We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern apartments” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Modern apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Modernity in a central city location is the best way to describe this central city apartment. These apartments reflect a spacious and modern style with compact kitchen and spacious en suite bathroom. Presence of comfortable lounge chairs was greatly appreciated. First impression was of clean spacious and modern studio apartment. A basic mix of condiments such as cooking oil and balsamic vinegar were available in the hallway making cooking you own meals easier. The location in central Wellington and close to a great variety of restaurants makes doing your own cooking unlikely. A selection of basic lollies, newspapers and magazines on the same table as the condiments was a thoughtful addition in making things easier for a traveler. The king-size bed was comfortable with an assortment of pillows. Upon registering the duty manager noted that there could be some noise from party goers in the street owing to its central location. While this was the case at 4 am the next day, it was short-lived and not very loud, it could not be considered a negative. The appliances were adequate with pots, pans and compact cook top. Toaster and microwave were also present. There was also a combined washer/dryer which was adequate for a small load. Its location close to the waterfront and the museum is a positive. The recent earthquake had affected their normal parking arrangements. Management was able to put in place adequate parking arrangements for this stay over the weekend reflecting their overall attitude to client service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waddles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Waddles54,
Thank you for recommending our hotel and providing really useful information for all to read. We are happy that you enjoyed our location and pleased to know that the facilities offered to you lived up to your expectations. Thank you for pointing out all the essentials that make things easier for travelers as we are sure many will benefit from your comments. Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    156
    42
    2
    3
See reviews for
110
386
51
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Returned yday from a one-night stay at 'At Home'. There were 5 of us in our party; my daughter & I shared a king room & 3 friends stayed in a queen room with an extra single bed. Our room over-looked the carpark behing Reading Courthey which was fine as we weren't overlooked; there was some traffic noise but then we were staying in the CBD!! Our friends were on the Te Papa / harbour side although their view was really restricted to another apartment block.
We flew in hideously early & Suresh kindly let us in at 8ish to ditch our bags; he gave us a swipe card to get back in & pointed us towards Joe's Garage for breakfast (2 blocks away... recommend it... they catered for a gluten free diet which was great). Similarly, we left our bags behind until our late-ish flight home yesterday. They also made a much appreciated effort to get our rooms ready early - thanks guys!
Couldn't fault the accommodation at all. Lovely rooms, comfortable contemporary furnishings and a stunning bed. Great to actually see a small oven instead of just a hotplate & microwave.
2 minutes walk to Te Papa and Courtney Place.... New World 2 blocks away and any Macca's fans will be pleased to know there's a set of Golden Arches 30 seconds away!! An easy walk to Cuba Street and Lambton Quay.
Katrina & Suresh were lovely & couldn't have been more accommodating; it's called 'At Home' for good reason... I loved the size of the place; all rooms lead off one central corridor with the manager's office 'overseeing' everything. Feels very secure being on the 4th (top) floor of a commercial building. My daughter didn't want to leave and struck up a friendship with the smallest member of their family.
The free Wi-Fi was great as has been previously mentioned.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend At Home to anyone; book well ahead though as I get the impression that they're permanently chocca.
Look forward to my next visit :o)

Room Tip: I think rooms overlooking the harbour would be quieter; having said that I preferred our roomier kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukkird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear ukkird,

Thank you for your detailed and valuable feedback. It is indeed very heartening to know that we could provide you a memorable experience and we are truly honoured and inspired by your recommendation.

We are glad that you and your family have had a fabulous stay with us and enoyed Wellington as much as we have enjoyed having you with us! Skar had so much fun when you were here; we have no doubt that he misses you as he keeps sitting outside the door you were in and thank you for taking care of him :)

Once again thank you for your fantastic comments and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was a very well located place right opposite the Te Papa museum. There was a washing machine and dryer right in the room and they were extremely helpful in their suggestions. I would give it 5 stars except they say after midnight to ring their bell to get in and I alerted them to my late arrival. Unfortunately nobody answered. Since it was after midnight I was lucky that the cab driver stayed around ir that could have been very difficult since it was my first city to visit in New Zealand and did not know the country code to use. The cab driver called the hotel number on his cell phone and they let me in. Except fpr that I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear robw17,
Sounds like you've had a great stopover in Wellington! We are pleased to learn that you liked our hotel and the facilities. We sincerely appreciate your comments regarding getting into the hotel after hours. After 5.30pm and throughout the weekend, guests have to contact us via the intercom which is located in the entrance of the building and there are clear instructions as to how to reach us. Since we live here, we are here 24 hours and we understand that an incorrect apartment may have been contacted in error, hence our not receiving your call. We apologise for any confusion or inconvenience due to this.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Graciously yours
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Katrina warmly welcomed us and was very helpful. Room great - very light-filled and well appointed. Loved having a kitchen area to prepare breakfast - the New World supermarket is very close and well stocked. Free wifi was very welcome.
Bed comfortable, room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom spacious and shower good. We were woken by a very noisy party in an adjoining room. Katrina dealt with the issue promptly and assertively. We were impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pukekoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear pukekhoAuckland,
We remember you well and great to hear that your stay in Wellington was good! We thank you for chosing us as your preferred accommodation for your stay in Wellington and for the very positive comments about your experiences here 'At Home'. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kindly yours
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

At Home is in fabulous location - walking distance to so many restaurants and attractions.The rooms are basic but have all the things you would need. Very clean and tidy and with pleasant decor. Bathroom a bit poky but super clean with decent toiletries.The place has a bit of an unusal vibe being in an office building, however the staff are welcoming and friendly. Parking arrangements are not ideal (ticketed parking station next door that requires you to keep buying tickets or an arrangement with the carwash adjacent if there is space) Would recommend as a good base in Wellington.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_of_Lilador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Lady_of_Lilador,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We really appreciate you taking valuable time to give us your many observations and this great review! We're pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the room, facilities and the area around us. We are working on the car-parking in the vicinity as the recent earthquakes had shut down 2 major multi-storey car-parks along this street , hence the limited space on Wakefield Street. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future. Once again, thank you for your positive comments.

Kind regards
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney NSW Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We arrived late in the evening and stayed in the harbour view queen studio. We were welcomed warmly and the room was modern and very comfortable, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the studio was very clean and well equipped.

We were able to park our car next door, which made for easy access close by. There is a lift to get to the fourth level where at home is located.

The location was great with everything we required within walking distance. It is located close to the Te Papa Museum. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Wellington.

Room Tip: The harbour view queen studio was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hokeypokeysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Hokeypokeysue,
Sounds like you've had a great stopover in Wellington! We are pleased to learn that you liked our hotel and the facilities. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back home very soon.
Graciously yours
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The most comfortable hotel beds i have ever slept in. My first choice for accommodation in Wgtn.
The fully self contained room which kitchen facilities is a big plus for me.
As is the free wi-fi.
Location to the waterfront is perfect.
I absolutely love this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear HBBoy,
Thank you for recommending our hotel and providing such encouraging feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed our location and pleased to know that the facilities offered to you lived up to your expectations. Thank you for pointing out the comfortable beds and the Free Wi-Fi as we are sure many will benefit from your comments. Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm regards
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Property: At Home Wellington
Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing