We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for some, not for me”
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for some, not for me”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The accommodation was different to what I expected for the price. I paid $199 for twin bed room. I did not realise that it is a boutique hotel above offices. That is a first experience. The room was modern, very clean and had everything needed and more - an actual cooktop stove, not just a microwave, for home-cooked meals; a small sitting area inside; a small
balcony with outdoor setting. Our balcony overlooked a carpark and graffiti-ed wall - again not what I expected as thought most reviews mentioned harbour views.
I would not stay here again but recommend for location, cleanliness, very helpful, obliging managers & cooking/dishwasher/washing machine features if those are high on list of priorities.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WellNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear WellNell,
Thanks very much for sharing your feedback and placing a review. We're sorry that our unique style wasn't to your liking. You stayed in a king studio (set up as a twin with 2 x single beds). These rooms face Wakefield Street, so there are no harbour views. In fact, we only have one harbour view room which is a queen studio on the other side of the building. We're delighted however that you found the room to be modern and well equipped with everything you needed to create a home away from home!
Regards,
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    165
    45
    2
    3
See reviews for
115
411
56
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Warm and clean. Convenient location. Bed comfortable. Toiletries nice. Mirror lighting in bathroom welcome as often hard to see make-up in other hotels. Staff helpful. Weather was too wet to make use of the balcony which looked nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank han024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear han024,
Thanks very much for placing a great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
Hayley & Dwayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Booked here based in TripAdvisor reviews. Was not disappointed. I was ready for the office-condo feel. It was worth it. This place had a boutique feel to it and feels like it's your own condo. Great rooms, very clean. Full kitchen and laundrette with soap provided. Noticed a 'common table' complete with tour books and other cooking extras. Close to the downtown core and directly opposite the Te Papa museum. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

+ Convenient location. Close to restaurants, car rental, and attractions.
+ Friendly staff.
+ All the amenities required for an extended stay.

- Only qualm would be the carpet in the room looked and smelt a little haggard, perhaps a good cleaning would do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear RobS2011,
Thank you so much for the outstanding review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our unique set-up with all of the comforts of home. You have mentioned our information table which many guests enjoy. We provide the daily newspaper along with recent magazines for guests to read, a fun treat jar, restaurant menus, brochures, a couple of travel guides and a few basic cooking condiments such as salt, pepper and oil, plus many guests leave items behind for others to use which is a lovely touch. You have mentioned the carpet in your room needing a bit of attention. Can you email us at admin@athomewellington.co.nz to let us know which room you stayed in so we can have a closer look? Many thanks.
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great location with a very nice room though kind of small. The harbour view was great, there is plenty of space at the balcony, close proximity to a grocery store and the downtown Wellington. The staff treats you like family and always make you feel welcome like home.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with the harbour view on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOngSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear JamesOngSg,
Thank you for the positive review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were made to feel welcome during your stay with us.
Kind regards,
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I liked me last experience here, so I booked it again. I was not disappointed, even with the change of ownership, it is still lovingly managed and maintained at high standard. I stayed at apartment B, was checked in by the friendly couple Hayley and Duane, who are looking after the place while the owners are away in Thailand. They own a very lovely puppy who welcomed me in every time I come "home". I like everything about the apartment, clean, spacious and has a good kitchen and washing machine. Bed is very comfortable and the balcony offers a nice view of Te papa museum. It is a very close walk to Cuba street mall, and the nearest supermarket for food supplies. I am happy to say, this place will continue to be my "Home" in my future visit to Wellington.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear la_speranza,
Thanks for staying "At Home" again! We are pleased you enjoyed your return visit with us & it was great to meet you! Looking forward to welcoming you back again next time!
Regards,
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taranaki NZ
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently stayed here for 4 nights. Location was fantastic, best point would have to be the way the sun streamed into the rooms through the day, this is a bit of a luxury at this time of year of course but really was lovely. The rooms were lovely, warm and comfortable. Walls were very thin, and windows rattled and shook in the wind. And a lot of outside noise, sirens passing and a school ball was on over the road at TePapa which created a lot of very loud noise in the middle of night. In my opinion the rooms could have been cleaner, the bathroom draw had the previous guests toiletries in in, the washing machine looked like it hadn't been cleaned around the floor of in months, and the toilet was difficult to flush. Room servicing was done but brief. Bed roughly made towels replaced and that's it.
Hosts were nice and friendly, they did have a very cute little dog, but that got annoying when it started hanging off our clothes and shoelaces etc.
all in all it was nice, but I've stayed in a lot better for a similar price or less.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeknaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear jeknaki,
Thanks for your review! It's pleasing to hear that you found your apartment to be lovely, warm and comfortable (the sun streaming in is a real bonus isn't it?). Thanks for your comment regarding the windows rattling in the wind, we will have that checked next time we have a windy day and get that sorted for future guests. We are disappointed that you found 1 or 2 shortfalls in the cleaning. This is not our usual standard and has been addressed. In terms of servicing, we make the bed, replace towels if required, clear away rubbish, clean the toilet and wipe down surfaces. In your case we actually vacuumed one day as well as we noticed tiny bits of tissue all over the floor, presumably from a tissue that accidently went through the wash with your clothes. Also sorry that our puppy got a bit irritating. He's very enthusiastic and loves people. We realise that not everyone's a dog person so we do try to gauge each guests reaction as early as possible. He took a shining to you guys and even spent a bit of time in your room which he loved :)
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If for some reason you have ever had the desire to sleep overnight in an office building .. this is your chance. Great location, very nice room though bit small, kitchenette; no front desk per se, but there is a back room office up some steps. It somehow all works, worked out very well for us but you may need to park at a muffler shop several doors down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1992redzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear 1992redzilla,
Thanks for your candid comments! We're so pleased that everything worked well for you! We do have a unique style of accommodation, so yes - quite different, which is a compliment, so thank you! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,852 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Property: At Home Wellington
Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing