We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location - don't believe other TripAdvisor reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value and Location - don't believe other TripAdvisor reviews!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel on a Pay 2 nights, stay 3 offer for a Twin/Double room. I was in town on business.

I got room 302 which had a Queen and Single bed. Picture of room was as per advertised/photos - tasteful, clean, comfortable.

Location is great, just a short 5min walk will get you anywhere in downtown Wellington. Lots of cafes and restaurants nearby.

Noise at night is as can be expected from any inner city hotel with single glazed windows. Not perfect, but exactly same as anywhere else in world in a city.

Parking in the basement: it's tight but not terrible. I had a rental Corolla and it was easy. A Landcruiser or other large 4WD may struggle, but that's inner city parking in a basement. There is a Wilsons Carpark 30m away where you could park if you didn't like the basement (extra $).

Cons:
- Wireless internet should be free. I paid $10 for 1GB data that was available for the duration of my stay. My 3/4G on iphone was faster.
- $20 parking per night is a bit steep. I would expect no more than $10 or maybe $15 at a push. Otherwise it adds 20%+ to the cost of staying the night.
- TV in room was terrible. Old style, small (20"?), no freeview. Every room should have at least a 32" freeview flat panel. They are so cheap now!

Would I stay again - highly likely. Room, comfort, and location made this a good option.

Remember I stayed on a 3 for 2 night deal. If I had to pay full price I would feel all the addons (parking, Internet) would make it not great value for money. If on my next visit there was still no decent TV and free internet (we are in 21st century), I may be tempted to try another place in town for the sake of variety and better facilities for a business traveller.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tecsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    175
    158
    49
    29
See reviews for
73
162
52
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed at the Abel Tasman for 2 nights in July this winter and found the rooms to be nice and clean.

The hotel was located right smack in the centre of town, a stone's throw away from Cuba Street for some shopping, a 5-minute walk Courtenay Place to catch a movie, 10 minutes away from Lambton Quay for the cable car and the waterfront. If you need to grab a drink, there's a New World just 2 streets away. This is where the bus stop can be found too, for those who need to catch a flight in or out. Logistically wonderful!

The hotel staff were generally very friendly and I'd like to say a big thank you to Sarah at the reception for being so helpful during my stay. She was a GEM, having Gone the Extra Mile in giving me so much information about directions around town, opening hours of stores and prices of bus rides and ferry schedules. Very sweet lady!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoonChuan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

First time staying at the Abel Tasman and chose it after reading some very positive trip advisor reviews.
This hotel is in a great location and very good value for money. Clean, warm and comfortable rooms with very friendly staff. We will definitely stay again and are more than happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Ive stayed here a few times over the years. Always found the hotel clean and comfortable.
One thing to take care about is that the door locks need to be locked manually. Another advantage of the Tas over other hotels is that windows open!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I actually found this place on trip advisor. I had read that it was a little outdated but I looked at pictures and thought it was a quaint place and right in the CBD so I decided to give it a go.
On arrival we were checked in and everything went smoothly (as it would for the rest of the trip). The room itself was lovely but I thought it was strange that the bathroom had not been given an upgrade like the bedroom had. It was like a completely different hotel room!
Another downside was that at least one contiki group was staying at the same time as us. We weren't on the same floor as them but they were congregating in the foyer and made some comments to me as we passed them on our way to the lift. I know you can't control this but I chose this hotel because it looked nice and like it wouldn't attract drunken idiots.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I have stayed at the Abel Tasman (Tas) many many times over the last 15 years plus . Reception is welcoming and always willing to assist with any request you may have. Housekeeping staff go above and beyond to ensure the rooms are clean,comfortable, presentable and welcoming.. The new decor is amazing, at the moment the hotel is going through a refurbish. What is better than a unwind to finish the day sitting by the large fire in the restaurant awaiting a delectable meal, mmmm. I am back in two weeks and look forward to staying at the homeliest, friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in.Thank you Abel Tas.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suenim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The staff were friendly and able to help when asked. The stay was pleasant and room was clean and acceptable. the only down side was the street noise and the 2nd night was the 20 year storm so very noisy due to the wind and rain.

Over all still a nice stay, Thanks

Room Tip: choose a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.0 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#31 of 46 in Wellington
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington
Grand Mercure Wellington
#23 of 46 in Wellington
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,595 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel

Property: Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Address: 169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Abel Tasman Hotel Accommodation Wellington)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman is perfectly positioned in the heart of Wellingtons, cultural, business and entertainment districts. 73 spacious guest rooms. Newly refurbished conference facilities are on site and offer a balance between style and practicability. All with natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abel Tasman Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing