We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AT HOME”
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

we recently stayed at At Home Wellington! great choice for us as a couple who wanted to be close to everything. Comfortable good sized room, in room kitchen, laundry, balcony overlooking Te Papa. We were able to get a shuttle the day we left, and that made it quite easy to get to the airport for our early flight. There were lots of restaurants close by and a New World Supermarket just two blocks away to buy groceries!! If we were in town again, this is where we would stay!

Room Tip: We had the "B" room which faces Te Papa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank exit63terrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear exit63terrace,
Thank you! What a lovely review! We are really happy that you enjoyed our location and in-room facilities and hope that you felt right "At Home" with us. Hope to see you again soon! Hayley & Dwayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

My new favourite place to stay in Wellington. Very unassuming but oh so comfortable. Easy walk to great choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Clean and great to have the option to cook a simple dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamBick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear PamBick,
Wow, what a review, thank you! We love the opening line, "My new favourite place to stay in Wellington", excellent, that's what we aim for! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Hayley & Dwayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We spent the last night of our three week NZ North Island holiday here. The room is spacious, clean and well appointed.The bed in particular is excellent, although the pillows were too soft for me.

We did find our room a little bit noisy as it was facing Wakefield St.

The location is fabulous due to its proximity to the harbour, museum, shopping & restaurants.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing Wakefield Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie-holidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Rosie-holidaylover,
Thank you for taking the time to place a review! We are so pleased that you found our location to be fantastic. Being in such close proximity to everything is a real bonus! Unfortunately being in the heart of the city can mean that the street noise can be slightly distracting at times, we hope this didn't disrupt your stay too much & we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Hayley & Dwayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here recently for 3 nights (the first 3 of my honeymoon) and we loved it, could easily have stayed longer. The room was comfortable and had a great kitchenette and a washing machine/dryer, and we were given a bottle of lovely NZ sparkling wine which was a lovely surprise!
It's in a great spot to explore Wellington (such a beautiful city!) close to restaurants, the bay, the museum etc. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awful_in_aqua86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear awful_in_aqua86,
Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed staying "At Home" for part of your honeymoon! Congratulations again! We hope to see you back in Wellington some time soon. Hayley & Dwayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Clean, comfortable with all the creature comforts of home - you can't ask for more when you're traveling. The location, just across the road from Te Papa museum, and countless restaurants and cafes, cannot be beat. The amenities that come with the room such as the washing machine & dryer and the little kitchenette as well as the free WiFi are other plus points. The hosts too are friendly and offered tips on where to eat and what to see/do. Loved it! No complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Purplefrog40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Purplefrog40,
Thank you for taking the time to place a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location so convenient! Isn't it wonderful to base yourself in the heart of the city yet come back to your hotel at the end of the day with all the comforts from "At Home" at your fingertips. We hope to see you again soon, Hayley & Dwayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The accommodation was very clean, comfortable and well equipped and the bed was excellent. I found this a very strange place to stay! As a single traveller I felt it was very lonely, not like a hotel where you have common areas, ie lounge, bar, dinning room etc, to see/meet other people. I never say a single sole the whole time I was there. It was like a ghost hotel. Also, it is away from the busy streets, again, not suitable for a person on their own. I had two hours to lose before going to the airport to catch my flight home, which in a hotel I would have sat in the lounge and had tea, but here I was just shown the door! Without providing any of these facilities, I felt it was very expensive. It was very comfortable but I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: A room facing the harbour is away from the road and therefore quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BFCLSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear BFCLSC,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you found our accommodation to be very clean, comfortable and well equipped with an excellent bed. We pride ourselves on attention to detail and we're pleased you had a comfortable stay "At Home", as this is very important to us. You are correct when you say that we are not like a hotel where you have common areas. With only 12 rooms we aim to offer intimate, personalized service that makes you feel like you’re staying at home, not in a large hotel. We are very sorry that you felt you were "shown the door" on your day of departure. Due to our small size it is very difficult to extend late check-outs, but we are always more than happy to look after your bags while you fill in a couple of hours at Te Papa, or in one of Wellington's many cafes, browsing the shops, or strolling along the waterfront - all within 1-2 blocks of "At Home'. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

location, location, location. Short walks to museum, theatres, restaurants and shopping make this an ideal place to settle in for a stay in the city. Kitchenettes and washer dryer make it easy to refresh for a trip to the south island after touring the north. Hosts are friendly and helpful with parking and other needs. The nearby iSite visitor center was a big plus with discount theatre tickets and city attractions.We made good use of the New World market for breakfast fruits and pastries. If you like Italian food Nicoletti's was a definite find.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phynanze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear phynanze,
Thank you very much for your kind review! We have to agree, our location is pretty special with all of Wellington's attractions on our doorstep. We also pleased that you found our apartments and facilities to your liking and we hope to welcome you home again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,451 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
2,004 reviews
0.5 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £93 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing