We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed in the Queen Studio for 2 nights. After visiting a few other hotels/motels across NZ during this holiday I was struck by how secure and homelike these apartments felt. The location is perfect- in town close to the museum, restaurants and the New World supermarket at the end of the street. The room was modern with trendy decor. The kitchenette is well set up with stovetop, oven, microwave and fridge. There is also a combo washer/dryer in the room which is useful after a bit of traveling. The room provides organic fairtrade teas and coffees which is a nice touch. The rooms are fairly quiet with no noise from the city at all and only minor sound from the neighbouring room. The only minor issue is that there is no onsite carpark- however there is an option to park a car down the road in a public carpark for $10/day using the voucher from the apartments. The loading bay out the front can be used for 5 minutes for luggage transfers. The managers live onsite and were very friendly and easy going.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Momofan,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, and a great one at that! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have kindly shared your experience with other travellers. We hope to see you again soon!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    164
    45
    2
    3
See reviews for
114
406
56
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hayley & Dwayne run these apartments which are at the top of an office building. As a result you get a very secure feeling staying there because no-one can get in. Dwayne was the most helpful man and I can imagine everyone feels that way about him. The apartment was modern, spotlessly clean, well equipped. We stayed 3 nights and it really does feel like you 'live' there, not just 'staying'. Perfect location, very close to Te Papa, lots of really good restaurants.

A walk to get to the city centre but what better way to see somewhere than walk, plenty of shops to see along the way. Also there is a Reading Theatre very close, if we had been there another day we would have gone to see a movie. Shops around the Theatre are a bit run down though.

Has a washing machine that is a combo drier also but we found by putting the airer on the balcony everything dried, I suppose it would be different in wet or cold weather.

Highly recommend it for any stay in Wellington.

Room Tip: Just explain to Dwayne what you would like and he will help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1navajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear 1navajo1,
Thank you very much for the incredible review! We are over the moon that you felt "At Home" & Dwayne was delighted to be able to assist in whatever way he could. We hope to see you again soon!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Perfect location in downtown Wellington. Could walk to sights we wanted to see.

They had parking lot that was used by hotel, 10 dollars a day. Was close by, so easy to deal with. There was spot in front of hotel so we could unload bags, then just park.

Nice size room with little kitchen area and small sitting area. Ensuite private bathroom has shower, was adequate size.

Kitchen had small fridge, dishwasher, small stove, microwave and stovetop. Also tea and coffee station,

Free wireless. Small patio off of sitting area.

There was also small washer/dryer in one. Good for small amount of laundry. If you have large amounts just go to laundromat.

Clean. Some street noise, but it's is a city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintravel1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Vintravel1993,
Thank you for your great review and useful account of the facilities and services we provide! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards,
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were travelling with children and only had one night yet management were extremely helpful. They had organised a babysitter on Easter Sunday (which we ended up cancelling as we wanted to take the children with us) and recommended a fabulous restaurant and thoughts for the next mornings activities. The rooms were clean, well set up and we felt very comfortable. The hotel is very well located - walking distance to a number of great cafes, shops and Te Papa. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tans3437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Tans3437,
Thanks for your kind words. It was no trouble for us to organise the babysitter (and also no trouble to cancel when you decided to take the children out to dinner with you). We're glad you enjoyed our recommendations for your short stay in Wellington too!
Kind regards,
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

At Home Wellington is a group of apartments at the top of an office building. We had a bit of trouble figuring out how to get into this secure building, but when we called the hotel's phone, Duane whisked us up the elevator and made us feel at home. After that, it was easy. We were just around the corner from the Te Papa museum and the Wellington waterfront, and a short walk from good, reasonably priced restaurants. The apartment was spacious, clean, well furnished, and comfortable, and an excellent choice for our stay. Thanks, Trip Advisor reviewers!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear SimiSue,
We really appreciate your lovely review! We're sorry you found it a bit difficult to access the building, but delighted that Dwayne was able to help you out. We're only ever a phone call away! Thanks again!
Hayley & Dwayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
321 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel is centrally located, within short walking distance of most sights, restaurants and bars. Stayed in a studio room which was quite big, had a fully equipped kitchen (including dishwasher), nice balcony and free wifi. As a guest you also have access to a great gym in the building.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Nathalie D,
Thank you very much for posting a review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay!
Regards,
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

the Room was comfortable , clean and available with a washing machine , dishwasher , refrigerator and a water heater for making tea and coffee , oven , iron and ironing board , and the bathroom is clean and has a shower and a hair dryer , and Balcony with a table and two chairs , I mean the room was like a small house
The hotel manager jovial and collaborator
But you must take notice that you should determine the period in which you wish to book the room, where I booked for five days , but I finished my work early and i told the hotel manager that I would checkout one day early, and he said its ok, but I was surprised that they cut a full refund for five nights, I spent only four nights and they told me that the hotel policy requires that i should tell them of any change before 48 hours , otherwise the full amount will cut

Room Tip: i dont have any idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0saif0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear 0saif0,
Thanks for taking the time to review "At Home Wellington City". It sounds like you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed all of the home comforts provided in your room which we are very pleased about. In terms of your early departure, unfortunately you gave us less than 48 hours notice, in fact it was around 8pm the night before when you advised us, which severely limited our chances of being able to re-sell your cancelled night. It's for this reason that we had to charge you for your cancellation. We hope you can understand.
Kind regards,
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Property: At Home Wellington
Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing