We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing in Wellington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 48 Wellington B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing in Wellington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Got this recommendation from a German family we met in Tairua and corresponded directly with Jane. A large house in a quiet part of the city but close enough to walk downtown. Made really welcome from the minute we arrived. A large comfortable room with loads of character. A relaxing feel about the house and if you can engage Jane with her interest in writing about the 1st WW you will have a great time.
For one day at least we left the car on the drive, walked up Mt Victoria and around the city. A couple of good restaurants nearby so we didn't worry about drink and driving. Also walked to the Embassy to watch the Hobbit - where else than Wellington.
I really enjoyed this stay but then the weather was good.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    45
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
93
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

This was a lovely B & B in a quiet location in Wellington. The welcoming we received from Jane was very warm. She gave us a really good tip for food and drink that night and made us feel very much at home.
She is a really interesting person and the themes in the Booklovers are really interesting. The room was really lovely and had some pleasant views over Welly. The bed was really comfortable and set us up for the next day's crossing to Picton. Would love to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

So comfortable, so fabulous! Cookies and wine for guests to help themselves. Tea and coffee facilities in the room - which was HUGE, bed immensely comfortable and both room and en suite immaculately clean!
Almost wall to wall, floor to ceiling with books. Heaven!

Jane was immensely helpful and really friendly. We felt like we were staying with a good friend. Would happily stay here again and again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Wonderful B & B in walking distance to downtown Wellington. The owner, Jane, is a well-known author and the home is (naturally) filled with books. Jane provided maps, tips on restaurants, the museum, etc. Our rooms were lovely and we enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

This is a lovely little b&b, located quite centrally.

Jane, the owner, is very warm and welcoming. She is also a great source of local information, able to recommend restaurants and activities to suit all tastes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westgirl_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Jane's motto is "comfort without the fuss" which is what this place is about. She's not constantly on your shoulder asking what can make your stay better, but is happy to give advice and recommendations if asked. Our room was comfortable with the Kiwi-requisite electric blankets on the bed and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Sherry, wine, and beer (and cookies, which my husband raved about) are always out and available and the classic Kiwi buffet breakfast is supplemented by bacon and eggs cooked to order AT WHATEVER TIME YOU WANT! I loved the books scattered everywhere and felt a little guilty about reading from my e-reader while there. And, it's been said, but yes, the bedside lights are actually designed to read. Yes, it's up a hill and a bit of a walk from City Centre, but this is Wellington and if you want to stay somewhere with a personal touch rather than a big hotel, you will be a bit out of the way. Still, it's an easy walk to Te Papa and the waterfront and the bus does stop across the street to head toward Parliament and other areas of the city a bit further away. Costs of accommodations in Wellington are higher than in much of New Zealand, so don't be put off by the price tag.

Room Tip: We stayed int he Katherine Mansfield room which has an en-suite and is located at the back of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisaAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

My sister and I stayed at Jane's fab residence the night of arrival into nz, Jane was very accomodating with our pending late arrival. Comfy beds, great bath, yum breakie, public transport at the door or walking distance to courtney place and cuba st, or take the mt vic track to oriental bay. We stayed on our last night as we had an early flight out. Again Jane was sooo helpful. Highly recommend Booklovers, as you get a taste of Kiwi hospitality and an accomplished author too.

Room Tip: we had the down stairs room and it was excellent for us, easy access for all our luggage queen bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
1.2 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Booklovers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Booklovers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 123 Pirie Street | Mt Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Booklovers Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Booklovers Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Booklovers b&b
Booklovers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing