We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Wellington
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Quest on Johnston(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Park Hotel Lambton Quay(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Aitken on Mulgrave(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,065)
Filter reviews
2,065 results
Traveller rating
820
865
287
71
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
865
287
71
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsportlander restaurantharbour viewrailway stationbuffet breakfastsmall kitchenettevalet parkingroom servicegood sizethe air conditioningwestpac stadiumcomfortable bedpillow menumini barsouth islandnice roomnew zealandper day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,288 - 1,293 of 2,065 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Enjoyed staying here, although my room was a little noisy as it was on one of the lower levels. The bed was a bit too firm for me, but comfortable enough. Breakfast buffet was lovely - enjoyed the house-made bread, beans, smoothies, eggs cooked to order, scrumptious pastries. Staff were efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melvy212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Elizabeth,
It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for leaving a review, we appreciate you doing so. Breakfast is often a highlight for our guests and it's fantastic to read that this was your experience too. We hope to see you again next time you're in Wellington City.
Kind regards,
^KW
Rydges Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was the first stop at the start of a 2 week holiday in New Zealand. There was a slight delay checking in because of the rush but the hotel had all counters manned and did a great job clearing the guests. Our room was cosy, clean and comfortable. The iPod/iPhone charging doc on our alarm clock did not work, so the man at the desk ( Clive W) offered us the use of a personal charger to charge the phone while they looked to rectify the problem. Due to the sea swells, our ferry was delayed and Clive again offered to sort us out in case We had to find a room for the night. All in all a positive experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Eustyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with us and other travelers on Tripadvisor! It's very gratifying to read that you had a great experience at Rydges Wellington. Clive was very pleased to hear your kind words about his exceptional service. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday!
Kind regards,
^KW
Rydges Wellington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived at midnight in Wellington and found the staff at Rydges very accommodating and friendly. Reasonably close to the airport. Only disappointment was that we would have preferred a room with a balcony and was advised at check in there were none available. Seems there was a misunderstanding when originally booked. Really have to check these details at time of booking! Room was very cosy and clean and location of the hotel was excellent. Right in central Wellington city. I will certainly stay there again if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the harbour and a balcony would be my pick
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed at this property on Saturday 2nd August 2014.
Without going into lengthy detail let me say the Hotel was very disappointing in so many regards and definitely not to the standard of my previous stays at a number of other Rydges' Hotels.
The Male receptionist on our arrival, seemed annoyed that we had interrupted his conversation with another staff member.
The first room we were allocated had an overwhelming smell of vomit.This issue was quickly rectified by being assigned another room, but surely this demonstrates a huge failure on behalf of housekeeping and management.
We have also now become aware a King size Bed in New Zealand is a much smaller version of a King size bed utilised by Hotels throughout Australia. One of my best sleeps earlier this year was a King size bed at the Rydges Hotel, Sydney International Airport.
Upon enquiring on our arrival at 4.30pm, we were advised the Restaurant was heavily booked with no tables being available until after 9.00pm.
Certainly Room Service was available as an option, but we were further advised there would be a delay of 2 hours from the time of order.
Being somewhat hungry and limited by little to no nearby choices, we opted to brave the wet and extremely windy conditions, to dine at a McDonald's Restaurant just around the corner from the Hotel.
Overall the stay at this Hotel property was not a good experience and I would recommend investigating other Wellington Hotels before choosing Rydges'

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews