We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trinity Hotel
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great customer service, great price. I'll be back. Staff always smiling and went the extra mile more than once during my stay. Great big breakfast at the hotel cafe Eclipse. Best flatwhite on the block. Amazing crab cakes delivered to my room, can't beat that!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snacks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have worked extremely hard to build a good team in the last few months and the results are showing. We believe our barista makes the best coffee in town and our Chef the best poached eggs in Wellington, if not the World! Thank you for your positive comments around our Eclipse Eatery which we are very proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Trinity Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    179
    164
    61
    24
See reviews for
58
205
72
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Wasn't a good start when we pulled up outside the parking area and rang and rang for them to open the roller door but got no answer. Had to go into reception and ask them to open the door. Room was tidy. Television set was old. Curtains didn't really block out the light and the night was interrupted by noise from the street. Location was handy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradical666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. My apologies for the delay in opening the parking area roller door. Reception staff are often busy checking other guests in and sometimes there can be a slight delay. I will investigate this further to ensure we do not have a repeat. The last of our older televisions are being replaced very soon so the hotel will then be complete with brand new televisions. Our location is very handy and one of the main reasons our guests choose to stay with us. Thank you again for your comments and we do hope you stay with us at Trinity Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

we checked in late at night and yet staff was very friendly. they even went out of their way to help us with our concerns. we stayed for 2 days and had no worries at all. the room was very clean, quiet, and in the cbd area. best value for our money!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rizzafdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was to your satisfaction. We do hope to see you again soon at our Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Trinity Hotel. Room was very clean and adequate. Staff friendly .
I would recommend any one to stay here. Quite central to everything. We certainly didn't any complaints.

Room Tip: I would go for a corner suites next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our new housekeeping time are doing an excellent job and we pride ourselves at our 3.5 Qualmark rated central city hotel on cleanliness of rooms, friendly engaging staff and lots of energy! Our location is very good and many of our guests regularly return given our fantastic location. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

well where do i start
the reception people were great i asked for a very late check in and they were very accomodating the restaurant seemed to be under stated and used although all the time that i hate in there the food was delighful and not a problem for any requests
i travelled back in august 09

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beer_entertainment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We do appreciate you taking the time to post this to Trip Advisor. We are delighted our staff were friendly and efficient as we work very hard in ensuring they are all trained to a very high standard. Our Eclipse Eatery is going from strength to strength as we have fantastic staff who produce a very high standard of food and service. We are delighted this has shown through during your stay. Thank you again for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We recently stayed at your Hotel, and had booked two rooms as we were visiting our daughter for her 21st, every member of staff greeted us with a friendly smile and went out of their way to make us feel very welcome. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was extremely tasty, I highly recommend the poached eggs :). Thank you again for a great stay, we will be back. :):):):)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyboopTaipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your most positive feedback! I remember having one or two conversations with you while you were staying and you did seem to be enjoying yourself at our Hotel which is fantastic. We work very hard to ensure our rooms are very clean and comfortable and encourage all our staff to interact with our guests. Our Chef receives regular accolades from our guests regarding his poached eggs. We believe he cooks the best poached eggs in the World and we are very proud of this! We hope you had a great trip back home and we do look forward to meeting you again at our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

While the hotel was reasonable in cost, staff friendly and location superb, we won't return. It was a combination of all the 'small things' (eg room keys not working after a night of being there, inconvenience of having to go into hotel to ask for carpark door to be raised before we could get in, while having car stuck half on road, being told breakfast room was open by reception only to be told it wasn't by waiter etc) that didn't make our stay easy. Travelling with children we need the basics to be easy. Rooms were basic but not necessarily clean. No double glazing meant we heard every noise from the street....from 3am onwards. Two little blow heaters to be plugged in to wall when we needed plugs for electric blankets. One bed with no electric blanket (this is Wellington!!) The price was fair (it was a discounted rate) and staff friendly. However we won't return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. We are delighted you found our Hotel value for money, our staff friendly and the location to your liking. I am disappointed you experienced issues when parking your car. All reception staff are aware of this simple procedure which I have reiterated today. The restaurant has clear signage on the door as to opening hours. My apologies if you were misinformed by a staff member. Regarding the wall plugs, extra multi plugs are available at reception should you have required this. I have addressed all team members involved with your stay. My apologies again for the issues you experienced and I do hope you give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#21 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Hotel

Property: Trinity Hotel
Address: 166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Accommodation, affordable price, central location. A popular CBD hotel in Wellington ideally suited for the Business or Leisure traveler and only 10mins from the Airport. Perfectly situated for your convenience in the heart of Wellington’s entertainment, shopping, arts and business districts and only a short stroll to the Harbour and TePapa. Each of our 60 guest rooms having recently undergone a stylish, soft refurbishment, offer all you would expect and more including; modern tiled bathrooms, wireless high speed broadband, coffee/tea making facilities. SKYTV, radio/alarm clock. same day laundry and dry cleaning, telephone, hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing