellington’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing