We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its name!”
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lives up to its name!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Excellent quality in a great location, with helpful hosts. The bed was comfortable and the mini kitchen well thought out. Provision of a washer dryer is especially welcome to folk who are touring round NZ. There are loads of cafes and restaurants nearby and proximity to Te Papa museum was most welcome on a wet and windy day!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joandjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear joandjak,
Thank you very much for your kind words! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us & we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Regards,
Hayley & Dwayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    166
    45
    2
    3
See reviews for
117
413
56
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, Lincs, UK
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived after a 10 minute walk from the Bluebridge Ferry terminal but we did struggle to locate the address on the top floor (4th) of an office block. However the location itself is very secure and safe once inside but we would still have liked to find a safe deposit box in the room.

We had a queen studio (Room F) that was as we expected except that we hadn't realised we would be quite so overlooked from the neighbouring apartment block. As we were out all day and the weather too windy to use our balcony it wasn't too much of a problem to us.

The apartments have everything from washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave, fridge/freezer, good wifi, good ensuite, comfy king bed, sky tv etc. and are within easy walking distance of all the main streets, shops, New World supermarket (24x7) and restaurants.

Minor problems were whistling noise from windows, no safe in room, occasional noise from adjoining apartment.

There is an ample supply of bathroom toiletries but a somewhat meagre welcome pack for a boutique style apartment for the $ per night rate.

Overall a good choice if like us we ate lunch out whilst enjoying the sights then settled in to a cozy supper with wine from New World.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank djcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear djcj,
Thanks for taking the time to place a review. Our location on the 4th floor is quite unassuming & discrete, which is in line with our boutique style. We are pleased that you found it to be safe & secure. Thanks for your suggestion regarding safe deposit boxes, but we do not feel they are necessary given that unless you are staying here & checked in, no-one can access the floor without the managers permission (in fact, at night there are three secure stages of entry). Being contained to one floor also means that we (the managers) can see just who is coming and going at most times.
We are pleased that you found the apartment itself to be comfortable & well-equipped, but we are a little confused about what you're referring to as a 'welcome pack'? We supply fresh milk on arrival along with an array of coffee, tea & hot chocolate. We also supply complimentary laundry powder for the washing machine, bathroom amenities including liquid hand soap shampoo, conditioner, bath & shower foam, a shower cap and hand/body lotion. We would appreciate if you could email us at admin@athomewellington.co.nz to let us know what else you would have liked included.
Thanks again, Hayley & Dwayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great location, great layout with mini kitchen and washer/dryer, around the corner from Te Papa museum and one block from some of the best restaurants and bars in the city.

Free unlimited internet, not common in many places is a great plus. Cinema & coffee shopsalso 100 feet away.

Room was quiet, bed good and even some American tv thrown in.

Cant fault it, worth every penny.

Room Tip: Doesnt matter, although the entry door might produce occasional noise in first two units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear DP11,
Many thanks for your kind words & great review! You have commented on many of our key features - location, facilities (in-room kitchen and washing machine/dryer), FREE unlimited WiFi, and the full range of SKY channels on offer, so thank you very much. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay "At Home" and hope to see you again!
Regards, Hayley & Dwayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights in "At Home Wellington" and were very satisfied with the experience. We had an executive studio with a nice view of the Te Papa museum. It was very comfortable and we were super happy with the fact that there was a washer/dryer in our room (which will be handy for anyone making a trip through New Zealand and stopping in Wellington before or after taking the ferry). The studio had a balcony with views over to Te Papa, but we couldn't really enjoy it as it was too windy.

The location was excellent, right across from the Te Papa museum, across from a cinema and very close to all of the main restaurants.

If you're travelling by car then you'll have to pay a bit extra for parking (located very close by).

Room Tip: I would advise taking a room with a view of Te Papa; I think there is a building site located nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pr_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Pr_review,
Thank you for your review and helpful information for other travellers. The view from the queen studios across to Te Papa is great and it highlights how very closely we are located to our national museum, a major drawcard for anyone visiting Wellington. We are pleased that you found the washer/dryer handy, many guests love being able to catch up on washing before heading onwards!
Regards, Hayley & Dwayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We picked At Home Wellington for two reasons - 1) the #1 ranking on Trip Advisor and 2) the facilities it offered. We were delighted with the kitchenette and washer/dryer. We couldn't have asked for a better location as everything was a short walk from the hotel, with Te Papa (a wonderful wonderful museum) directly behind and a street away. There is a massive supermarket a few blocks away where we got supplies for breakfast. Our room was large, with a balcony whose windows allowed in a ton of light. The one drawback was that one of the nights we stayed was New Year's Eve and some of our fellow guests made merry into the early hours of the morning. Otherwise we were delighted with At Home Wellington.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edgecombek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Edgecombek,
Thank you for posting such a great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in NZ!
Regards, Hayley & Dwayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed twice in December on our way down to Nelson and again on our way back up to Auckland and this place was perfect in every way. The location is fantastic with TePapa directly opposite and so close to all the restaurants, bars and the waterfront.

The rooms had everything we needed including a washer and dryer! The balconies were huge and we had a Queen studio on the first trip and a King room on the 2nd one. The King room was much larger and both had good sized balconies. I like the fact that the rooms were well thought out with the fridge at waist level, making it easy to open and close without bending. The beds are very comfortable and the best sleep we had throughout our trip in New Zealand. It's the small things that matter.

Hayley and Dwayne were excellent on both occassions and were very helpful (especially with parking) as it can be tricky. Wellington has many one way streets and they saved us a lot of time! Will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear vikash D,
Wow! Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed both stays "At Home" recently & we look forward to seeing you again.
Regards, Hayley & Dwayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My family and I recently stayed at "at home Wellington" and enjoyed it very much. The beds were fantastic, the location was perfect. The room had everything we needed, dishwasher, washing machine, pots, pans and the kitchen sink!
No need for a car everything is in walking distance. Wellington has so many things you can do with kids. Great restaurants very close by. We will be back! Thanks to Hayley and Dwayne for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravellingfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear happytravellingfam,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & you found your room to be well-equipped with everything including the kitchen sink! Wellington is a great place to bring the family, as you say, there is so much to do with kids (young & old!). We hope to see you again!
Regards, Hayley & Dwayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Property: At Home Wellington
Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing