We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, central and full of light” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, central and full of light”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Katrina warmly welcomed us and was very helpful. Room great - very light-filled and well appointed. Loved having a kitchen area to prepare breakfast - the New World supermarket is very close and well stocked. Free wifi was very welcome.
Bed comfortable, room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom spacious and shower good. We were woken by a very noisy party in an adjoining room. Katrina dealt with the issue promptly and assertively. We were impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pukekoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear pukekhoAuckland,
We remember you well and great to hear that your stay in Wellington was good! We thank you for chosing us as your preferred accommodation for your stay in Wellington and for the very positive comments about your experiences here 'At Home'. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kindly yours
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    156
    42
    2
    3
See reviews for
110
383
51
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

At Home is in fabulous location - walking distance to so many restaurants and attractions.The rooms are basic but have all the things you would need. Very clean and tidy and with pleasant decor. Bathroom a bit poky but super clean with decent toiletries.The place has a bit of an unusal vibe being in an office building, however the staff are welcoming and friendly. Parking arrangements are not ideal (ticketed parking station next door that requires you to keep buying tickets or an arrangement with the carwash adjacent if there is space) Would recommend as a good base in Wellington.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_of_Lilador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Lady_of_Lilador,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We really appreciate you taking valuable time to give us your many observations and this great review! We're pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the room, facilities and the area around us. We are working on the car-parking in the vicinity as the recent earthquakes had shut down 2 major multi-storey car-parks along this street , hence the limited space on Wakefield Street. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future. Once again, thank you for your positive comments.

Kind regards
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney NSW Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We arrived late in the evening and stayed in the harbour view queen studio. We were welcomed warmly and the room was modern and very comfortable, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the studio was very clean and well equipped.

We were able to park our car next door, which made for easy access close by. There is a lift to get to the fourth level where at home is located.

The location was great with everything we required within walking distance. It is located close to the Te Papa Museum. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Wellington.

Room Tip: The harbour view queen studio was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hokeypokeysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Hokeypokeysue,
Sounds like you've had a great stopover in Wellington! We are pleased to learn that you liked our hotel and the facilities. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back home very soon.
Graciously yours
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The most comfortable hotel beds i have ever slept in. My first choice for accommodation in Wgtn.
The fully self contained room which kitchen facilities is a big plus for me.
As is the free wi-fi.
Location to the waterfront is perfect.
I absolutely love this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear HBBoy,
Thank you for recommending our hotel and providing such encouraging feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed our location and pleased to know that the facilities offered to you lived up to your expectations. Thank you for pointing out the comfortable beds and the Free Wi-Fi as we are sure many will benefit from your comments. Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm regards
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We recently stayed in the At Home accommodation in Wellington. We were very impressed with the wonderful welcome we received on arrival and the clean, spacious, modern amenities provided. Located within easy walking distance to the harbour, restaurants and super market we had everything we needed at our finger tips. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly return. We chose this accommodation based on the Trip Advisor rating and reviews and we weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Tor A,
Thank you for taking time to give us this gracious review which we are appreciative of! We are glad to have made your stay an enjoyable one! Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you back 'Home'.

Kind regards
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had a week in Wellington and stayed at At Home in a 1 bedroom apartment. We booked this accommodation based on the Tripadvisor rating only. It was a great choice.
The accommodation is spacious, very clean, close to the centre of the city and many restaurants
are within walking distance. The owners are most helpful and friendly.
If in Wellington stay at At Home - it is a easy choice and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Baldivis,
Gracious greetings from At Home Wellington! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to write us a wonderful review! We are pleased to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us and will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Very friendly welcome, large room, comfortable bed, nice bathroom/shower. Convenient location close to Courtenay Place & Te Papa. Secure accommodation on the 4th floor. Extremely clean.

Only thing was no parking, had to park on the street.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ladyoflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Ladyoflux, Thank you for taking valuable time to give us your feedback and this wonderful review! We are pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable time with us and that you found the location and facilities to your liking. In regards to the parking we are sorry if this caused any inconvenience, due to the recent earthquakes parking has become harder than usual. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future!
Kind Regards Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Property: At Home Wellington
Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing