We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I've stayed here move than a dozen times over the last 5 years. While its not the most luxurious hotel in Wellington, I think it has the best location if you have appointments in the government district. Reasonably priced.

The accommodation and service are all fine. Breakfast is good, and dining room transfers to a great restaurant at night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_o0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,882)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,882 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

The staff at this hotel were very helpful and friendly. There was a misunderstanding with our booking and to compensate us for waiting 30 minutes, we were given an upgrade to a mini suite on the top floor. This room was absolutely amazing, we had two balconies and views overlooking the bee hive and the harbour. The kids said this was the best hotel ever, and they have been to hundreds! This is indeed a huge compliment!

The location of this hotel was perfect, close to all attractions and to the waterfront area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mystb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for three nights in early February. Paid the extra for a harbour view from 14th floor which was worth it. Room, beds, bathroom and fittings all that you would expect from a hotel of this class. Well located to wander off to the waterfront or back into the shopping streets and quick taxi ride to interisland ferry.
We arrived by train from Auckland and since it was late we ate in the hotel on the first night. Restaurant is a bit pokey for a hotel of this size and mostly geared to fairly average steaks and the like. Service was reasonable but slow between courses. Being lazy we also had breakfast the next morning which was a mistake. They charge nearly the same for continental as full and it is all a bit of a scrum. Plenty of places to eat out for breakfast if you get organised or use the kitchen in the room.
Lifts have a room key mechanism to get them to work - this is very hit and miss and a real pain when it fails to work.

Room Tip: The higher you are the less traffic noise there is.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Family of 3 for one overnight stay.
Parking is difficult so valet parking at $30 for one night was required.
Staff were generally helpful and friendly though checkout and car delivery took over 20 mins from point where reception call went unanswered.
Rooms were standard hotel chain rooms, clean and well presented.
Food in Potalander bar was good value

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowlerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My colleagues and I have been staying at Rydges now on and off for several months, and are full of praise for the place. It is consistently clean and welcoming, and the staff are fantastic. We often talk about the fact that Phil, the Chief Concierge, is the epitome of customer service. He is friendly, welcoming, and his attention to detail is wonderful. This sets the tone for the front of house staff.
Location is great, meals are excellent, and we never have to worry about being away from home in somewhere substandard. I would highly recommend Rydges.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Chrisseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel has an excellent location .with all the main attractions are in walking distance.The room was very comfortable and clean.Well appointed and a good size.
Reception staff were very helpful and polite.
Didn't use the hotel to eat and drink.In part because the choice in the city was so good.iThe cost of things including breakfast was not readily displayed.This I found irritating.
Use the Quayside .Great bars and cafés.Try the Crabshack and Shed 5 restaurant.Both great .
We loved the Botanical Gardens and the original parliament .Amazing wooden building and you can just walk in.For the literary Katherine Mansfields birthplace is interesting..
For a drink try the Old St Paul's Thistle Pub. Dates 1840 and serves decent beer.Not a feature of NZ.
Wellington was our favourite N Z city when it's not windy !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorenzo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I payed $279/night for an executive room at the Ridges for 3 nights, for that amount of money I was expecting to find as the word suggests an executive room but we were so disappointed to find that the room had only the linen and bath room accessories changed. The carpet had not been vacuumed in the lounge and hall way, the toaster still had crumbs in it and more then likely they are still there. Also the wine glasses had finger marks on them and the mirror in the bed room and the stereo system had marks on them as well. The walls had not been cleaned and are severely marked as is the dinning table. Sadly it must only be the view that commands an exorbitant price in this economic climate. To top it off a guy does not knock but enters the room to check the contents of the fridge.

On a good note the restaurant and bar staff were great, as was our meals

Room Tip: when you book make sure that you stipulate the sea view......
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,639 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £97 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing