We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable with friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Wellington
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Narrabundah
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Comfortable with friendly Staff”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had flown in from Australia to go to the WOW show and were very happy with the motel location with its proximate to downtown Wellington. Other than been in a back street and not well signposted from the street this motel was surprisingly comfortable and well-appointed for a Best Western motel. We had the two room unit on Level 1. Arriving late was not a problem as the keys to our room was level in a safe beside the lift. The room had all the facilities to cater for yourself with a well laid out bathroom. Each room had a flat panel TV.

The owners have just taken over the motel and were very pleasant and friendly to deal with. I would happily stay here again. My one criticism was there was no air conditioning in the room only plug in heaters.

Room Tip: Not having tried any other room I cannot comment on what room to select
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon35au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe_BESTWESTERN_WLG, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you ladies for your recent stay. It is such a pleasure to accommodate you. Thank you for posting a review, glad to see you enjoyed your stay and found us ok, certainly helped us building confidence on what we try hard to do - provide the best service to our guests. Look forward to welcoming you again if you are back in Wellington. Kindest Regards, Zoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    66
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
41
73
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Tidy and clean motel with friendly staff but for us this property quite simply lacked any WOW factor. Comfy beds and yes really clean but couldn't quite get passed the older style carpet and harsh colours. Location good and serviceable but certainly lacking atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe_BESTWESTERN_WLG, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you Sarah for your review. We are very pleased that you liked our comfy bed, cleanliness and handy location. We have tried to make our decor understated so I’m sorry you were looking for something more WOW. However I do hope we might see you again the next time you are in Wellington.
Kind regards,
Zoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed overnight for business. Unusual entrance. Tucked away down an side street and commercial driveway but once checked in and in my room I was really pleasantly surprised. I was very comfortable with super comfy bed, lots of room. Quite, just very comfortable. A very pleasant easy stay. I would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msmolly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are an unusual setup location wise, but work very hard to provide a comfortable stay and appreciate guests feedback on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

After travelling a long distance we were greeted by one of the most grumpiest peopl i have ever met. the lady was abrupt,rude and quite frankly ruined our stay from the beginning. the hotel had no character,smelt like an old peoples home but the room was clean as was the bathroom. i have nothing really nice to say about this hotel and probably would not stay at a best western again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank england12320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
As your feedback is posted anonymously it is difficult to recall a meet & greet that you describe where I was less than friendly. I do apologise for ruining your stay in this manner as this is not the normal standard I wish to display our guests are the most important people in our Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Have stayed here many times over the last 3 years. For a full week over Christmas and several 1-2 night stays. Love this place.
Hosts are friendly , rooms are warm and roomy. Tariff is very affordable.
So close to the Johnsonville mall, 10 minutes to Tawa Dressmart. Great parking facilities.
It used to stock Tuatara coffee in the rooms which is the best. unfortunately no more, but the rooms are great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe_BESTWESTERN_WLG, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you David for your awesome review. We appreciate your repeat custom and will try hard to keep the high standard. Look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the future Kindest regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This was the third time I have stayed in this hotel and I would whole-heartedly recommend it to others. It is ideal for business travellers in particular. The room was attractively decorated, thoughtfully equipped and spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Furniture is chosen to be comfortable, not just attractive - not that common in hotels, I find!

The only suggestion I would make is that I appreciate Earl Grey tea - however, I was too idle to enquire if it could be provided, so I can't really complain!

The location is slightly tricky to find, being up a narrow side street. However, parking is plentiful, free and under cover. The building is well-insulated and very quiet. A very enjoyable and comfortable stay - thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your awesome review, we appreciate that your time is precious and your feed back is important to us. Look forward to assisting you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and 2 days, found the motel to be in a location that was convenient to the city and outer suburbs as well given that Johnsonville sits on the boundary of the main state highways. The room was clean and tidy and surpassed all expectations. Mark and Helen were incredibly helpful whenever I needed help with directions etc. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay when in Wellington.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singhrajnesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for your positive feedback. Johnsonville provides easy access into and around Wellington suburbs while also offering a variety of dining and shopping experiences.
If we can be of assistance to you in the furture, we would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
4.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
5.0 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#21 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#20 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
4.7 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wellington

Property: Best Western Wellington
Address: 17 - 19 Burgess Road | Johnsonville, Wellington 6037, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Wellington)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 luxury units on the 2nd and 3rd levels with lift access direct from the car park. Free undercover parking with 24hr CCTV surveillance for peace of mind security. Quiet, comfortable accommodation features wireless internet (first 20MB free) in all rooms. Executive suites provide pampering with a Spa bath,Standard King bed & balcony. Central to the whole of the Wellington region, the Motel is only 10 minutes to the heart of Wellington city, 5min to Westpac Stadium & the Ferry Terminals, 10mins to Te Papa, Hutt Valley and Porirua. We are also on the train route directly into the Westpac Stadium and the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing