We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience delivered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Wellington
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Convenience delivered”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Coming across from the South Island we were looking for a convenient hotel for a good nights rest and quick escape the following day. The Best Western met all of our needs as it was close the ferry landing, outside of city centre, just of the motorway, offered wifi and convenient free parking. While it could be a little of a challenge to locate without GPS, you are encouraged to make the effort. Excellent underground parking with an elevator makes for easy unloading of luggage and the rooms meet all basic needs while at the same time being clean. While the hotel is adjacent to the motorway we did not find it noisy.

Zoe and Sunny are the live in owners who serve as great host. They freely offered suggestions on restaurants and shopping. It should be pointed out that the location is convenient for essential shopping needs but is not where you would go for fashion or touristy items. While we did not make the effort it would appear the property would be convenient should you wish to explore Wellington.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100nations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    66
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
41
73
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot for work and this has got to be one of the most delightful hotel experiences I have had to date. The rooms are huge and very clean, the hotel is literally a minute walk from the shops and eating places and the couple who run the motel are lovely! Also you can still get room service for breakfast which is very convenient. Johnsonville is only 10 mins from the city and very central to all the surrounding towns. I would absolutely recommend staying here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Meagan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield Upper, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Booked this motel based on price, location and free parking, when we got here a day ahead of our booking, the hosts happily and quickly found us a room. We were not disappointed in our choice of motel. It was clean, comfortable and great service, excellent all around The bed was excellent. And the price was great as well. We would highly recommend Best Western Jonsonville.
Bert and sharon

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bb1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We chose to stay here in preference to a city-centre hotel and were glad we did.
The hotel has easy access and good car parking, is quiet and is a short walk from a mall and bus/train station. The hotel is comfortable and competitively-priced and has very friendly and approachable staff.
It is only 10 mins drive to/from the Interislander Ferry terminal, and about 15 mins from downtown Wellington.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

First impression of Johnsonville - fast food heaven. After so many lovely places Visited in NZ we wondered how we could have made such a big mistake. The impression did not improve when we found the hotel up a cul de sac past the KFC. All that changed when we got inside. Spacious, clean and airy. Rooms are well equipped. Our room was on the motorway side of the building and we did get a bit of traffic noise but not too bad. The train goes into the city from Jville. 25 minutes, 4NZD and every 30 minutes

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Korsakoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The interior decoration of the public areas and rooms was simply stunning – it certainly made us feel like we were staying in a five-star hotel. The hosts were warm and helpful, allowing us to use a luggage trolley rather than have to make several trips to and from the car to get all our suitcases. Surprisingly, there was a second TV in the second bedroom rather than the main bedroom (which my five-year-old was ecstatic about!). The motel is less than 15 minutes by car from the centre of Wellington, thanks to the nearby motorway. The only fault we could find was that the light in the main bedroom flickered, and although we asked for it to be fixed, nothing was done during our two-night stay – the only cloud over what was otherwise a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DV226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe_BESTWESTERN_WLG, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Hi there, thank you for giving us such a nice review. We are very sorry about the light. We have ran out of that particular light bulb when you told us it is flickered on your second day of staying and haven't been able to get one before you checked out. Apologies again for any inconvenience. Kind Regards, Zoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed ourselves. Zoe and sunny were unexpectedly great hosts. Much better than your normal hotel receptionists. They wanted to make sure we didn't get lost in the city and even gave us an umbrella to use. We slept on the side with the motorway and it didn't bother us. With the window closed it's not really noticeable. The rooms are clean and comfortable and we received 500mb of data which was enough for our two nights. It was a great location to the picton ferry and an easy 10 min drive into welly.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Devin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,567 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
5.3 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
5.0 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#21 of 46 in Wellington
454 reviews
5.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wellington

Property: Best Western Wellington
Address: 17 - 19 Burgess Road | Johnsonville, Wellington 6037, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Wellington)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 luxury units on the 2nd and 3rd levels with lift access direct from the car park. Free undercover parking with 24hr CCTV surveillance for peace of mind security. Quiet, comfortable accommodation features wireless internet (first 20MB free) in all rooms. Executive suites provide pampering with a Spa bath,Standard King bed & balcony. Central to the whole of the Wellington region, the Motel is only 10 minutes to the heart of Wellington city, 5min to Westpac Stadium & the Ferry Terminals, 10mins to Te Papa, Hutt Valley and Porirua. We are also on the train route directly into the Westpac Stadium and the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing