We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At Home in Wellington”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“At Home in Wellington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in Wellington staying at the At Home. The location is very good -- close to most of the things we needed -- could walk to restaurants, the Te Pape and other sites. The New World grocery was a great place to get a light supper which we ate in the "dining area" of the room. Bathroom was lovely spacious and clean. Just a small warning to other Americans who might not find the washing machine up to their expectations. I majorly overloaded the machine -- got too many clothes too wet but not clean and was lucky not to have started a fire when the machine tried to dry the mess. A pair of slacks and a t-shirt is a full load!! Just understand this before you start the washing! If you have major laundry to do (we were 7 days into trip and leaving for an 8 day cruise thus major laundry expectations) perhaps it would be better to go to a laundry with larger machines. The hosts were super nice and held our luggage while we went to the museum and visited around town before boarding our ship. All in all we had a lovely time in Wellington.

Room Tip: Small hotel (12 rooms) and both of our rooms were the same and very nice -- we overlooked the museum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowiememe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Bowiememe,
Thanks for the excellent review and helpful tips. We're delighted that you enjoyed our location and facilities. We apologize that our in-room laundry facilities caused a bit of strife for you. We have washing machine/dryer combos in all apartments so they are little different and smaller (and unfortunately a bit trickier to operate) than normal stand alone machines, but we are on hand to help if anyone is having difficulties. We have also recently purchased a couple of clothes drying racks to lend out to guests who have large loads of laundry to get through, and this has been very well received. Thanks again & we trust you enjoyed your cruise!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    160
    43
    2
    3
See reviews for
111
398
53
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We chose At Home because of its Trip Advisor rating. It was not as I had expected – which says more about my research skills than it does about the hotel.

We arrived quite late after a long flight in from Western Australia. Manager Dwayne Watkinson was expecting us and on hand to welcome us and show us our room. Because of the time difference between our start and finish, even though it was midnight in Wellington, it was only 7pm by “body clock”, so on a somewhat windy Wellington night (nothing surprising there) we wanted to go for a walk to orient ourselves and wind down. A strange request, perhaps, but Dwayne was most accommodating in suggesting where we should wander around. A nice touch.

The hotel is small, only 12 rooms on the 3rd floor of a relatively new building. The rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable. Because of this quite intimate set up it rather does feel like home. There’s not the hustle and bustle of a larger “standard” hotel, and that’s quite welcoming. I’ve been figure out what makes the place stand out, and I think it’s that it IS different, and homely – so to that end it is well named and well positioned in the market place.

Once you get the hang of the somewhat curvy streets of Wellington, it turns out that At Home is quite centrally located. It’s right next door to Te Papa, close to Cuba St, and just over a kilometre from Lambton Quay.

I inadvertently took our room key with us when we left – the room key which also has the building security/access tags. A quick email to Hayley Watkinson easily resolved the issue – we agreed that I would bring it back in a week when we were back in Wellington (we weren’t staying at At Home the second time because it was fully booked). No big deal, but all the same resolved in a friendly easy manner – much like the overall stay.

Very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Peter C,
So we were not as you expected? Excellent! We do like it when we are a pleasant surprise :)
What a superb review, thank you. We are particularly happy that you felt "at home", that's what we aim for so it is a huge compliment to us! Thanks also for popping back in with the key on your return to Wellington, greatly appreciated. We hope to see you both again in the future!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We chose At Home mostly because of its proximity to Te Papa. To our delight it was also right next door to our Thrifty rental car return place - and a convenient petrol station - plus walking distance to a lot of great restaurants and attractions. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable and the wifi is excellent: real benefit. The managers were friendly and outgoing and really couldn't be more helpful.

We stayed here a few nights and it was lovely to cater for ourselves and have a washing machine and dryer partway through our trip. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Leanne D,
Thank you very much for the 5/5 rating! We are so delighted that you enjoyed our prime location. It really is so easy to get around to see all of the sights from where we are, and yes it's a real bonus having Thrifty Car Rentals right next door - very convenient! It's great that you made good use of the free WiFi and laundry facilities in your room too, both very popular with the majority of our guests. Hope to see you back in the "coolest little Capital" very soon!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
512 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect ! The room is nice, we slept very well.....what do you want more....? The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The wifi is super ( not always in N.Z. ). We could skype and have facetime as much as we wanted ! We hope to come back ! Te Papa Museum is great at just 5 minutes walking. We hope to come back !

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Hugo R,
Thank you very much for the terrific review! We hope you come back too!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I asked Paul Carberry from New Zealand in Depth for a place in Wellington, near the centre where we could leave the car cheaply, perhaps cater for ourselves and relax, he did it again. “At Home” in Wellington looks out over the Te Papa National Museum, has $10 a day parking not 100 metres away, a gym, super management who have great advice on places to visit & eat, and great facilities to cook a meal (supermarket just up the road) or just make an espresso for yourself before hitting the town, cinema over the other way from the museum and enough restaurants to choose a different one every night for a very long time! Laundry facilities foc (always useful ) Highly recommended, Paul yet again you have come up with the goods!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear BigDen55,
Wow, thank you very much the wonderful compliments! Your travel agent clearly knows his stuff! We are so happy that we ticked all the boxes for you & hope to see you back in Wellington sometime in the future!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
640 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Looking for good value accommodation in Wellington stumbled across these wonderful appartments. They are well located and well appointed. They are comfortable and well equipped. The staff live on the premises so are able to ensure cleanliness and responsiveness alongside privacy of having your own apartment. The view was also good opposite the Te Papa museum.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear njhharrogate,
We are very pleased that you stumbled across us, and even more pleased that you found our apartments to be comfortable, clean and well equipped! The view towards Te Papa is quite impressive too isn't it! Thanks again for sharing your experience!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The studio was very clean, spacious, bright and very well equipped. From our balcony we had a nice view to the harbour. We found it quiet, and in a good location for the supermarket, quayside, Courtney Place and the Te Papa Museum. An added bonus for us was being able to return our hire car to Thrifty which happened to be next door.
The staff were helpful and friendly , and I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Anne w,
Thanks for placing a review, we really appreciate your kind words and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Property: At Home Wellington
Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing