We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, excellent choice if you are staying close to Parliament. Great for self sufficient traveller's , with a small kitchenette available in most rooms. Harbour view rooms well worth the extra cost as the other option is very unappealing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank dmo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,222 - 1,228 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Breakfast in this Hotel was nothing short of terrible, no coffee cups to have a coffee at 8.00am in the morning, hardly any food to choose from and when I complained I was asked what's wrong sir, The Hotel was fine but this has left a sour taste!!

Room Tip: go out and get breakfast do the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Travelling with our two kids, we stayed here as they had a pool and breakfast included. Room was smallish with two double beds, but had everything we needed including a kitchenette with cook top and microwave. We were very comfortable.
Breakfast food was fabulous, however, it was severely understaffed that weekend, and was not prepared to cater for such a large amount of people. We had 3 mornings watching the staff try to keep up with the diners, and try to replenish the servery. If it had happened once, we could have forgiven the hotel for this, but 3 mornings in a row showed a flaw in their levels of staffing.
We had one dinner in the restaurant (as kids dined free) and enjoyed to food, but did not enjoy sitting next to the toilet door.
The location was good for the bluedbridge ferry, and good for the railway station. However, its a few blocks from the heart of Wellington, and we did a lot of walking to do the things around the city that we were there for.
Watch out for the huge pillows on the beds. Huge. Too huge to sleep on. I asked for some flatter ones, and they brought up two more huge pillows. Seemed strange, as they advertise a pillow menu.
Also, what would be good is some hooks or rails to hang the towels on. When a room caters for 4 people, there should be at least 4 places to hang damp towels. Even 4 hooks on the back of the bathroom door would do. We were swimming and showering, and there was just nowhere to put our wet towels and bathers.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, and would stay again. It was good value and felt luxurious, even though there were a few simple things that could have been improved.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonnebad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Good location desk staff and restaurant staff well mannered professional and obliging, we did not have anything for a minibar in our room nothing was stocked in the fridge so we went to supermarket and brought supplies, Cleanliness excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have stayed at Rydges in Wellington close to 10 times for business, and each time I am fully impressed with the professionalism and the friendliness of the staff and the hotel - they really do make staying away from home enjoyable.

I have enjoyed twin rooms, king rooms and was upgraded by chance to the penthouse suite once! Regardless of which room I have stayed in the cleanliness is impeccable, modern and a pleasure.

Room service is amazing, and the lovely lady who delivers remembers me each time and we enjoy a lovely conversation - she is a fantastic asset, so polite and understanding that we are here away from our families and makes it a pleasure to invite her into the room to deliver dinner.
Breakfast buffet is expansive - get in early as it gets VERY busy!

I will continue returning here on business trips.

Room Tip: Harbour View Rooms are fantastic if you don't come often. Corner Rooms are quite noisy when We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have stayed at Rydges Wellington approximately 8 or 10 times over the last couple of years for work and always been thrilled with the service and cleanliness of the rooms.
I recommend joining the Priority Guest Reward program for a free drink and better room selections when travelling often.
You can choose from an outstanding full buffet breakfast downstairs and they also offered an in room takeaway coffee and "make it yourself" option for toast or cereals which was good for a business traveller wanting a quick breakfast.
I chose to stay here over the holidays with hubby for a few nights of escape after the family Christmas craziness. After eating at the Portlander for the first night we didn't bother venturing anywhere else as it was so good!
Never been disappointed staying here, if there are any issues with the room I have always been moved swiftly and without issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendersNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A three night stay in a large comfortable room with full kitchen facilities. Check in was fast and friendly and the valet parking was efficient. The hotel is in a great location near many restaurants and shops. The railway station and bus terminal are also close to the hotel. The restaurant food was good but the service was slow. My only disappointment was the room wifi charge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinmeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
1,700 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 47 in Wellington
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £94 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing