We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel. Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel. Good Service”
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Stayed in Premier Suite and was pleased with the room layout with bedroom separate from living. Beds comfortable. Bathrooms nice but weak shower. However this seems the norm in most city hotels.
Service was friendly and efficient. Would stay again.
I can thoroughly recommend the Cathy Davis Beauty Spa next door but one. I had a fantastic facial and they even did a free make-up for me. I also had my hair washed and blow dried and was very pleased with the result. This place is a one stop shop for pampering with lovely staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agent99Wellington, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 31 May 2010
As General Manager of the Bolton Hotel, I comment on his review:

New Zealand in general has very good water pressure particularly in urban locations and the Bolton Hotel is no exception. Recently as part of our Qualmark Enviro Gold achievement we installed water efficient shower heads with the option for the user to select Hard, Medium and Soft spray settings. This feature has been very popular. On inspection of this issue raised it was noted that the prior guest in the room had used the soft spray mode which to some could be considered inadequate.

Having recognised this point we have now implemented a procedure to ensure the settings on the show head are reverted back to Medium water flow. Measuring this we are producing about 11 litres of water per minute. The guideline for a good flow shower is 10-12 litres, with a flow less than 12 being considered positive for the environment.

Mark Angus
General Manager
Bolton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    420
    126
    33
    7
See reviews for
204
688
67
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Great Hotel, full serviced apts, with superb view. Centrally located.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We stayed at The Bolton at the end of April.

Rarely have we seen the combination of a small, intimate hotel feel - with the consistent professionalism associated with a 5 star establishment.
The suite format works well and the location was ideal.
However, the lasting impression willl be of the friendly and proactive staff.
It appears that nothing is a problem. All requests are greeted with an enthusiastic 'can-do' attitude.
From the first phone enquiry, a take-out coffee or valet parking at 05.30 - the same response ensued each time.

A polished and warm environment - to be enjoyed again soon,

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppiaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Good business hotel which ticks the right boxes - efficient checkin, clean and quiet. The only complaint we had was the water pressure from the shower which dribbled like an old man.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agent99Wellington, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 31 May 2010
As General Manager of the Bolton Hotel, I comment on his review:

New Zealand in general has very good water pressure particularly in urban locations and the Bolton Hotel is no exception. Recently as part of our Qualmark Enviro Gold achievement we installed water efficient shower heads with the option for the user to select Hard, Medium and Soft spray settings. This feature has been very popular. On inspection of this issue raised it was noted that the prior guest in the room had used the soft spray mode which to some could be considered inadequate.

Having recognised this point we have now implemented a procedure to ensure the settings on the show head are reverted back to Medium water flow. Measuring this we are producing about 11 litres of water per minute. The guideline for a good flow shower is 10-12 litres, with a flow less than 12 being considered positive for the environment.

Mark Angus
General Manager
Bolton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We had a fantastic stay at Bolton. The hotel is modern, clean, all staff are very friendly and helpful.

Bolton is located next to the parliament house about 15 mins walking to the city centre, and longer from city back to the hotel. It isn't a pleasant walk at night in the windy Wellington. The worst for me is the hotel is next to a cemetery, unless you stay in the penthouse, it's either city view (looking into buildings 30 meters away) or the garden (cemetery) view. Perhaps a few rooms have the harbour view? You cannot select your view at booking.

Good for business, not leisure.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank You_Ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agent99Wellington, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 19 April 2010
As General Manager of the Bolton Hotel, I comment on this review:

The cemetery on the west side of the hotel is the Bolton Street Memorial Park, a favourite park for Wellington residents and visitors alike. The Bolton Cemetery was one of New Zealand’s first cemeteries and contains the headstones of many of the founding fathers of Wellington. Many of the headstones are placed as the actual graves were uplifted when the motorway was constructed in the 1960’s. The last burial was circa 1968 and the cemetery has been closed since.

I would be pleased to discuss these comments further. Please feel free to contact me per email mark.angus@boltonhotel.co.nz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We had 4 nights at the Bolton. We were happy with the room and the excellent housekeeping, but the poor quality of service at the reception desk and lobby let the hotel down. The service was not incompetent, just lacking in warmth. We spent 5 days going in and out without any sign of a friendly smile from the staff and this is unique in our experience of New Zealand hospitality.
We were disappointed to find that there was a substantial charge for use of the Internet in one's room. It was the highest we encountered in New Zealand and to add insult to injury both the website and the booking confirmation extolled the hotel's wireless Internet provision without mentioning any charge I regarded that as misleading and(politely) so advised the reception staff. Their lack of concern for my reaction made a bad situation worse.
In their defence there is a single computer with Internet connection available for free public use, but it was always busy and I do not like accessing the Internet on public machines. I had my laptop with me.
Instead I used a pay as you go Vodaphone dongle getting a month's use of the Internet for the cost of 2 days access at The Bolton. I recommend a Pay as you go dongle for use in New Zealand as charges for Internet access are common, although often at reasonable cost.
The location of the hotel is adequate although there are many better located for leisure visitors and very many with better views of a beautiful city.
All in all, a reasonable hotel for business users with generous expenses

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CriticalFriend23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Superb accommodation and excellent discrete service facilitated great getaway break which rekindled romantic spark. With downtown dining & entertainment on the doorstep to add to the occasion a truly memorable occasion resulted. Excellent dinner and breakfasts served in first floor restaurant. Walk out the door & downtown & boardwalk by the sea or walk through the park to the botanic gardens above the city beckoned.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleggan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,852 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Property: Bolton Hotel Wellington
Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing