We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor receptionist area”
Review of The Setup on Dixon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Setup on Dixon
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor receptionist area”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The receptionist was not there at 2pm nor did she answer the phone number given ,there was no seating area so went to kichen to find seat.The receptionist appeared at 2:20pm -she had no idea how to process a credit card that did not require a signature -after several attempts asked if we had another card ! finally she rang someone on how to do it-it was now 2.40 !!
As others have mentioned if your room is on Dixon St-it is extremely noisy . However it is a great central location with lovely clean room and ensuite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for letting us know your experience at the Setup Accommodation on Dixon. I am sorry about all the inconveniences we have caused and it is very unfortunate to know that our receptionist did not give you a reasonable level of service. It might because we just had a new eftpos machine back then and our receptionist was not familiar with it back then. But it will not happen again. Sorry again and we are really appreciate your comment and we will try to provide a better service for everyone who stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    193
    102
    52
    37
See reviews for
53
129
131
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Excellent central city location; clean, well maintained room and ensuite; helpful staff; free (capped) wifi. The Setup is geared towards budget travellers so everything is quite basic, but I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and spacious our room was. There was a TV, tea/coffee, a room heater, comfortable (firm) beds, and a shower with good pressure. All in all - exceptional value for money.

Internally, it was quiet but, if you are a light sleeper, you might prefer a room that does not look out onto Dixon Street as late night/early morning revellers may disturb your sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out onto Dixon Street can be noisy from late night/early morning revellers. Upgrade t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NZWillco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for telling us your experience staying with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Setup on Wellington again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

As a traveler was disappointed that the kitchen didn't appear to have any cutlery, crockery or pots and pans for you to use. Everything seemed to belong to someone with notes on saying keep off. This meant having to eat out all the time.
Room very good, clean and comfortable.
Excellent location.
Was given information on parking but found their informational prices out of date.
Good price for a central location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review and I am sorry for the inconveniences we have caused. However, we do provide cutlery and crockery for all our customers. We do have some mid-term guests there; and we have several cupboards for them. Meanwhile, we have several cupboards full of cutlery and crockery for the guests who stay for only a couple of nights. Maybe because of the inefficient signage that you did not find them. So we apologize for that again and we will make a bigger sign to tell every guest where we keep our cutlery and crockery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- new and clean
- nice en suite bathroom
- near to the city centre
- free wi-fi that works
- laundry facilities
- late arrival procedure
- helpful staff

Cons:
- no parking
- "basic" but again new and clean

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ninabuffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your time for sharing your experience with us. Our goal is to provide all the facilities you need for a couple of days' stay with us with the most reasonable prices in the central city. And once again thank you for your positive feedback and we are very appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This accommodation was the best of our trip around New Zealand. $70 for a room and shared bathroom. Bedroom and bathroom were both very clean. Just what we needed.

The two downfalls - doors slamming and un-respectful people leaving the shared bathroom a mess ( hair around sink and in shower) water all over the floor and leaving bath at on the floor, not hanging it up to dry on the rail provided) these are both not to do with the accommodation but other people staying there.

Great location!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABILB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I am so thrilled that you found our accommodation was the best of your trip. We aim to give everyone a comfortable and enjoyable accommodation here in Wellington. As to the downfalls, we will make our cleaners keep an eye on the floor of all the shared bathrooms we have. And we also have doubel ensuite rooms for couples who want their own bathroom and only for $10 more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I decided to stay here based solely on the price - at $50/night for a private room in the city I didn't think I could go wrong, there was also a conference on so hotel prices were at a premium.

To echo previous reviews, the building is a bit of a rabbit warren, but it is clearly signposted and easy to get around.

My room consisted of a 27" lcd TV with freeview, writing desk, free standing cupboard to store/hang clothes and a remarkably comfortably king single bed.
The bedding was cheap polyester, you get what you pay for here.
There was also small bar fridge (that hummed the night away), kettle and selection of tea, instant coffee and plunger coffee.

I attempted an early check in at 1300, which was declined - but I could store my bag and explore the surrounding area.

Although you can't hear any noise from the road level, depending on your neighbours you can hear knocking and heavy footsteps, ear plugs may be useful - despite this I still managed a 8 hour sleep.

Bathrooms are basic, but clean. With 5 showers on timers (7 minuted) 5 toilets and four sinks.

I did some dishes in the kitchen in the morning, it was as clean as could be expected from after the breakfast rush.

If I stay here again, I think I would go for a room with an ensure (only $20 more!).

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ton3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your stay at the Setup Accommodation. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. And I look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It has been the first time we have tried a hostel. Therefore it was actually good for what we have paid for. Unlike other rooms in the hostel we had a window to the street, bathroom next door and the hot spots of the city on the doorstep. The room (only for 2, no shared room) was clean and spacious, had a kettle with tea and coffee, a spacious bed and a desk and chair.

Instructions for after hour arrival were clear beforehand, the shared bathroom was clean as well and everything was in good condition. You even had enough power sockets and the TV was working well unlike some good hotels who always seem to struggle with these two things. WiFi login and speed was very good throughout the stay.

On the other hand, the rooms were not sound proof (you need to be lucky to have a quiet neighbour) and on weekends drunk and loud people are on the street as you live directly in the main area to go for a drink. I am actually glad that there are cameras everywhere around, because once the main door is open, everyone could go to the lift and access the hostel level. The lift was not working a few times. If you come with a lot of stuff, you won't be happy to go up and down 3 floors. But there was also construction work on floor 1 and 2. Maybe the elevator problem is linked to that.

We haven't used (but saw) the laundry or other communal areas, but they looked clean.
The reception staff seems not really professional, but at least helpful. And they don't charge you credit card fees or anything like that.

Even though there are currently some issues, the price and value relation is surprisingly good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y_and_M12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
I very appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Setup Accommodation. Sorry for the noise around and we are still working on the sound proof issues for all our rooms. As to the security, the main door will shut dowm after 6 pm every day and on one can enter the building unless he has a swipe card. Anyway, Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you back at the Setup Accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Setup on Dixon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setup on Dixon

Property: The Setup on Dixon
Address: Level 3 15 Dixon Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Setup on Dixon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Wellington, The Setup Accommodation offers guests free Wi-Fi. It is less than 5 minutes' walk from a variety of restaurants, cafes and shops. All heated rooms include comfortable linen, an electric kettle and a private or shared bathroom. Some rooms have a radio, a refrigerator and a desk. Most have a flat-screen TV and lovely city views. The Setup Accommodation Wellington is a 5-minute walk from Te Papa Museum and a 5-minute drive from Massey University. Wellington International Airport is a 15-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Setup on Dixon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing