We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good city hotel”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good city hotel”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

I'm never a big fan of city hotels, being somewhat impersonal. This had that downside, but ticked every box in what you'd want in a hotel. Comfy room, pool, gym (tiny, but they gave us a pass to a really good gym down the road which was excellent). They also looked after our luggage as we went away for a few days and then returned.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    758
    252
    64
    18
See reviews for
294
771
78
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Arrived from South Island, felt welcomed and very pleased with location, room and facilities.
Decided to eat in restaurant - mistake! I object to feeling 'ripped off'. We were charged $8/£4 for water we never asked for - every other restaurant we visited offered it free as a matter of course.
Quite happy with menu, little pricey but we knew that. Had to wait over an hour and 15 minutes after ordering with little update from staff. Steaks were fine in flavour although the medium steak was definitely rare. Hatchback hedgehog potatoes were hard so, overall, were disappointed. Pretentious would define the restaurant.
Most people who stay at Rydges are on business or stay for very short time but should be made to feel valued not 'ripped off'. I know many city centre hotels are the same as this one but customer satisfaction should be top of the list - it wasn't. My comments at reception on departure were just greeted with a shrug.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

I have been staying here for work on and off for several weeks, and have been impressed by the immaculately clean rooms and the consistently good service. The bathrooms are a generous size, and the rooms are well laid out. The front desk staff are always extremely professional and make you feel that nothing is too much trouble.
I will be back and forth to Wellington for several more months, and won't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chrisseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed for two nights during our tour of NZ. The location could not be better- just off the bay. the rooms are excellent , with reception very efficient and swift. There was a wide choice for breakfast, and while we ate elsewhere in the city on one night, we had a bar meal on the other night, with a very tasty meal .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel. Friendly staff and nice rooms. Parking is 30nzd/day which is a fair price if you compare street parking. Walking distance to the city center is about 20 minutes. Negatives: No free internet and an additional charge of 2% applies on the room rate if you pay by credit card.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BerlinRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I had a great experience at the Rydges Hotel in Wellington. I was there for a work trip. The wifi is fast and reliable, room was large and breakfast the next morning was quite good. I found the staff to be very professional and helpful. I would likely stay there again. It's in a good location and easy to walk to most things in Wellington, both tourist and business. Modern fitout.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked into this hotel late afternoon on arrival in Wellington. The staff were welcoming, courteous and very helpful. This was especially warming as we had been very disappointed with our initial hotel choice. Luckily they returned our deposit but their attitude was not the best.
Rydges lived up to its high reputation- the room was spotless, generously proportioned.
There was a choice of pillows which is always a bonus.
The hotel is well situated close to Lambton Quay, yet close enough to the waterfront.
Overall a good experience and we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing