We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay every time”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay every time”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our family has stayed in this hotel twice this year. We have 2 young kids and the Family Therapy Package it offers is a winner for us. The package comes with buffet breakfast for a couple and 2 kids. The buffet selection is not massive, but decent and enough to fill and satisfy. Kids enjoyed the pool and the games room where kids can have a play on the wii. As a Priority Guest Member, friendly and attentive staff try their best to give you a generous room upgrade when available. We also enjoyed a late checkout of 1pm. The rooms and furnishings are exactly as shown on their website. Rooms have kitchenette with stove top and microwave. Thank you Rydges and the management deserves a good feedback. Will definitely stay again. I can only hope that other Rydges hotels offer a similar kind of experience. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishaRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hi there. Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that you and your family are consistently enjoying your stays at Rydges Wellington. We are definitely one of the most ‘kid friendly’ hotels in Wellington city; thanks to our pool and kids’ room, Wii consoles, etc and I’m glad your family is making the most of this. We look forward to accommodating your family again in the near future .
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    765
    255
    65
    18
See reviews for
297
777
78
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We chose the Rydges in Wellington because of its CBD ocation and given its room rate we expected we would get adequate service. Unfortunately that was not the case. We had to pay for WIFi service for time over 20 minutes. We were provided with a French press to make coffee but had to pay for the coffee and housekeeping missed our room in its daily room cleaning. Finally, when we checked out, we were charged a service fee for using a credit card.

In traveling around New Zealand we have stayed in less expensive properties and have been provided complimentary WIFI, coffee for the French press provided and have not been charged a service charge for using my credit card.

I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate your doing so as it helps us to ever improve our services and facilities. I am disappointed to read that there were some aspects of your experience that you found to be unsatisfactory. With regards to our wifi, we do charge for this service and we feel this pricing is in line with the local Wellington hotel market. I am sorry that your room was missed from the house keeping rounds. This is unacceptable and I would appreciate it if you could email me at Kieran_wright@rydges.com with your room number and stay stays, so we can look into this and find out what went wrong and why. Thanks again for your review.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

3 nights of comfort was awesome place for conference and soooo handy for the ladies to go shopping.
rooms were very good and restaurant was nice.
so handy to waterfront bars and Wellington waterfront is always great for an early morning walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a double double bed room during our stay at the rydges. It was on a higher level floor which re requested and gave a pleasant view of the beehive. Rooms were neat with modern decor.
The portlander restaurant had very good food especially the pauas and steak.
The negative about this hotel is the lack of car park. We paid for valet parking but sometimes there is no room to even stop to hand over to valet.
On the plus side this hotel is easy walking distance to the beautiful Wellington harbour, Cuba street, beehive and the amazing Te Papa museum.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

On the whole we really enjoyed our stay at Rydges. We had a room on the 11th floor which was well furnished and nice and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and there was a good selection of pillows to choose from.
There seemed to be a problem with the water temperature on the first evening of our stay as we could not get enough for a hot bath, even running the tap just full on hot. However, this was not a problem during the rest of our three night stay.
There were a few issues that prevented a five star review. As previously mentioned, there is no tea towel provided so we had to use a bathroom towel to dry mugs and glasses. There are no bathrobes and slippers which you would normally expect from a hotel of this standard. The TV picture quality was very poor and there was no way of adjusting the brightness. There is very little space outside the entrance for loading/unloading your car and the car parking charge of NZD30 per day is rather high.
On a positive note, the staff were very efficient and friendly, especially the concierges.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Rydges Wellington is part of a well established chain offering excellent customer service. The room was compact but well laid out and equipped with a two hob burner, microwave and small fridge. The bed and bedding was of good quality, the bathroom up-to-date and clean, and I could find no fault with service provided by hotel staff. However, there were a few things that for me kept the Rydges from receiving five stars. The only chair in the room was a hard plastic desk chair; I would have liked to have seen a comfortable chair for watching the TV. Also, the fridge was full of beverages for sale leaving very little space for the items I purchased. My biggest beef was with the internet service which is either 20 minutes free per day or $20+ per day depending on which data plan is chosen; the daily rate is as much or more than local monthly plans and cannot be justified and the free time only commences 24 hours after the last session ended so gets pushed back later and later each day. My advice is to use the free WiFi service provided by the City of Wellington all along the harbour front including at main library, and there’s also free service in the Te Papa Museum.

Room Tip: Don't purchase the WiFi service as there is plenty of free service near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hello. Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Wellington and your comments regarding the customer service provided by our staff makes us even more pleased. A high level of customer service is something we take very seriously and I’m glad that this is exactly what you received. I am disappointed to read that there were a few issues that made your stay less than 5 stars. All our rooms (excluding twin rooms) there is included a comfortable lounge chair. I am very sorry that your room was missing this chair at the time of your stay. With regard to the minibar, in future, please feel free to ask us to remove the minibar contents for you at any time. We look forward to seeing you back at Rydges Wellington again soon.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very spacious room but the bed was not made properly with the sheets not go to the end of the bed so had to re-make the bed before we could sleep in it. Only one drinking glass so had to drink orange juice out of a wine glass. There was a kitchenette and there was dishwashing liquid and a dish cloth but no drying towel unless we were suppose to use a bath towel - not! Had the room made up while we went out for breakfast and left the newspaper on the bed which disappeared. Would have thought that it should have been left on the desk or back on the bed after it was made. We took the newspaper with us the next morning to be on the safe side. The card for access to our room and lift never worked the whole weekend, luckily we were given two cards. Asked reception twice to fix the card but it never worked :( Bed was very comfortable with plenty of different pillows to keep anyone happy and we slept very soundly with no road noise. We were on the fifth floor. Asked for a late check out so we could watch the end of the All Black game & it was not a problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi there. Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate you taking the time to do so as it helps us to ever improve our service and facilities. I am very sorry to read that there were some aspects of your stay that were not perfect. I have passed all of your comments onto the management team so they can look at what went wrong and how we can work to ensure that this does not happen again. It is great to read that our front desk staff were helpful in assisting you with your faulty room keys and extending your checkout. We look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in Wellington City.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing