We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job nicely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

A simple and basic hotel centrally located in Wellington. Its a pleasant hotel where you can easily come and go as you please without any fuss. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and made me feel very welcome.

The room is plain and neutral with a good sized king bed (I think some other hotels misleadingly call their queen beds, kings) and simile kitchen area which was a nice bonus. The shower pressure was good and the bedding and linen was all very clean.

The only thing I didnt' like was that the bathroom has a fan which runs all the time that the light is on. I appreciate that this is to ensure the bathroom doesn't steam up, but it is a little annoying when not showering. The hotel still uses a physical key rather than a swipe card so you have to be careful to not lose your key.

Parking is all very easy with an onsite car park available for an extra charge. There is also public parking available at the car park next door (not the one across the road) for $3 or so to park from 6.00pm to 8.00am so a very good price.

If you want something simple clean and convenient, and at a good price, then certainly choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlatinumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and provide us with feedback.

I'm really pleased you enjoyed our Super King beds provided in our Studio Deluxe rooms. Since you stay our studio deluxe rooms have been refurbished and now have luxurious fabrics, new furniture and stunning Photographic work from renowned photographer Simon Everiss displayed on the walls.

We would love to welcome you back again soon I'm sure you'll find your next stay even better than the last!

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed in the studio deluxe apartment for five nights. Room was great - very roomy. Twin beds, kitchen, great bathroom. Location is great, very close to shopping and restuarants.Easy to get to Lampton Key. Staff were great, very helpful with anything we need. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwimeggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for providing such a positive review of our rooms and staff.

I'm really happy to hear that you found our location perfect and close to everything and that our staff were friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The rooms are a decent size. 5 minute walk into the CBD. Its nice and quiet in the morning because the location isn't right in the CBD. The rooms are very clean and the room service is great!! Will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bapeisntcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review!

We really located perfectly in the CBD but not on a main street. I'm pleased you found our location quiet and that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for the specific feedback regarding how clean our rooms are, we have a fantastic team of housekeepers who ensure this standard is upheld. I have passed this review on to our head house keeper to present to the staff at their next meeting and the hotel has shouted them morning tea to reward them for gaining such great feedback from a guest. .

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The studio apartment is reasonably spacious and lacks for nothing. Only thing is that the beds are way too soft, like sleeping on jelly. Other than that, special thanks to to Samsara for her exceptional service and warm friendly smile. She made us feel really welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyTracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review and also providing us with specific feedback so that we can improve the services and facilities we provide to our guests.

I'm pleased to hear that once again Samsara our receptionist has provided excellent service to a guest and has received a mention. She is an asset to our team.

Upon receiving your feedback regarding the bed being soft we replaced it immediately with a brand new one so future guests can enjoy a good nights sleep.

We have made lots on improvements to our rooms and common areas since your stay so we'd love to have you back again to see the changes.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Location was perfect, clean ,friendly and sooooo cheap. Would recommend if you are looking for value for your money, Very handy walk to downtown Wellington, restaurants, shopping etc. Room was very clean, a small studio. Just a little noise at night. One of the best value for money hotels that I have stayed in. Very helpful and friendly at the desk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I'm very pleased you found our location close to the CBD and your room was very clean.

We aim to provide affordable accommodation so I'm happy that you thought we were value for money.

We would love to have you visit us again!

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I was working in the Wellington CBD. The Gilmer Serviced Apartments were a great location - 5 minutes walk to work. The room was comfortable and adequate for a short stay. I particularly appreciated the handy car parking - right by the entrance and easily accessible to the motorway. The staff were excellent - always friendly and ready to assist if needed. I've stayed in a number of apartments in Wellington - for the price the Gilmer Apartments offer the best value for me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I'm pleased to hear you found our staff excellent and our rooms comfortable. I'm also pleased to hear you found our pricing affordable.

We have made many changes since you were here and look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in Wellington.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a great hidden gem. It's so close to Lambton Quay and the waterfront. You don't have to climb up Plimmer steps - the hotel staff gave great directions to make it really quick and easy. They were very friendly, polite and helpful. The room was small and had no view but we didn't care as we were only there to sleep. It was clean and tidy and had adequate facilities.

I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review.

I'm pleased to hear our staff were friendly and helpful and that they provided easy instructions to get down to Lambton Quay. To add to this service we now provide all guests who check in during reception hours a map and a print out with step by step instructions on how to get to the lift access. (it even has photos!) We hope this added service makes it even easier for guests to make the most of our central location.

We look forward to your return to our hotel when you are next in Wellington.

Kind regards

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,237 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmer Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmer Apartment Hotel

Address: 10 Gilmer Terrace | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Gilmer Serviced Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: £50 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gilmer Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wellington's vibrant CBD, Gilmer Apartment Hotel is the perfect place to stay a night, a month or even a year! Gilmer offers guests who book direct access to the exclusive Habit Health and Fitness club which boasts a spa, sauna, steam room, salt water pool and excellent gym facilities(located a short walk away) . All guests have access to UNLIMITED FREE WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gilmer Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmer Serviced Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing