We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expecation for 120 a night + 20 for parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
india
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Below expecation for 120 a night + 20 for parking!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We wanted a place near the Inter-islander with walking distance to the waterfront for a walk and the cafes. We drove in from Rotorua and the GPS took us to the hotel to find parking a problem, they should give clear directions to confirmed bookings and a map for people to find clear parking, went round and round and parked wrong to go to the reception to get access to the reserved parking. Found the 20 NZD pricey for the basement undercover park and going in and out a little bit tricky if there are 2 cars in / out. The rooms were smaller than expected with basic facilities. Location was good for us to take a walk to the waterfront and try out a couple of cafes, but the noises from the street were coming in late, we were lucky to be on 3rd floor, so not so bad to affect sleep. Overall felt ripped off at 140/- a night, would look for other options next time.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on higher floors to avoid the noises from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We have also taken on board the comments which you have highlighted for us and we will work on these to get them rectified.

Our website does give clear directions on how to come to reception of the hotel clearly. We do promote guest checking In, before they go and park as we can then assist them with further directions and availability of the car park. At $20 per night we are still the most economical hotel in the CBD area in regards to parking charges.

We do wish we can get you back to experience the amazing hospitality this hotel offers. Our location, rooms , pricing and service will be the best you can get for a central 3.5 star CBD hotel.

Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    175
    158
    49
    29
See reviews for
73
162
52
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Parking is so unclear without going in. They provide you with a day pass of parking for the covered carpark next door for $20 which is expensive on top of the overpriced room fee considering wifi is not included. The parking means it is a bit of a walk to the hotel and for the elderly, those with children or those with lots of heavy bag, that is a nuisance. There is no wifi included which at $99 per night is mind boggling, considering the rooms are only mediocre. Clean though, and the beds are comfortable so that's a plus point or two. Wouldn't return at the price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamson20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We have also taken on board the comments which you have highlighted for us and we will work on these to get them rectified.

Our website does give clear directions on how to come to reception of the hotel clearly. We do promote guest checking In at receptions first before they go and park as we can then assist them with further directions and availability of the car park. At $20 per night we are still the most economical hotel in the CBD area in regards to parking charges. Also once guest Checks in, bags and passengers can be dropped off at the hotel car park just outside our reception desk. We do have Wi-Fi deals best to book through our hotels website to get the best deals at all times.

We do wish we can get you back to experience the amazing hospitality this hotel offers. Our location, rooms , pricing and service will be the best you can get for a central 3.5 star CBD hotel.

Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I got a cheap internet deal for a superior room so was quite happy that I got what I paid for - but I wouldn't have like to pay the going rate for this "superior room". It was comfortable and quiet with enough space for 2 of us, but would only call it average. The bathroom needed a bit of an upgrade but as we were there for only 2 nights, it didn't matter. It was close to the airport bus stop, Te Papa, Cuba Mall and lots of eateries so we didn't spend much time in our room. I wouldn't have like to pay the going rate for this room and would hate to think what the less "superior" rooms were like. If they want to charge these prices, they need to lift their game! Okay for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janine_k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We have also taken on board the comments which you have highlighted for us and we will work on these to get them rectified.

Our website does give clear directions on how to come to reception of the hotel clearly. We do promote guest checking In, before they go and park as we can then assist them with further directions and availability of the car park. At $20 per night we are still the most economical hotel in the CBD area in regards to parking charges.

We do wish we can get you back to experience the amazing hospitality this hotel offers. Our location, rooms , pricing and service will be the best you can get for a central 3.5 star CBD hotel.

We have also taken on board the comments which you have highlighted for us and we will work on these to get them rectified.

Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Although the hotel is in a pretty good location – close to Cuba Street, the waterfront and the CBD – the hotel isn't much chop. My room was a bit rudimentary, the bed was too soft/old and the bathroom was basic. It felt more like a hostel than a hotel and the noise from the street during the night made sleep difficult: late night revellers from the nearby nightclub and pubs and the (very) early morning rubbish collection trucks.
Certainly overpriced for what it is.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It is so good to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our services. Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington we do strive for guests having a memorable stay at the hotel every time. It was also really nice to see that staff was helpful and courteous as these are the standards we strive to exceed for every guest encounter.

We have also taken on board the comments which you have highlighted for us and we will work on these to get them rectified.

Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Only stay here for location. Rooms are very basic, smell like cigarettes. No air con so had to sleep with Window open and it would only open a tiny bit then was noisy all night. Front of house was friendly on arrival night staff unhelpful & felt shw couldn't really be bothered being there. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It is quite unfortunate that you have had a few issues during your stay.

The Abel Tasman Hotel has amazing standards and we always strive to be the best 3.5 star hotel in Wellington. I will follow up on the housekeeping issues which you have pointed out. I do apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience. We would have been more than happy to room move you had the issue with the room been pointed out prior to your departure. As our rooms do not get feedback like you have mentioned, it would have been good had it been informed to hotel staff during your stay so we could have actually checked.

We have also taken on board the comments which you have highlighted for us and we will work on these to get them rectified.

Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in a triple room. Room was spacious and we all had our own bed. Bathroom was clean with lots of towels and the shower was hot and powerful. We did not get breakfast included but plenty of cafes near by and tea and coffee in the room to keep you going first thing in the morning. There was also a fridge in this room which we found very handy. Staff were very helpful and were able to accommodate us staying an extra night on short notice and at a cheaper rate.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helly2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It is so good to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our services. Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington we do strive for guests having a memorable stay at the hotel every time. It was also really nice to see that staff was helpful and courteous as these are the standards we strive to exceed for every guest encounter.

Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The room was depressing with stains on walls and overall skuddy. Bed was uncomfortable and dated. Do not stay here it is a rip off and disgusting. It was my worst nightmare. . Staff did not care about our concerns and they charged top dollar for the wow shoe so assume we were put in the oldest room . DISAPPOINTED IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolrober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

It is quite unfortunate that you have had a bad stay at our hotel. The hotel has been fully booked over the week that you stayed and there were no rooms available to move you, as WoW festival is a huge event for Wellington and most hotels and there rooms are fully booked out around this stage.

Abel Tasman hotel is in the centre of Wellington and not far away from all the activities happening in this bustling city. Hence, we recommend all guests to book in advance so you can get the best room type which you may prefer.

It is unfortunate that you believe that our service were not up to exceptional standards as I believe staff did everything for you they could and walked the extra mile in keeping you happy. However as you can see from all of our comments below we have an exceptional team who looks after every guest. We are incomparable to the service we offer to all of our customers.

We have also taken on board the comments which you have highlighted for us and we will work on these to get them rectified.

Wish that you have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.0 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#31 of 46 in Wellington
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington
Grand Mercure Wellington
#23 of 46 in Wellington
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,595 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel

Property: Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Address: 169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Abel Tasman Hotel Accommodation Wellington)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman is perfectly positioned in the heart of Wellingtons, cultural, business and entertainment districts. 73 spacious guest rooms. Newly refurbished conference facilities are on site and offer a balance between style and practicability. All with natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abel Tasman Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing