We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Base Wellington Backpackers
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It's a big hostel and there's probably always space if you're looking for a place to stay, but it is not very clean and the atmosphere is quite depressing (dark colours and old furniture). The service is all right, comparable to all the other base hostels in NZ.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    74
    74
    54
    63
See reviews for
3
58
116
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for one night while doing the kiwi experience and it was fine for just that one night.
It is a big hostel so I doubt its ever full so you're probably always be able to get a room.
However while we were staying here, we found that the kitchen was way too small for the amount of people that the hostel holds. When we were trying to cook it was really difficult to find the space, also it gets unbearably hot in there too. Also they have the tiniest little tv and chill out area, again way too small for the amount of people that it holds. Although I will say that the hostel was very central so that is a very good plus point!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geepea95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the windy capital of New Zealand, we are looking at improving our communal areas at the moment which should improve this area immensly, Thanks again, Timo Hummel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed in our campervan in the car park they supply, The carpark was in a dodgy area behind the hostel, and it smelled like pee as they have no toilets near by, Only ones up two flights of stairs, Workers and guest always smoking weed outside in the carpark where guests were staying, As we payed a lower price to sleep in our van, we were treated like dirt and staff were not very friendly. Toilets were always dirty and never had tissue even though it was written on the sign sheet it was cleaned! Clearly Not! The cleaners seemed to always be cleaning, but nothing actually got cleaned, they were just acting like monkeys and making loads of noise in the halls, where you could barely get pass them, and when you say abruptly excuse me, they reply: we are only having fun! what happed to customer service, clearly dont have any in Base! Kitchen was always filthy and nobody ever cleaned or washed after them selves, be aware! you are unable to leave your feed on the counter while you get ready for the day, as it gets taken! we came back and our food was gone!! come on! The basement bar wasfar to loud, while you sat in the reception area you could feel the floors vibrate underneath you, not a great place to go if you want to have some quite time after long travels! We will never return to BASE again!! and would defiantly not reccomened to any fellow travellers or friends, if you want some quite time, but if your into the big party scene, then its perfect for you!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazzultra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. Be assured I will pass on all the feedback to our Housekeeping Manager to increase the cleaniness during the peak hours in the bathrooms & communal areas. Thanks again for your feedback, Timo Hummel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I am a New Zealander, and I recommend you find elsewhere to stay.

Base is one of those backpackers that is a "Bums on seats" types of operation. You'd be best going to an independent backpacker hostel, not a chain such as this frequented by inconsiderate visitors. Sure its cheap, but its not worth it.

It is noisy all night, as there is a bar downstairs that is open literally every night, and you'll have drunken tourists (even ones not staying in your room!) stroll in and wake you up in the middle of the night. Even an encounter of the intimate nature (that Tripadvisor won't let me write here) 2/3 nights you were there, where you have to angrily confront your roommate when it gets unbearably loud and cannot bear the disgusting actions taking place in the bed beside you.

Security....pfffttt what a joke. Anyone can wander in - don't fool yourself Base.

Do not stay here, New Zealand deserves better than this. Disgusting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. We will work through options to increase security within each bunk room although we are already using key lock systems which wont let anyone into the room but the current occupiers. Thanks again for your feedback, Timo Hummel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The only good thing about this hostel was that the morning after they gave me my money back (a request that I have never asked for before in my life). The rooms were filthy, the bathrooms were disgusting. The blankets had suspicious white stains on them. The common room was a torn up couch with a broken tv next to it. But this was just the tip of the iceberg...

I did not get one moment of sleep in This hostel. People were screaming all night. Not only that, but young men were banging and drunkenly ramming into our door at 3 in the morning and yelling obscene things about what they wanted to do to the women inside (I believe we were placed in an all female room). Some men even had key cards to our rooms and came in in the middle of the night looking around and saying "they'd be back later for more fun with us." As two single women it was a completely terrifying experience. When we called the front desk they sent up a young girl to "handle the noise complaint" even though it was far beyond that.

The next morning we spoke with the receptionists about the problems and they insisted that they had on staff security and that "nothing bad would have happened." (Even though something clearly DID happen!" Verbal harassment and strangers breaking into our rooms). When asked why the men had key cards the staff shrugged and said they must have kept them from the night before.

I have stayed at hostels all over Europe, Asia, and New Zealand. This was literally the worst hostel experience of my life. You couldn't pay me to stay here again. Please do yourself a favor and don't stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. I have investigated your feedback thoroughly and be assured we are taking any measures necessary to prevent this happening again, Timo Hummel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Never experience such a terrible backpackers before. Room is small, dirty with a very bad smell, unwanted sandwiches on the window when we checked in! Bunk bed is not stable, making noise when moving at the upper bunk. Even the wall is dirty. Water is everywhere in the bathroom. Loud music from the bar and you will never have peace and quiet moment before the bar closed. Reception is friendly and kind to assist though. However the stay is too disappointing and will definitely NOT RECOMMEND to any of my friend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kahweic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Kia Ora, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. Thank you for the kind feedback for our Reception staff, be assured we are working through your feedback, trying to find ways to keep bunk rooms clean during occupation always is challenging, we will aim to find better ways to achieve this. Timo Hummel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Terrible hostel! Loud, dirty, broken, like a zoo filled with young people from all over the world.
How I hated my stay in Wellington. It was too much people in one space. Sure it's big but just not good, everyone is in the same space, the TV room the kitchen the big table and the relax area all this in the same space.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathilda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Kia Ora, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. Be assured we are working through your feedback and will introduce noise controls in our Hostel. Timo Hummel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Wellington Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Wellington Backpackers

Property: Base Wellington Backpackers
Address: 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Wellington Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Wellington Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing