We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Booklovers' Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Booklovers' Paradise”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing place whose owner Jane is an excellent host and very interesting to talk to. She is a writer and everywhere there are books for guests to read and even some to take away! The nice touches such as tea on arrival and beer in the guests' fridge make this a very homely and lovely place to stay. The nearest restaurant The Hop Garden is also excellent and not too far to go. Although Booklovers is slightly out of town up a hill, there is a bus stop outside with regular buses passing. If you are lucky like I was Jane will sign a copy of her latest book for you. It is an interesting account of the memories of World War 1 soldiers. I would certainly visit again and would thoroughly recommend it for anyone wanting something a little out of the ordinary.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    46
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
95
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great location in a lovely part of town and a nice walk into the heart of Wellington for the local attractions / restaurants . The host Jane was lovely and was very welcoming and I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

A really nice place to stay, enjoying an excellent breakfast. But also the lady of the house, Jane Tolerton, is a very interesting person and very nice to have a conversation with. Laying at the edge of Wellington the place is very good for making visits to several places in Wellington, the bus stop is in front of the house.

Room Tip: If you are looking for an interesting place, this is the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacques0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I enjoyed my 5 days with Jane very much and my room was lovely ! Breakfast is a treat!!
This home is a must for everyone visiting the interesting city Wellington.Thanks again Jane and I wish you all the best !Saludos from Mexico,Esther

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAngelTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Booklovers B&B and would certainly stay again if we return to Wellington. The room was very comfortable and a pleasant place to come back to after a day of sight seeing. We left on an early ferry our second morning, so only had breakfast one of the two night we stayed. Breakfast was good and Jane kindly gave us a discount for the breakfast we didn't have. Jane was lovely and very helpful, despite feeling under the weather with a cold while we were there. The location was perfect for us, and we were excited to discover that the park right next door is where the "get off the road!" scene was filmed in LOTR. It's a bit of a walk into town, but not a bad one and there are places to eat and grab a drink nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

In our first visit ever to NZ, my wife, 15 years old boy and I spent 2 delightful nights in cold July at Jane´s B&B in a first floor very spacious room, with large comfortable beds for all, large bath tub with plenty of hot water running, enough room for 6 pieces of luggage and still could walk around :-) There was a nice dock in the back with excellent view that we didn´t get to enjoy. It should be great in the summer.

Jane herself prepared a delicious and generous breakfast. Public buses stop in front of the house, taxis arrive promptly and you can have a brisk 10-15 minute walk to the harbor front, Te Papa museum, nice restaurants in Cuba Street (20 minutes).

Enjoy! IDC

Room Tip: Make sure to memorize or write down the door access code so you don´t lock yourself out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan_Leadership
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Legend has it that this is a nice comfortable B&B, friendly host, nice yummy breakfast and cookies etc.....and it turns out to be so true during my stay. Such a wonderful, special accommodation in Wellington. I stayed there for three nights in a room upstairs facing Pirie St. Nice comfortable bed and heat pump keeps me warm and comfortable through the winter nights. The warm and comfy living room is perhaps the place I will have the nicest memory of Wellington. Nice long conversations with other guests, healthy breakfast, and just sitting there enjoying the warmth and glow of the morning sun are just simply fantastic. It was also very nice to meet Jane herself, as well as the friendly helpers of Jane who prepared the breakfasts to the guests during my stay. Would love to go back to Wellington in the near future, and would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinterBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
748 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.5 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Booklovers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Booklovers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 123 Pirie Street | Mt Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Booklovers Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Booklovers Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Booklovers Hotel Wellington
Booklovers b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing