We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great escape from busy shopping streets” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Space Place at Carter Observatory

Space Place at Carter Observatory
Ranked #16 of 229 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Space Place at Carter Observatory offers visitors a state of the art, digital planetarium with an almost limitless range of virtual space journeys, along with multi-media exhibits that tell the Maori and European story of New Zealand's southern skies and the role of the stars in navigation. Space Place re-opened in March 2010 as a world class visitor attraction after a multi-million dollar refit. Over its 70 year history it has served as New Zealand's national observatory and this legacy is reflected in a collection of New Zealand astronomical history, including the oldest telescope of its kind operating in New Zealand. Space Place offers a fun learning experience for kids and visitors of all ages - we hope you'll have a blast! Open hours: During school holidays (public): Open: 10am daily, closing at 5.30pm on Monday, Wednesday, Friday & Sunday and at 11pm on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. Space Place is closed on Christmas Day
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great escape from busy shopping streets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Take the Cable Car and have ride to the Observatory to see the wonders of the universe. Perfect activity for rainy days in Wellington.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jussiluukkonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    127
    29
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We saw Saturn!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Wow what an incredible night I had with my mum here. We came for the late night on a beautiful clear Saturday to look through the telescope. We were so lucky, we got to see Saturn and it's rings!! Also always enjoy the shows in the dome. I will definitely be recommending that if you have a clear night, definitely go and have a look through that telescope, we are still spellbound 2 weeks after visiting!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HighestLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We saw the documentary about the first man on the moon which was interesting. Looking around the exhibits later we found it informative, and interesting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukieo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

It is brilliant. Seated in the back couple of rows, my grandchildren were so quiet, I doubted they were there!! We were all enthralled with this visit. The overhead projection of the strs and galaxies was amazing, not to mention, I can still be educated at 74 years old. I could not recommend this enough.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Moggy_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We never actually made it in to see the planetarium show but the museum was free and surprisingly good, we ended up spending a good hour and a half looking around, if your interested in astronomy and space it is a must see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Space Place at Carter Observatory also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Space Place at Carter Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing