We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights.

Staff were extremely friendly upon check in and nothing was to much. Got to our rooms and was pleasantly surprised, very spacious and modern. Breakfast wasn't the best and we dined out. Sleep was very comfortable and overall for the value a great hotel.

Would definitely come again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,400 of 2,004 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Why I'm giving this 3 stars instead of 2:

1. The staff are incredibly polite and helpful
2. The bed was very comfortable


Why I'm giving this 3 stars instead of 4:

1. The room is equipped with a kitchen but you have to call downstairs to get pots and pans - why?! We discovered this the morning before we had to catch the Interislander and were trying to boil up some eggs. It was irritating not having a pot. Is management worried people will steal? It made no sense.

2. The hotel markets their upscale steakhouse Portandia everywhere you turn. It's in the lifts, it's in the lobby, the website, etc. I guess they're trying to tell us they know a thing or two about beef. Great! I like beef. So when I ordered their wagyu beef burger with mushroom bechamel sauce I thought I was in for a real treat. It was bone dry, extremely well-done, it was small, it had exactly 7 chips, and no sign of the mushroom bechamel sauce. No cutlery or salt and pepper, either. The only reason I didn't return it is because I was starving and it took us almost a half hour to get through to room service in the first place, so I couldn't stand the thought of waiting again.

3. Big black hair in the bathroom sink upon arrival and a shower that could do with some bleach.

Cough up the extra cash and stay at the Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueKitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here New Years Eve, overall very happy with our room and staff.
Upon arrival I found the reception and staff working the afternoon shift average.
The reception desk is quite high, if your short or in a wheelchair you can't see the staff.
Staff grooming was not as polished and they seemed a lil lost, extra training would be great.
When we checked out the staff on reception were all well groomed and attentive.
The hotel is kid friendly which is great, and staff were very quick responding to requests for a cot or cables for the DVD player.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nice room overlooking the harbour. Great bed, very comfortable.

They did not have our booking from bookings.com when we arrived. We got the same price as our online booking so it was not a major issue.

The showers could do with a really good scrub.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nespresso5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at the Rydges Hotel for 8 nights and were very glad we payed the extra $ to have a room with a view of the beautiful Wellington Harbor. The hotel is in a great location - everything in the city is an easy walking distance. The room and its cleanliness was great. The service was mixed. We loved the concierge and speed of the room service. However the front desk help was lukewarm at best. If I was the manager I would definitely give my reception staff some training in warmth and helpfulness. Having said that we did not require much from them so we did not let it bother us too much. My one very strong complaint is about the Wi-Fi. It needs to be free with the room charge! 20 minutes free a day does not go far - and it is so bothersome and expensive to have to buy an extra hour every day. Personally it bothers me -so that next time I am in Wellington I will look for a different hotel unless that changes.
All in all this hotel has so much going for it and tons more potential with a little more effort!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalind E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Rydges us located close to the NZ parliament building and around 15 minutes walk from the Te Papa museum (a must see for any first visit to Wellington ).
Room was spacious with good firm bed and plenty of pillows.
Small kitchenette with toaster and microwave, hot plates but no pans.
Swimming pool narrow but adequate, fine for just two or three swimmers, good spa pool, very small gym area.
Food was good, but we were plagues by flies - perhaps because it was such a windy day. This is the second most Windy City in the world!
Staff were excellent, good help from reception, valet car parking was welcome (costs an additional 30 dollars per day, but well worth it as all other parking in this area is on meters).
Don't rely on their wake-up call service; first day we received someone else's call, second day the call didn't come.
Harbour view rooms are worth the extra.
Try the Backbencher pub up the road for a light dinner and good ambience.

Room Tip: Harbour view, high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Thanks for the nice room on Lvl 14 great view comfortable bed even cooking facilities you have to ask for pots and pans from reception friendly staff everything was great good location
Wellington is certainly windy but still worth a visit internet 20mins free then u have to pay you can city free internet on the street if u find the right location really good I did all my flights back home while sitting on seat in lambton quay
Would stay at rydges again as a member ask about late checkout welcome drink

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samsonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#15 of 47 in Wellington
2,278 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £90 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing