We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No complaints” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airport Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airport Motel
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No complaints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We booked this through the 'agents' instead of doing the right thing and booking direct.Only an idiot can complain about the travellers studio units. We stayed in a studio for 6 nights even though Jenny contacted us with reservations about the size. We had no problems with the area. A very large bathroom area. good facilities and comfortable bedding. Okay no Wardrobe - so what? This is an overnighter for travellers not a luxury suite. If you want more then book it - Jenny will advise. 'Noisy' - rubbish, we heard very little evidence of being close to the airport. I think the Aussie who compleined must have stayed at another Airport motel.
All in all extremely good value for money, helpful staff and we recommend this stop over to all. Eric and Margaret Mannning

Room Tip: Contact direct and let Jenny know what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    49
    44
    18
    12
See reviews for
45
49
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

The location is not entirely convenient, in an industrial area on a bay and our room was one of the smallest we have ever had, with the bed within 6 inches of the wall on one side and with only about 4 feet on the other, partly taken up by a sink, counter, and cabinets. There are larger units, some of which we looked into later, which would have been more comfortable, and we would recommend those if you want to stay here. On the other hand, the hosts were very accommodating, helped with directions, provided breakfasts for a modest charge, and pickup from the airport which was nearby. We would recommend it with reservations.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libtyfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandurah wa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

My husband and i stayed at this motel for 1 night, 21ST JAN 2013. We also had family with us that also stayed here. We had 3 rooms all up. The rooms were fantastic, would have liked more time there. So close to the airport, But the main thing here was the staff, Namely one, that was Roger, That went way beyond. We had some problems with a car hire company. Economy cars(ACE) Which we would never ever deal with again.Roger helped us so so much. Thank you to you all. A big plus from us.

Room Tip: I have only put averagebecause,I didnt see a restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MandurahWaDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

I arrived about midnight and was collected by the motel's free shuttle bus (free phone in airport). My room was quite small, very little floor space, had no wardrobe or drawers, but that was ok for overnight. The room was clean and comfortable, so I just fell asleep. I ordered a continental breakfast which was brought to my room at night, so I could eat at leisure next morning. The bathroom was quite big and well equipped. Next morning I was taken back to the arport. I only spent about 9 hours here, but all that was ok for my needs.

Room Tip: Inside courtyard rooms are probably quieter, but you are close to the airport and the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumut, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We booked this motel because of the location to the airport and value for money. Unfortunately the rooms are very noisy, beds are terrible, pillows as flat as pancakes and the rooms tiny. The upside is the staff are lovely and the location excellent for the airport, not much else in the area if you wanted to have a look around shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We booked this accommodation in July from Portugal. Our flight from Melbourne was due to arrive during the early hours of 29th December and we wanted to travel to Picton via Interislander on 30th and booked just 1 night. The delightful owner, Jenny Kendrick, realised that we had confused ourselves with timings because of the 12 hour time difference and nightime arrival. Jenny sorted us out politely and avoided a situation where we would have found ourselves without accommodation for one night.

Jenny collected us from the airport within minutes of calling her from the airport at 01:00 in the morning. She provided all sorts of helpful advice and facilities. Like being a FOC Left Luggage repository whilst we went into the city after checking out. She even offered to drive us to the Interislander Terminal herself if we wished her to.

The facilities at the airport Motel are everything anyone would need. Everything works, is clean and of good quality. Jenny provides excellent value for money.

We would not fault this Motel in any way. Location is great. Best for the airport and the courtesy pick up is very convenient and simple. You really couldn't get it wrong.

We stayed 2 nights and didn't find noise to be a problem - even though we had a room facing the road / airport /ocean. We were disturbed by inconsiderate people crashing about during the early hours. Not something within the control of the management. It sound loud because the Motel was so quiet.

There is a bus service that runs every 15 minutes into the city. A convenient bus stop to the Motel is available for pick up and drop off. Cost is $7 to the city centre and inexpensive.

We recommend this Motel and would definitely stay here again when visiting Wellington and arriving by air.

Room Tip: This Motel is well run and provides good accommodation at great prices. The owner cares and goes out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We chose this motel to be near the airport as we were leaving early in the morning.The noise was terrible from the road,planes and the waves but what really wrecked the night was when another guest entered our room at 2-00 in the morning.We were stunned and wondered if 1 key fits all rooms in this motel.A Scary Thought as we left our passports etc in the room during the Day.On the up side the staff are fantastic,so friendly and will really go out of their way to help.Would have been good if we had slept for more than a few hours.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glynPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
0.8 mi away
Brentwood Hotel
Brentwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilbirnie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
3.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Airport Motor Lodge
Airport Motor Lodge
#19 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.9 mi away
747 Motel
747 Motel
#2 of 2 in Kilbirnie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Motel

Property: Airport Motel
Address: 142 Tirangi Road | Rongatai, Wellington 6022, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute drive from Wellington Airport and overlooking beautiful Lyall Bay, Airport Motel offers free airport transfers. All rooms feature a private balcony or spa bath. All heated rooms feature a well equipped kitchenette with a microwave and refrigerator. Each room has satellite TV and a private en suite bathroom with a hairdryer and guest toiletries. Wellington Airport Motel is located opposite a shopping center, 15 minutes' drive from central Wellington's city centre. The famous Te Papa Tongarewa Museum is a 20-minute drive away. The motel is 4 minutes drive from the ASB Sports Centre and Wellington Regional Aquatic Centre. *** FREE AIRPORT SHUTTLE SERVICE (8:00am till 10:00pm) *** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Kilbirnie
Airport Motel Wellington
Airport Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing