We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Great, Big Apartment”
Review of Quest on Johnston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on Johnston
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Booked here as part of a long weekend with girlfriends for shopping, fun, sightseeing (my first visit to Wellington) and dining. The apartment complex was one block back from the Queens Wharf area, with a huge array of fine dining restaurants to comfy casual ones. Around the corner there was a subway, and turn left out of the lobby, 20metres walk you are on one of the main shopping streets Lambton Quay. The high end department store of Kirkcaldie & Stains occupies the same block as the apartment, so lovely lovely shopping there, also a small boutique food hall and coffee lounge too. Key sightseeing venues such as Parliament buildings and the bee hive were a medium paced 5mins away. Te papa museum was a flat walkable 20-25mins along the waterfront or by city roads.

We booked a spacious 2 bedroom apartment, full kitchen, dining table, twin beds with flat screen tv, and a double bedroom. Housekeeping was fantastic and daily replenishment of toiletries and kitchen cleaning materials. We required an extra set of towels, and within 3 minutes of our phone call they were knocking at our door with our towels, very prompt. 14th floor apartment was clean and tidy, although I would have to comment the bathroom was small in comparison to the generous size of the apartment - and an extra shelf on the wall would have been welcomed with all our toiletries/makeup etc.

Management services was of a very high standard, Sebstain in particular provided us with first class service, lobby area welcoming, and check in was very quick and efficient. We arrived at 11pm after reception hours, but the booking service provided us with a combination pin that accessed our key cards in a locked box at the covered entrance way, our envelope was clearly identified and was an easy system to use.

My only criticism would be, and this is indicative of most hotels in NZ, there was no free internet service, although throughout Wellington city centre, hot spots were many. Cost for internet 500mb 2hrs $6; 1gb 24hrs $15; 3gb 24hrs $25; 5gb 7days $40; 25gb 28days $65; 50gb 30days $90. Reception did advise they were due to change providers in the next month or two.

Found complex fitted all our needs and would stay here again, close to everything and comfortable, although decor was perhaps a bit plain, but that's just cosmetic. Cost for 3 nights $677nzd, 2bedroom, 4 people. An extra $100 for check out at 8pm at night which we thought was well priced.

Room Tip: As for a room on a higher lever over looking the harbour and views of Te papa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sneezydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed in a studio apartment for the first time recently just for one night. I was impressed with the room. It had everything you'd need for a longer stay (washing machine, microwave, fridge, hot plate). The bathroom was small but new and the shower pressure was 100%. Bed was comfortable.

On the negative side, there was no airconditioning (although it's possible to open the windows) and the room was quite warm. Also, limited Sky channels but overall, I'd definitely stay here again. The location is fantastic, the reception staff really friendly and the room rates very competitive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalTouristNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Really it was just perfect. Well priced, great location and all good. I'll stay here again definitely. Service was friendly and helpful. Compared to its local neighbors, it was great value. There's a good selection of bars and restaurants very close.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoverNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Won't stay in this apartment again as it was expensive and there were a number of things not working. Also the carpet was worn and shaby. Also the only heating in the apartment were two small heaters which struggled to keep the lace warm!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simonb5591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

2 nights were spent at this hotel which is well located in the main shopping and business part of the city. We had a studio apartment which was spacious, clean with a kitchen and washer/dryer. The bathroom was small but adequate. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet especially for the centre of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed in a studio apartment for an extended period of time (good value rates for long term stays). The apartment was relatively small but well equipped and had everything required for a home away from home. Friendly staff and a very central location just a couple of meters away from the main shopping street (Lambton Quay) and the beautiful Wellington waterfront. A good selection of local bars and restaurants are all within walking distance. On the minus side, the apartment at the back of the building was quite noisy during the day due to the A/C unit of the neighbouring building. Also, the distance between that building and our window was only about two meters which limited our privacy.

Room Tip: Rooms on Johnston Street side are quieter and have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5starbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 16th floor of the Quest on Johnston with my wife and 2 year old daughter.
Having stayed in Quest on Lambton before and been very happy with it, I was keen to try this place as it had even better reviews, although I can't see why.

Check-in was fine. Friendly helpful staff, clean modern reception and, a real bonus, our apartment was ready when we arrived at around 11:30am.

The apartment was generally a good size and was well equipped. However, it was looking pretty tired and in need of a facelift. Whilst there was nothing dramatic, there were multiple small patches of peeing paint and the fittings and appliances were quite dated, particularly the bizarre stove/dishwasher combo which leaked all over the kitchen floor.

In terms of presentation, the apartment was fairly clean, but again, it could have been better. There was obvious dust and fluff build up on the extractor in the (pitifully small) bathroom, and the shower had the sort of soap and water marks on the glass that take time to develop and are near impossible to remove. A couple of the towels had small holes in them.

Soundproofing was not brilliant, and the lifts could be heard clearly throughout the apartment.

That said, the apartments are well located and had everything we needed.

The bottom line is that whilst there is no reason NOT to stay here, there are better options for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauly_Mc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#15 of 47 in Wellington
2,279 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
0.6 mi away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
2,937 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Johnston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Johnston

Address: 35 Johnston Street | PO Box 10 461, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £72 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Johnston 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quest on Johnston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Johnston Hotel Wellington
Quest On Johnston Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing