We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly let down.”

Daawat Indian Restaurant
Ranked #664 of 930 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stratford
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sadly let down.”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had dinner there last Monday. The food was excellent and we both enjoyed the meal. However the overall dining experience was sadly let down by the condition of the restaurant chattels. The backs of the chairs were filthy and did detract from a nice meal. I would have thought it quite a simple matter to have the chairs cleaned. Location was excellent with good parking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MewsStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Indian food”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I've been eating at Daawat for years. My favorites are Chicken Lavabdar, Lamb Corma, all Tikka entrees, while my 9 year-old daughter likes mild Butter Chicken. When coming with bigger company, we go for Tandori Platter as an entree.

Restaurants is cozy, with Indian decor and it feels like you are at a family gathering. The candles and lights make it appear very relaxing, and service is discrete, but attentive. It takes bookings and take-away orders.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TIgnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Curry and beer night”
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Great selection and tasty food. We have both dined in and had takeaways. The food has been consistently good and the service is great. Probably the best curry spot in Wellington.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LukaszZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent again”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We went to Daawat in Johnsonville again last Thursday. I had the butter chicken and my partner tried a new dish that was recommended to him by the owner. Both meals were delicious and the service was, as always, excellent.

Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SWGH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Always a pleasant dining experience"”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We have been to Daawat in Manners Street on a number of occasions and have always been more than happy with our dining experience. The owner has got to know us and and he will always put us at the same table that we have always sat at. The staff is very welcoming and the food is very good and the naan breads are just so delicious.!!!! We love it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daawat Indian Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Daawat Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing