We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room at Great Price!”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Room at Great Price!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Had a nice corner harbour view room at Rydges Wellington. Staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is awesome - what a selection!!!! Room also had a small balcony, so was nice to have the door open for some fresh air.
Hotel on the parliment side of town and not a lot of eating establishments open on public holiday but we did not starve. Ordered room service one night and it was really nice, only thing I would say is room needs a 'wee' table and two chairs to sit at. I cleared the desk and ate my dinne therer looking out over the harbour but hubby had to have his on his knee in the armchair. If they had had one more desk chair he could have squeezed in under the desk also as it is extra long, but there is room (with a bit of furniture arranging) for a 'cafe' table and two chairs considering the room had a fully functional kitchen. Over all the hotel is still within easy walking distance to everything and the railway station is just a minute walk down on the corner so extremely good for the interisland ferry shuttle which leaves from there for $2. Thought this hotel was very good for price paid

Room Tip: If you can get harbour view - nice to just sit and watch the 'boats' go by......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hangar2jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor and the harbour view rooms on any in Wellington are fantastic. Your comments on the seating arrangements in the Hotel rooms is correct and something we are looking at for the next refurbishment of the Hotel. It is always tricky in creating space verse furniture in a room, however with new design of furniture that is available I believe that it can be done very well.
Look forward to welcoming you back to Wellington to enjoy the city in the near future
Regards Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    762
    255
    65
    18
See reviews for
296
775
78
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel is just perfect in term of sleep quality and location. It's very convenience to walk to harbour where people normally enjoying sea breeze, or kayaking/cycling/swimming on the evening. I got it on promotion price and turns out it's a 2 x queen bedroom. A bit too much for one person staying.

The service was very fast, and all staffs are very friendly. No complain at all. They even give you some advices for travelling to some areas and able to point some shops which normally sell what you need.

Was here for business purpose for about a week. So gym is important for me. Too bad the in-house gym not available (but Cardio room is available). As a service they will give you a complimentary pass to CityFitness (15 minutes walk). And there is no limit number of visitor from this hotel, you can just visit the gym anytime you want. Wish they informed me earlier about complimentary gym access, not after third day of staying then I aware of this.

To note: Sometimes it could be too freezing to walk 15 minutes before u reach gym in the afternoon (Autumn/winter). But I guess it is not a big deal if it's spring/summer.

Another thing is the internet access could be very expensive if you don't want to trouble yourself keep asking 20 minutes complimentary internet access in the lobby. 20 minutes is just way too short and finishes before you manage to get a tour booking.

Other than that everything just fine and nice. This hotel is the best if you are taking holiday which don't need much internet access and gym to fill up your free time.

Room Tip: I saw there are some rooms facing harbor and have a very beautiful view. In my case, my room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kebosatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your comments and appreciate you taking the time to make comments on Tripadvisor. The Hotel is in a great locations and has easy access to the harbour and shopping and it was great you were able to see what Wellington has to offer, in particular the waterfront areas of the city.
The information on CityFitness is in the Hotel compendiums, however on your comments will create some signage for the cardio room advising of the association for a full gym setup. The complimentary internet in the Hotel lobby was designed to check emails throughout your stay. The purchase of additional time on the ipads is available from the front desk. The concierge staff at the Hotel can always assist with tour reservations and make these for the Hotel guests with some good direction on what your needs may be for the tour
I hope that your trip to Wellington was exceptional and you were able to enjoy the nations Capital
Regards Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We recently stayed at the Rydges Hotel in Wellington. Fantastic place to stay, rooms were modern, clean, nicely decorated, great views. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great and the meal at the restaurant, Plate, was delicious and also A+ service from the staff at the restaurant. Also the hotel is in a good location, easy walking distance to night-life, shopping and tourist attractions. Would definitely recommend as a great place to stay in Wellington.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndybayDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your recent stay. The Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back to Wellington and Rydges on your next visit to the Capital Regards Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stay at Rydges quite often and so when we knew we were going to New Zealand we thought we would try this one. We found it to be great, staff were friendly and the room was quiet and clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for commenting on your stay at Rydges Wellington and am happy that we are of the same standard of the other Rydges Hotels that you have stayed in. I hope that you had a great time in New Zealand. Regards Simon. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We booked this as a "Mystery" hotel on lastminute.com, for a three day stay. The service from beginning to end was faultless with every staff member exceeding expectation. The rooms were very clean and well maintained, and it was an added bonus to be given an upgrade to a room with a harbour view. All in all an exceptionally pleasant experience, and all staff should feel very proud of their customer service skills.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. It is great to hear that your stay at Rydges Wellington exceeded your expectations and with all reviews we share them with the team to provide feedback on guest expectations and service deliveries. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wellington in the not so distant future. Regards Simon General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I found this hotel to be very well run and the rooms were fantastic, i.e. quiet and clean. The restaurant Plate was great dined here on 2 of my 3 night stay and each night was great. The staff were always very pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianMcGinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
The restaurant is going from strength to strength with our new Executive Chef, Kit Foe. Chef’s current menu is getting tremendous feedback and with the our new concept restaurant starting in the last week of April the Hotel Food & Beverage will take on another dimension of excellence, I am hoping! Thank you for your review and appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was Regards Simon General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

20 mins free Internet. Nice touch. Very handy for the westpac stadium. Bar does a small menu of good value, tasty bar snacks.

This is our go to choice now in Wellington having stayed in a variety of places in the city for many years.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
The Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back to Wellington in the near future and appreciates you making comments on Tripadvisor. The location is great for the stadium and was a very mixed bag of results last week with a great win for the Phoenix, however the Hurricanes struggled on Saturday night. Let’s hope for better results as the season moves forward. Regards Simon General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing