We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room layout”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent room layout”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Spacious room, well presented, beautiful views, quiet, clean and tidy. Great nights sleep - comfortable bed, close to the waterfront. Great value. Nice place to stay for work or holiday. Great service, friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellerben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi Ben. Thank you for your review. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your stay. It sounds like you loved everything, from top to bottom! This is exactly what we love to hear. I have passed your review onto all of our staff members so they can share in your praise.
Many thanks and kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    758
    253
    64
    18
See reviews for
295
771
78
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Fabulous location, very comfy room but the best part was the staff. The concierge really extended himself to get me on a city tour with very little time to do it. He figured out which tour I could join, called ahead and asked the driver to wait a minute for me, got a taxi and instructed him on where to take me and then brought me a cup of hot tea when I got back. I felt like I was being cared for by family! The rest of the staff was enormously helpful as well - getting me wifi after check out, holding bags for me after checkout but giving me frequent access to them.
All in all, a first class stay. I'd recommend to anyone and I'd definitely come back.
And, by the way, the recommended tour - given by Jenni at Hammonds was one of the best 2 hour city tours I've ever had.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ10538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi there. Hearing that your stay was "first class" makes us very happy! We're so pleased that you enjoyed every part of your experience at Rydges Wellington with a special mention of our staff and their exceptional service. I have passed your comments onto our Chief concierge, Phil and the rest of our staff. We hope to see you again when you're in Wellington next.
Kind regards and safe travels,
Kieran Wright
rydges Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel and I had such a great stay! Location is very central, really handy for me to walk around. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Guest room was nice however I probably expected better, however amenities provided was good.
All in all, a great hotel to stay in, especially if you're looking for something central.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello. Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us but disappointed to read that you expected more of your room. We would love to know more about what you mean here. Please email us at kieran_wright@rydges.com so we can better understand and hopefully use your advice to improve. We hope we will see you again next time you're in Wellington City.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Rydges was clean and comfortable. Rooms were spacious and included small kitchenette for longer stays. The bathroom was large with separate tub and shower. Checkin staff was efficient and friendly.

The bar on the main floor was non-stop with guests and visitors. From morning to night it was well staffed and busy with standup or coffee meetings or after dinner cocktails.

Breakfast was excellent with buffet style and cooked to order food.

Easy stay and comfortable.

Room Tip: Find a room away from the elevator/lifts to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-monkey-672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi there. Thank you for your great review. Reviews such as yours are very beneficial for other travelers considering our hotel. It is fantastic to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed one night on a package deal, which included breakfast, DIY parking, and late check out. The room was tidy, had an opaque glass wall dividing the bathroom from the bedroom that allowed light to be shared (but also came with a modesty blind), comfortable bed, and had a small kitchenette (small stove, microwave, sink), and the usual amenties for a 4-5 start hotel in the city.

The breakfast was one of the better breakfasts we have had in a hotel. The restaurant is a little too compact for a busy breakfast service, but the range and freshness of the food was fantastic.

The night we stayed there were gales and rain on the side we were accommodated. We were not disturbed at all - very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwisInCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed this hotel for two nights, beautiful hotel with warm staff. Reception team was very professional always ready to assist you. Rooms are very spacious in this hotel. Beds are very comfortable and soft for a nice and relaxing sleep. Bathrooms are very well equipped with all the amenities and bathroom is very large in size.

The coffee shop offers you a wide variety in breakfast with a nice selection of milk shakes.. Breakfast served was very nice. Coffee shop team was again very courteous and well trained.

All in all very nice hotel, situated ideally in Wellington with easy access to Port, Railway Station and Airport and also situated very near to the main shopping street.

We had a great stay!!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shargo312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Puke
Level Contributor
250 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A really good hotel in the city. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and although good, its not really up to the standard I would expect in a capital city. Nice view, good balconies, enough space for a couple but small things let it down like the second door into the bathroom would slide open by its self. The toilet was in the bathroom and poorly set out. The shower water pressure was mediocre. The furniture was knocked about and really due to be updated. Dont get me wrong, I sound like a moaner, the place is ok and I would stay again, it just needs a wee bit of care.

Room Tip: Up high. We were on the 15th floor and there was no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOPPROFILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing