We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located with basics covered...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well located with basics covered...”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Brief one-nighter with brutally early flight. Not a lot of time to draw impressions, apart from this is a solid budget option in an excellent location.

The service was very good - a bottle opener was quickly forthcoming and early morning cab arranged at a much more reasonable rate to boot...

The room was ok, though you could be in any of the last three decades. Clean, perfectly adequate and the Manuka honey shampoo was a nice touch.

I was at the back of the property and didn't hear anything although this was a Monday night in Wellie.

Flight coffee is right across the road and this is a no-brainer for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyMarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so good to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our services. Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington we do strive for guests having a memorable stay at the hotel every time.

Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    172
    153
    48
    29
See reviews for
72
160
49
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My stay at the Abel Tasman Hotel was a pleasant one. The room was very cozy with a comfortable bed and excellent soft lighting, a welcome change from the harsh bright lights a lot of hotels can have. The bathroom was clean and modern. My only gripe with the room, and this is likely because I was close to street level by being on the second floor at the front of the hotel, was that you hear *a lot* of street noise. If you're a light sleeper, you may struggle to have a solid sleep.. Wifi was fairly priced, but when you have free wifi (something the city of Wellington offers) just a two minute walk down the road it's hard to justify buying it at the hotel. The hotel is also in quite a central location, the most expensive cab fare we had on the whole trip was $15.

The restaurant/bar area downstairs matched the theme of the room - cozy. It was a little on the small side, I was visiting on a Contiki trip and we managed to fill the entire area with just our group (apologies to the other guests!!). That was on a quiet weeknight too, I'd hate to see what it's like on a busy weekend. It's also definitely not the cheapest of bars; it was very expensive when compared to surrounding bars.

One thing I would like to comment on was the excellent customer service. No matter what time of day staff at reception were polite and always wearing a smile. Even at 4am when I had an early check out the gentleman on the desk was very courteous and offered to call me a cab to the airport. One could absolutely be forgiven for not providing the best of customer service at that time of the morning, I can relate as I am a shift worker myself, but to receive such consistent treatment even at that hour was most appreciated.

I'd have no hesitation on returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so good to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our services. Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington we do strive for guests having a memorable stay at the hotel every time.

We have also taken on board the comments which you have highlighted for us and we will work on these to get them rectified.

Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Great service, great location and a great night. Staff were friendly and the elevator was good. A mistake was made in our booking but that was fixed pronto with a minimum of fuss. And it is right in the middle of town so a good night out wont involve any taxing :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so good to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our services. Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington we do strive for guests having a memorable stay at the hotel every time.


Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great lucky last minute find on a cold wet windy Wellington night!
It is in a Fantastic location and is central to everything.
Wonderful helpful reception staff, great food in the restaurant with clean rooms and reasonable rates. Would recommend any time.
Sam, Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tootoughtofind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so good to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our services. Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington we do strive for guests having a memorable stay at the hotel every time.


Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney , Australia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Arrived after midnight, greeted warmly, comfortable room with everything one could want for an overnight stay. Warm room , excellent shower. Easy 5 minute walk to main shopping area, car park next door to hotel. Good stay.

Room Tip: Prepay online for a great rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so good to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our services. Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington we do strive for guests having a memorable stay at the hotel every time.


Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have stayed here often and found it comfortable, clean and the staff friendly. The decor has improved over the years and now is very contemporary and with pleasent use of colour. The hotel restaurant has good breakfasts and good coffee! A good choice of menu for lunches and evening meals including gluten free which I appreciate. The cooking staff are very willing to discuss and plan your meal when you have special requirements as I do.
There is free parking in the basement carpark, a little tricky to drive in and out of ;but I've gotten very used to it over the years! The Abel Tasman is in Willis street so very central and handy to shops, restaurants, cafes and theatres. Most activities are a few minutes walk away. I recomend it!

Room Tip: There are smoking and non smoking floors and the back away from the street is quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so good to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our services. Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington we do strive for guests having a memorable stay at the hotel every time.


Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Two friends and myself arrived at the Abel Tasman before check-in time and they very graciously allowed us to go ahead and check in. We were in room 204 with 3 twin beds. One in our party fell onto the bed and was nearly catapulted off - such soft, springey beds we were not expecting - but we found that the beds were comfortable to sleep on! We thought from the city map that walking to restaurants and down to the harbor would be a long walk, but found we could walk to many attractions within 20 minutes. We used the internet there and chose the $7 for 2 hours option. We could at times hear traffic and loud voices out on the street. We did have to ask for enough face cloths each day and they didn't replace soap and shampoo each day. There was a taxi stand conveniently located across the street. Be prepared for a lot of windy in Wellington!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingsport_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so good to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our services. Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington we do strive for guests having a memorable stay at the hotel every time.

We have also taken on board the comments which you have highlighted for us and we will work on these to get them rectified.

Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#19 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#29 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel

Property: Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Address: 169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Abel Tasman Hotel Accommodation Wellington)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman is perfectly positioned in the heart of Wellingtons, cultural, business and entertainment districts. 73 spacious guest rooms. Newly refurbished conference facilities are on site and offer a balance between style and practicability. All with natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abel Tasman Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing