We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wellington on a Plate”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Fabulous staff, - from check-in, to the restaurant, to the bar, the service is outstanding. The special menu for Wellington on a Plate was delicious, and amazing value. Loved the kumara gnocchi! The lounge area is stylish and comfortable with an array of seating options.

This was my second stay, and it was even better than the first. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi there,
Thank you for your fantastic review of Rydges Wellington and Portlander Bar & Grill. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially the restaurant. Your review has been passed along to our Head Chef and Food & Beverage team for them to see your praise. We look forward to having you return in the near future.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times on business. Great location near the harbour and walking distance to the places I needed to be. The rooms are really nice and very spacious, dinner and breakfast in the hotel have always been amazing too. My only comments are that the breakfast is quite expensive, the reception staff seem to have a habit of ignoring customers and chatting amongst themselves, and on one occasion I noticed a massive hole in one of the patterned cushions on the bed - I'm not quite sure how housekeeping overlooked this as it was very big and obvious! I would definitely stay again though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lauren160184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and other travelers on Tripadvisor. it's great to read that you continue to enjoy your stays with us. We appreciate you raising the few concerns you have with us. These have all been passed on to our management team for them to be aware of. See you again next time.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

As a place to stay in the Wellington CBD it ticks all the right boxes and throws in a few surprises. Given the competitive price, I would be happy to stay again next time I'm in town.

Located on the edge of the CBD it's convienient to shops and offices. However, if you are not staying for business, as most of the bar and restaurant action is located past the far opposite end of the CBD you may need to take a taxi more than you would like.

It is fitted out in a 'modern' chain hotel style that is comfortable. A welcome surprise was the kitchenette facilities in the room (we had a deluxe room). The full length and width window (thankfully with blind) between the bathroom and the bedroom was also a surprise. The rooms are not super quiet as road noise can be heard even on the higher floors. The aircon unit was also on the noisy side. The road noise and the aircon would be an issue if you are particularly sensitive to noise.

We found the staff to be efficient and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to minimise the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Super66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi there,
Thank you for leaving us a review. It's very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning again next time you're in Wellington! We're pleased to say that all 280 of our rooms and suites come equipped with kitchenette facilities, making us ideal for business travelers and families alike. Thanks again for your review and we will see you again soon.
Kind regards,
^KW
Rydges Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have stayed at Rydges in Wellington a number of times and have always been impressed with the calibre of the staff and their willingness to go out of their way to be helpful. The restaurant is a regular haunt of mine for dinner and as the quality of the wine they stock has improved as has my dinning experience. This is certainly a place I would recommend for any traveller.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the harbour side at the eastern end for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DavidPS3692CF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi David.
Thank you for leaving us such a great review! It's fantastic to read that you are continually impressed by the service and quality of Rydges Wellington. Our Food and Beverage Manager, Antonio, will be very pleased to see that you approve of the Portlander wine list. He has spent many many hours perfecting it! See you again next time you're in town.
Kind regards,
^KW
Rydges Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Typical big chain hotel. Standard reception, standard rooms. My room on the sixth floor did have a harbour view. The air conditioning/heater in the room was painful. The remote wasn't the easiest to work out and the heater was that efficient. Considering the massive southerly that came through while I was there, I wasn't overly impressed. There were also hand prints on the wall above the toilet.

The hotel was pretty full the first night and the next morning the restaurant was massively under staffed, tables empty but covered in dishes. I had to wipe the table down my self to clean it.

The staff were polite without being overly friendly, but didn't check to see if taxis were needed when checking out, which I did need.

Considering this is a reasonably pricey hotel, I would have expected much much more.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi there.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate you taking the time to do so as it helps us to continually improve the services we over at Rydges Wellington. It's disappointing to read that you were not impressed with your most recent stay. The issues you have raised are completely unacceptable and not at all a true reflection of our usual standards. We are very sorry that you experienced this drop in standards. Our management team are aware of your review and are currently working to ensure this does not happen again. Despite this experience, we do hope that you will consider us again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, next time you are looking to book.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington
kieran_wright@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Went to conference at Rydges on 12th August for Samoan Road Show the chef done a amazing job for the appetizers and the ladies that set up the room where lovely even let me put my bag in there office. I would recommend Rydes thank you for the great experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dragonthugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi there,
Thank you for your great review and recommendation of Rydges Wellington. It's fantastic to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the conference you were attending and found the service from our staff to be exceptional. Your review has been passed onto our conference operations staff so they can share in your praise!
We hope to see you again next time you're in New Zealand.
Kind regards,
^KW
Rydges Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Enjoyed staying here, although my room was a little noisy as it was on one of the lower levels. The bed was a bit too firm for me, but comfortable enough. Breakfast buffet was lovely - enjoyed the house-made bread, beans, smoothies, eggs cooked to order, scrumptious pastries. Staff were efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melvy212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Elizabeth,
It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for leaving a review, we appreciate you doing so. Breakfast is often a highlight for our guests and it's fantastic to read that this was your experience too. We hope to see you again next time you're in Wellington City.
Kind regards,
^KW
Rydges Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,407 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,199 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £96 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing