We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good accommodation in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aitken on Mulgrave

Aitken on Mulgrave
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aitken on Mulgrave
Ranked #41 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Stayed one night between catching the ferry and a flight. Only 3- 5 minutes walk from railway station, bus station, walkways to Westpac Stadium, Parliament and the start of the shopping in Lampton Quay.
Two New World supermarkets within 10 minutes walk, next door to a 'Subway', with a good pub on the next corner and MacDonalds just down the road opposite the Railway Stn. All in all, a great location for exploring Wellington.

I was in the apartment side - arrived late so had to buzz the intercom to get the instructions to get in - all very easy though.

My studio room was a good size - 2 single beds zipped together to make a king, a small flat screen tv, table and chairs, kitchenette and separate bathroom. All spotlessly clean.
The view of the wall of the next building only about 2 metres away wasn't inspiring but as they say, you're only there to sleep. A fan would be a great addition for when it's hot, as you don't get much breeze with the next building so close. Had a good nights sleep - seemed to be in a quiet

I'd stay again - especially if I was heading to the 'Cake-tin' (Westpac Stadium).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    15
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
15
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Very compact room. Felt like we were squished in a box. Almost changed our minds and wanted to go somewhere else when we saw this, especially looking out the window to a wall. No fans or ac and it was hot up there. It did have a washing machine which took forever to do a wash but still. Had a kitchenette, bathroom - all very clean. They offered parking at $15 but it was in another building round the corner - worked out ok once we figured out how to get out of the building. Had free internet too so we were very happy with that. It worked for us in the end and provided what we needed - we were out all day anyway and just there to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treenzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Stayed here the weekend of 27th Feb 2010. We had a triple and my parents a double. The rooms were exactly as had been described on here - well presented, clean, with a small kitchen area and clean bathroom and shower.
The rooms are fairly small but if you are only looking for somewhere to lay your head at night / weekend then these are perfect. The price we got was also pretty fantastic.
The apartments are ideally located for the Westpac stadium (we went to see the cricket) and parliament, and about a 15 minute walk to everywhere else. There is a subway on the corner, a newsagent and a special word for the Thistle pub which does great beer and food! Also - the bus station and train station are just 5 minutes away and from here you can get everywhere - it was ideal for us catching the airport bus. All in all a good place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petersommers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Just got back from Wellington last night and stayed in this 'hotel'. We missed checked in but they were very orgainsed and had left the key in a lock box at the front of the entrance doorway, you buzz and someone gives you directions to open and then you are good to go!

The room was a king and single, although the king was 2 singles pushed together, you couldn't feel the join.

It was also 3 blocks from Cafe 93 - very good food and quick service. Go out hotel, turn left for one block and then right for 2 blocks. It's on the left hand side.

The shower pressure was good. You have to take a hair dryer with you, but all else is there as they are serviced apartments for the most part...so you can cook and clean washing etc.

Great place that's clean and just what you need mid meetings.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DamosasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

The first two nights we were given a tiny room where my wife and I could hardly move around in, much less open our suitcases. Then they moved us to a reasonably sized room. We loved the compact kitchen appliances and washer and dryer etc. even though we really didn't have time to use them. The room cleaning and restocking of supplies were poor but response to our requests were excellent. The location is great.

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sabbaticalvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Stayed here for 1 night in March. The location was really good, just outside the main centre about a 10 minute walk – quite close to the parliament buildings. The room was great it had everything, hob, dishwasher, microwave, washer/dryer which was really handy as we needed to do some washing, The room was clean however, we didn’t really have a view as the room looked out to the scaffolding as there was building work next door (not noisy though). The only other downside was no air conditioning, Based on the price this place was good value. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

A functional hotel that is very close to the rail station, Westapac Stadium(sports), close to ferry terminal BUT out of the way for activity and restaurants.
Clean yet small rooms that are functional offering no more than the essentials with a view of the new building wall. However it is quiet and suitable for the short stay with the room as just a place to sleep.
We selected it as being close (25minutes walk) to the Interislander Ferry terminal but were a bit surprised as to the lack of places to eat at.
Reasonable rates make it worthwhile but we would experiment with other hotels (and prices ) in the same area if wanting to be close to the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,785 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest on Johnston
Quest on Johnston
#34 of 46 in Wellington
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Thorndon
Quest on Thorndon
#8 of 47 in Wellington
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stay at St Pauls
Stay at St Pauls
#21 of 47 in Wellington
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
#25 of 46 in Wellington
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitken on Mulgrave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitken on Mulgrave

Property: Aitken on Mulgrave
Address: 7 Aitken Street | Thordon, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Hotel Class:3 star — Aitken on Mulgrave 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Aitken on Mulgrave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitken On Mulgrave Wellington
Aitken On Mulgrave Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing