We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Break”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I booked two nights here having heard great things on Twitter and other sites about them. I loved the room and the pillow menu was a great touch. It was a great 2 nights and the staff were great!

The breakfast was divine and I am looking forward to my next long weekend getaway.

Also loved that the staff helped me get a great deal and gave me advice on the Priority VIP cards on Twitter! Great use of social media!!

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor and it wasn't too noisy. The rooms with a seaview are good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LatteJNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi there. It is great to read that you were enticed to stay at Rydges Wellington through seeing us online. I have passed your comments onto our social media team as they will be pleased to hear this. I’m a very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with Rydges Wellington, both online and off. See you again next time.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    776
    256
    65
    18
See reviews for
298
785
78
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mapua
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Conveniently positioned and good value. We were there for WOW so it was a busy time. I had asked for an early check in and got it which was great. The room was tastefully decorated and the only thing that was missing was a robe. We had a twin room and both beds were queens so nice and big There was a small area for tea and coffee with a sink, fridge toaster and the crockery was well stocked. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had snacks in the restaurant on a very busy evening but everything was good although it did take a little time to come. I am a member of the Rydges privilege club so we had 20% discount on food and drinks in the bar and a discount on the room. Well worth it! It is on a very windy corner so do be careful when opening car doors. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges Wellington. We appreciate your feedback. WOW was a very busy period for us and I am pleased to hear that our standards of quality and service did not falter during this time. Overall, I’m glad that you enjoyed your experience at Rydges Wellington and we look forward to seeing you back again next time.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motueka
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed on a Sunday night in a King Studio room on the 13th floor. The room was well appointed with a very comfortable king sized bed. The room has a small kitchenette complete with 2 ring hob, toaster and crockery. Bathroom only had a shower but this was not an issue. Room had a nice view looking out to Parliament and the hills. Downside was breakfast which was a little expensive and the continental offerings were not inspiring. Also in this day and age the hotel only allows 20 mins of WiFi per day and this has to be used all in one go. The hotel even blocks the free WiFi available from the street. However, for $150 which includes a $50 food allowance this is good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff_motueka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hello. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. It is great to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Wellington. I am sorry that you found the breakfast selection to be below average. Our breakfast is an aspect of Rydges Wellington that we are most often praised about so we are surprised to hear that you found it disappointing. I have passed all of your comments, regarding breakfast and wifi, onto our management team for them to consider. We look forward having you back next time your travels take you through Wellington.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed there last week for the first time on business. Recognised my GHA Platinum status and treated me very well with a room upgrade and free internet. Had a great room with a view over the harbour, very quiet and pleasant. Got an e-mail from GHA the next day offering another year of platinum if I stayed one more night anywhere before December 31st. So rang Rydges and got a really good last minute deal for my wife and I. Check-in was easy and pleasant with the same girl (Mel), and valet parking was hassle free. They gave us a very nice corner room with great harbour views, well equipped, quiet and clean- a great view of the fireworks later in the evening. The hotel is very handy to everything so we had a pleasant walk around the shops, then dinner in one of the many restaurants across the road on the wharves. A very pleasant wine and dessert back at the hotel. The buffet breakfast was one of the best we have had. A short walk took us to Te Papa to see the Impressionist paintings. Check-out was also easy and hassle free.
All in all a great short break in a good hotel with great service.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that, as a GHA platinum member, you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at Rydges Wellington. I have passed you comments onto our management and front desk staff, including Mel. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are visiting Wellington.
Safe travels, kind regards,
Kieran Wright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were lucky enough to find a spot outside this hotel when we arrived so we could check in and then park the car. However be warned in a strong northerly wind Featherston Street is a real wind tunnel-hold on to your car door and be prepared to walk bent into the wind!
Check in was efficient and we got to our room quickly. It was a disabled unit on the end of the building so the wind was whistling around outside but was not too much of a distraction and it was great to have another set of windows. We do have to wonder about the suitability of the bathroom in this unit as the heavy door opened outwards leaving what we considered little room for a wheelchair to manoeuvre and getting out of the bathroom with such a heavy door would be a challenge for anyone! Exceptional comfortable bed with perfect pillows. We ate at the restaurant downstairs and enjoyed our burger which was delivered promptly and with impeccable service. The steak menu is extensive but quite pricey by the time sides are added on to the steak. We had joined the Priority Club at no cost and this gave us a discounted rate on our room and off site parking. The club benefits also include a discount of food and drinks and while we used another discount we had for our meals this time we were advised that there was no discount on drinks ordered prior to our meal at the bar this time-seems we might need to read the small print of this club membership a bit more closely. The hotel is very close to Westpac stadium and was the reason we chose to stay here again. Check out was efficient the next morning.

Room Tip: Consider joining the priority club online to get discounted rates for accommodation. 8th floor and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Hi there. Thank you for your review. Wellington was particularly windy this weekend just gone and the windy can sometimes cause a bit of noise. I am pleased that you didn't find it too distracting and I’m glad you didn't get blown away either. I have passed your comments regarding your room, Portlander Bar & Grill and the PGR club onto our management team here at the hotel. They will take all of your thoughts into careful consideration. Thank you for choosing Rydges Wellington and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

After spending a fair bit of time on here reading everyone's reviews I booked over the phone.
at the time I requested extra towels and milk as we had our son staying with us.

when we arrived the entrance was lovely with a restaurant off to the side (I will review this later)
we were given our cards explained we needed them for the lift and rooms, made it to our rooms with ease, roughly 10min we had our "extras" dropped off.

both day we were supplied with the "extras" to make sure nothing ran out, we had a water charged to our room from the mini bar which they took off after explaining that we didn't use it.
we.
we had a buffet breakfast both mornings and its really worth getting they have everything you need.

now the very small cons:
I would have to say the restaurant staff were more friendly over all.
the bathroom tiles could do with a good scrub.
the Beds were like king singles or small doubles (but not an issue as there were two in the room)
they did charge $30.00 per night for parking and didn't leave a mark on the car :) so we were fine with that, we could have got cheaper parking but neither of us could be bothered looking for somewhere.
the Air-con is a bit loud if you would rather a quite room to sleep but not that bad we managed to sleep with it on fine.


We enjoyed our stay over all and are planning on staying there next time we are down.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello. Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your Rydges Wellington experience. I have passed all of your comments onto our management team for them to consider. We look forward to seeing you again, next time you’re in Wellington. Safe travels.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Came for business.
Check in was a nightmare.
Was asked to wait because my room was not ready.
Two buses arrived with scores of tourists who were all given rooms!

Went back to the front desk and complained but told my type of room was not ready. Since my room was not a special room this argument held little water.

The hotel has redeeming features. The breakfast spread whilst not huge is quite good. The location is close to the waterfront but not at the waterfront. But then Wellington is not a big town.

Not a member of rydges loyalty program and based on this experience will not be seeking out this chain.

The beauty of New Zealand and Wellington makes up for the average ness of the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Koreaninsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello. Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us as it only helps us to ever improve our service and facilities. I am very disappointed that you found your experience at Rydges Wellington to be off putting enough to stop you visiting any other Rydges hotel properties. I am sorry that you were forced to wait for a room on your arrival. Occasionally a number of factors lead to this situation however it is something we work very hard to avoid. Large tour groups have rooms pre-assigned in order to be situated together for their convenience. We do hope you can give us another opportunity to show you the true standard and quality of service Rydges Wellington has to offer.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,130 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing