We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location.”
Review of The Setup on Dixon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Setup on Dixon
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value and location.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I booked a single room here last minute for a week. It was the cheapest result on booking.com and I was pleasently surprised at what was included etc. I arrived at 1am and followed the3 instructions given to me to check in but no key was left so I had to call the manager... no biggie. Room was big, clean and well equiped with a TV, fridge, very comfortable bed, heater, desk, chair etc. Very quiet too so slept well. Bathroom was also very clean but I found the timers (3mins) on the showers extremely frustrating as you cannot press the button again for a while so had to go to a different cubicle. I booked this also for the free wifi but this seemed to be ot true which was dissappointing. I had to purchase more twice as you're only allocated a certain amount and it ran out in 2 days when it should lasted my whole stay. Overall quite impressed and would definately recommend to anyone.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank raweggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and for sharing your experience. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the our facilities. We have already realised the problem in our shower cubicle and we are currently changing the timer. Thank you again for your feedback and looking forward to welcoming you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    195
    102
    52
    37
See reviews for
53
131
131
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Location was perfect for conference at Te Papa. Let down was noisy people in next door room, but if you are wanting to be able to have a good nite sleep don't stay here due to the noise from clubs and people on the street. Overall clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Don't get one facing Dixon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tru133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, location is one of our advantages and I am pleased that found our hostel convenient for your conference. On the other hand, I am so sorry about the noise from your neighbour as well as the clubs nearby. We are planning to provide ear plugs to all our guests since we are located in central city and noise is unavoidable during the weekend.Thank you for your feedback and it is very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Impressed by the room
Not sure about the " you are being watched " and " wanted " signs
Could do with a better organised kitchen
I think this place is great overall, they just need to be a hostel or a lodge... Being both kinda doesn't work well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank abdulrahman a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
I am very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. Sorry about the notice in our kitchen it is just because of we got some complaints from our guests before and have to put some notice there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was in Wellington for lectures at Massey. The setup is only a couple of stops from the the airport on the bus. I negotiated a late check in with the after hours manager, Carl, with no hassles at all. Room was tidy, well furnished. I self catered some of my meals and the kitchen was modern and well equipped.

I faintly heard some bass thumping one night before I went to bed, but it was not the residents of The Setup, it was a neighboring floor or building - but it wasn't a bother and didn't keep me up.

The staff were accommodating and stored my luggage for free whilst attending my last days lectures. I didn't expect the staff to be mind readers, and any request I made with them was honored.

Room Tip: Outer wall rooms seem to have a nicer layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you so much for sending your feedback to us after your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our location perfectly suited to your needs.We are always happy to help with guests who want to check in late or want to keep their luggages with us for a while. Thank you again for your lovely comment and I am looking forward to welcoming you again here in Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Location was perfect. Right in the centre of town and close to a lot of different shops and so cheap. Only let down were the noisy people in the room next door but nothing major. And the fact that me and my partner only got one towel each and we stayed a long weekend. Because we were out exploring all day, by the time we got back to the room (6.30pm) the office was closed and couldn't get fresh towels. Luckily, i packed my own just incase! But rooms should be supplied with fresh towels daily is my recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 290nataliat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you for taking valuable time to give us your feedback. I am pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable time with us and that you found the location to your liking. Also, I am sorry for the towel and actually we have a duty manager living in that level and you can call him any time when you need a anything from us. Thank you again for you time and I am looking forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Relatively cheap and convenient, though the $9 a night price rise is unwarranted. I had very loud neighbors and couldn't sleep due to the noise of a club nearby, so bring ear plugs. There is little in the way of service, you must put a sign on your door to request your room be serviced, though you'll be lucky if it gets done the first time. If you want a hotel, don't stay here. If you want to find other travellers to hang out with, don't stay here. If you need to be in this area, are very independent and impervious to loud noise, then for sure stay here.

Room Tip: Stay away from the reception area where long term tenants and management talk loudly about goings on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BeeMC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review and it is really helpful to us. We are planning to provide ear plugs to each of our rooms in case our guests need them. As to the room service, we have a policy of one service per week which means if one stay for more than one week, they receive one room service once a week. You have also mentioned about the reception area, and we are now combining all the short-term rooms near reception area with our reception and keep our short-term guests away from our long-term tenants as well as reception area. Thank you again for your review and much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had a private room with ensuite very spacious and clean.
Also with fridge and coffee or tea facilities very useful
The internet worked really well.
In all a good stay for a quick trip to the capital

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martine595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
I'd like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am so glad you had an excellent stay at our hostel and you enjoyed our facilities. I'd love to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
661 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 51 in Wellington
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Setup on Dixon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setup on Dixon

Property: The Setup on Dixon
Address: Level 3 15 Dixon Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Setup on Dixon 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Wellington, The Setup Accommodation offers guests free Wi-Fi. It is less than 5 minutes' walk from a variety of restaurants, cafes and shops. All heated rooms include comfortable linen, an electric kettle and a private or shared bathroom. Some rooms have a radio, a refrigerator and a desk. Most have a flat-screen TV and lovely city views. The Setup Accommodation Wellington is a 5-minute walk from Te Papa Museum and a 5-minute drive from Massey University. Wellington International Airport is a 15-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Setup on Dixon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing