We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location NOISE !”
Review of Quest on Johnston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on Johnston
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Close to City, Rooms are a lttle dated biy clean and tidy. Staff 100% Unfortunately the Hotel is situated opposite a festering source of Noise - the Wilson Car parking building. Fire alrmas, Kanga Hammers and constriction ongoing. Before booking ask if construction is finished at present it is very unpleasant with the invasive noise. You can do better in Wellington at present or ask for a room AWAY from Johnston Street and the noisy neighbours.

Room Tip: Get away from Johnston street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at the Quest on Johnston for one night for a business trip. It is relatively well located, spacious rooms and comfortable. There is WiFi available for purchase and it is not too expensive as far as hotel WiFi goes. Staff were friendly on check in. The kitchen was a little dated but had all the necessary fit-out. Bathroom a little small but clean and tidy. Overall, very comfortable for a short stay. Close to lots of dining options as well and very close to the harbour area. I stayed on the 14th floor and it was quiet and peaceful. Also, complimentary tea and coffee. Very easy to walk around the city from this location.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a higher floor to avoid some of the noise from the traffic on the street as it is in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

An excllent apartment for the rate - clean ,well equipped and very central and nice service- and loved the great touch of the personel comments in the room book- recommend it especailly for rugby weekends . Wellington rocks too .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoriajayne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a two bedroom
apartment with one bathroom/ toilet which could be a challenge with four or more people staying there. Place was clean and comfortable with good sized rooms. Apartment had a decent kithenettw with a washing machine.

Convenient location close to shops, restaurants, the museum and to take the cable car to the botanical gardens.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Booked here as part of a long weekend with girlfriends for shopping, fun, sightseeing (my first visit to Wellington) and dining. The apartment complex was one block back from the Queens Wharf area, with a huge array of fine dining restaurants to comfy casual ones. Around the corner there was a subway, and turn left out of the lobby, 20metres walk you are on one of the main shopping streets Lambton Quay. The high end department store of Kirkcaldie & Stains occupies the same block as the apartment, so lovely lovely shopping there, also a small boutique food hall and coffee lounge too. Key sightseeing venues such as Parliament buildings and the bee hive were a medium paced 5mins away. Te papa museum was a flat walkable 20-25mins along the waterfront or by city roads.

We booked a spacious 2 bedroom apartment, full kitchen, dining table, twin beds with flat screen tv, and a double bedroom. Housekeeping was fantastic and daily replenishment of toiletries and kitchen cleaning materials. We required an extra set of towels, and within 3 minutes of our phone call they were knocking at our door with our towels, very prompt. 14th floor apartment was clean and tidy, although I would have to comment the bathroom was small in comparison to the generous size of the apartment - and an extra shelf on the wall would have been welcomed with all our toiletries/makeup etc.

Management services was of a very high standard, Sebstain in particular provided us with first class service, lobby area welcoming, and check in was very quick and efficient. We arrived at 11pm after reception hours, but the booking service provided us with a combination pin that accessed our key cards in a locked box at the covered entrance way, our envelope was clearly identified and was an easy system to use.

My only criticism would be, and this is indicative of most hotels in NZ, there was no free internet service, although throughout Wellington city centre, hot spots were many. Cost for internet 500mb 2hrs $6; 1gb 24hrs $15; 3gb 24hrs $25; 5gb 7days $40; 25gb 28days $65; 50gb 30days $90. Reception did advise they were due to change providers in the next month or two.

Found complex fitted all our needs and would stay here again, close to everything and comfortable, although decor was perhaps a bit plain, but that's just cosmetic. Cost for 3 nights $677nzd, 2bedroom, 4 people. An extra $100 for check out at 8pm at night which we thought was well priced.

Room Tip: As for a room on a higher lever over looking the harbour and views of Te papa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sneezydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed in a studio apartment for the first time recently just for one night. I was impressed with the room. It had everything you'd need for a longer stay (washing machine, microwave, fridge, hot plate). The bathroom was small but new and the shower pressure was 100%. Bed was comfortable.

On the negative side, there was no airconditioning (although it's possible to open the windows) and the room was quite warm. Also, limited Sky channels but overall, I'd definitely stay here again. The location is fantastic, the reception staff really friendly and the room rates very competitive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalTouristNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Really it was just perfect. Well priced, great location and all good. I'll stay here again definitely. Service was friendly and helpful. Compared to its local neighbors, it was great value. There's a good selection of bars and restaurants very close.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoverNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,929 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Johnston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Johnston

Address: 35 Johnston Street | PO Box 10 461, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £67 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Johnston 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Johnston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Johnston Hotel Wellington
Quest On Johnston Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing